Horror logo

The Tale of the Mysterious Fortune

By Victoria Moore

By Victoria MoorePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Some people want fame…...

Some want love…...

Others want money…

I just want to get out of this crappy job and survive this year. It’s the year 2021, we’re in the middle of a pandemic. The world is crumbling, people are crumbling…. I am crumbling. Every day I used to get up get dressed, speak to my nephews on their way to school and go to work. I had a perfect life, perfect writer job, perfect bachelorette pad. Then everything went wrong, and everyone got sick. Black-16 happened. They called it that because once you are infected with it everything starts to turn black everything but your skin that is. Starting with your eyes and lungs. Your eyes slowly go from white to a solid black and as your lungs turn black you cough up a strange odorless black liquid. Next, it spreads to the rest of your organs and this liquid comes spilling out of every orifice including pores. Lastly, you die from drowning in this black liquid. The illness is airborne and can be passed on by touch as well. Everyone in the world was so afraid of this disease that people started losing their jobs including me. Now I’m working this shotty department store job because everyone was scrambling for work and it’s the best thing I can get. I had to give up my house for a dinky hole in the wall because it is the only thing I can afford. I lost many family members, friends, …… the love of my life to this disease. It is a miracle that I have not gotten it yet. I pray every day that I don’t get it.

My new life is getting up, get dressed, speak to no one out of fear of contracting the disease. I watch tv only for current events to know how the disease is spreading. Finding out it can be spread by phone now is terrifying. I desperately miss my nephews and their parents. Thank God they haven’t gotten the disease. Hopefully, this will soon end. After I watch the news, I head to my terrible job where I wait for them to call my name to get my assignment. I never stay where they put me in the beginning, they always move me. “Victoria Moore” “Yea I’m here” I say. “You will start in women’s clothes today I swear you will stay in your one place today”. Jerry my manager what a jerk. He means well but these meetings should be a schedule placed on the wall for us to read. “Remember, to wear your masks Karen associates and always show the customer that Karen cares. Let’s change that negative stigma out there into a positive one.” Jerry said. We adjourned the meeting and head to our necessary placements. I stayed in women’s clothing for 20 minutes before they moved me to men’s, then children’s, then toys where I stayed. Straightening up toys as well as I could. Like it matters no one came into stores everyone was too afraid. If they did have to venture out it would have not been for toys. It would be for necessities like food, toiletries, medicine, first aid or even clothing. I should be happy I got paid money not to do real work. I mean I didn’t get paid a lot of money it barely covered rent, utilities, and food. Every day it was the same thing until today at lunch.

“Hey Victoria, there’s something for you in the breakroom” Joann said to me. Something for me in the breakroom that is very strange. Most people were afraid to have anything delivered to people because of the virus. “Hmm, I wonder what it is?” I thought. Only one way to find out. I walked into the breakroom expecting a huge delivery. I looked around I didn’t see anyone or anything. “Well that was a bust.” Grabbing my lunch box from the refrigerator I sat down and there in front of me was a flyer that read “We here at Karen’s Inc. want to congratulate you on winning Karen’s associate $20,000 dollar drawing. We will be contacting you further on when and where to pick up your prize”. “Drawing?” I sat puzzled because I don’t remember entering a drawing. I finished my lunch and my shift. I walked home upon approaching my porch I found a red envelope with my name on it. I tore open the letter and read it. “COME AS YOU ARE 6 PM LIGHTS AVE. IF YOU WANT YOUR PRIZE MONEY. 6 PM?” That’s now, I took off running towards Lights Ave. which was right around the corner from my apartment. I realize that it didn’t have an actual address but there was a red note on a table it read: GO THROUGH THE DOOR. I was scared at first but then I went in anyway. There were so many people in here having a party dressed scantily clad. Some dressed some not dressed at all and all in each other faces bathed in red light. Loud booming sounds came from inside, screams of laughter and moans were in the red abyss. I fear I should not have come. Then I heard a voice above all the noise. “It’s the lucky winner thought you would never get here.” A blonde white woman in a hot pink dress said. I swear she wasn’t there before. “Here for your money correct? Ignore these people they aren’t important” she smiled. I stood in silence only shaking my head.

“Good. You can have your money once you complete the requirements in this little black book.” She said. “I thought I already won?” I asked. “So, did I,” she said sadly. “However, there was one stimulation we overlooked. Once you do this you can get your money. Sound fair?” she asked. “Yeah,” I took the book from her hands. “Happy travels Victoria”. “How did you guys pick me?” I blinked and I was back in my apartment I had the black book though. Confused I opened the book. It said GO SEE THE HUNTER. Tired I fell asleep on the couch and woke up the next morning in search of the hunter. The book said he was in the middle of the woods. HE WILL SEE YOU BEFORE YOU SEE HIM. I walked into the woods lead by a sixth sense. Coming across a small cabin I heard a shot, but it missed me by a millimeter. “She sent you, didn’t she?” A striking bald man dressed in fatigues holding a rifle asked. “No need to answer I know she did. Don’t take the money they aren’t what they seem, but you know that don’t you?” “The book said to come see you. I don’t know why?” The hunter spoke “They offered me the money, didn’t trust them, shot at them and they disappeared. They haunted me for months until I came out here. I thought they had no idea where I was but now, I know I’m part of their game. They sent you to me for a reason so take this with you”. He handed me a gold compass. “This is my most prized possession; however, I think you’re going to need it more than I ever will.” “Thanks, what is your name?” “Don’t worry about it just call me G. Well G, see ya…” I turned around he was gone. Left with an open notebook in my hand. I didn’t remember opening it, but the first instruction had since disappeared. IT’S THE PHOTOGRAPHER’S TURN in its place.

I walked out of the woods to nightfall and a car waiting for me. GET IN IT WILL TAKE YOU TO THE PHOTOGRAPHER! Exhausted I didn’t question it. I got in and collapsed from exhaustion I didn’t think I spent more than a few minutes in the woods with THE HUNTER. I must have lost track of time. I quickly fell asleep as the car drove me seamlessly into nowhere. I awoke to still being driven but when I looked out of the window I didn’t recognize where I was. Suddenly, the car came to an abrupt stop at this terrifying black mansion. It looked like it was out of those horrible cartoons from the 50s. The car door flew open throwing me out of it and it drove off into the night. “Ow THANKS!” I yelled after it. I approached the front of the house when I was pulled inside by a mysterious stranger. “What…. the…” “SHHH! WERE YOU FOLLOWED? DID YOU SEE IT?” “WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?” “I’m sorry my name is Alec I’m getting ahead of myself. They sent you right? Told you to see a few people….one was a hunter, right?” “Yes” “He was the last person I saw. He told me not to take the money, but I didn’t listen. I took the money and I became very successful. I became the best boudoir photographer in the world. But because I accepted this money, they used my fear against me. I fear that as a male photographer that my work may be taking out of context or that I’m taking advantage of these young women because I male photographer. Like I’m using my work as a cover to get ass or worse being accused of rape. My job is to make people feel confident to bring out that hidden sass. They are supposed to trust me. They took all these insecurities and turned every doubt any of my clients have had about me into a black furry werewolf-like creature that has blood red eyes and blood oozing from its fangs. It tried to consume me every time I had a new client. So, I gave up photography and gave the money back. They accepted the money back, but it still hunts me. I stay lock in the castle and go out during the day with this swirled talisman I bought at the market. It keeps it at bay if I wear it and don’t go out at night. “I’m sorry this is happening to you but why did they pick us?” “Because you were down on your luck, right?” I shook my head. “That’s why they feed on people like us folks that are trying to find their way. The nutrients they need to live.” Suddenly, a howl could be heard outside of one of his windows. “You gotta go it knows you’re here. But here take my other talisman you’re going to need this and all the luck/faith in your arsenal.” I waved goodbye to Alec and opened the book. WE WILL BE IN TOUCH it now read.

As I exited Alec’s prison, the car had returned, and I hopped in wondering what challenges await me. I watched the moonlight dance along the skyline as I was driven back to the city. I figured I would go back to the club. However, I was shocked when I pulled up at my apartment. Too much had happened today, so I didn’t question it. I got out of the car and walked into my apartment. Ready for a hot shower when flipping on the light there she stood. I pulled out the tools I was given. “No need for that. Congratulations, on your journey you are now ready for the money.” I thought long and hard about what the hunter and photographer had told me of the consequences of taking the money.

Well do you accept it or what? She said in an irritated tone…….

I ended up taking the money. Turns out The Foundation needed me. Vince Myhand started the contest to feed his creatures but because of the pandemic, they started dying off. They discovered to save the creatures and humanity he needed my saliva to cure Black-16. They put my saliva into the water and the pandemic was over. I had to join an evil organization that fed off me for years…. but everything has a price……

fiction
1

About the Creator

Victoria Moore

Just a woman trying to publish books to make people happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.