Horror logo

The Spell Of Wealth!

Consequences?

By Stephanie DownardPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
1

“HAZEL!! HAZEL!! WAKE UP! THE HOUSE IS ON FIRE!”

The screams from my mother echoed in my ear. I opened my eyes to see nothing but a thick grey smoke. Scared and confused, I felt her pulling me from my bed. We ran as fast as we could to flee from the burning house.

My mother and I barely made it out before the whole house went up in flames. While we stood there watching everything we own burn to the ground. I think to myself, How will we recover from this? Knowing we were hardly making it day-to-day as it was.

Our neighbor, Stacy came running from her house in a panic screaming,

“Sara, are you girls ok?”

Still in disbelief, I hear my mom say,

“Well, we’re doing a lot better than our house.”
Stacy replied, “I'm so glad you girls were able to make it out in time, I called the fire department.”

The firemen showed up a few moments later and attempt to put out what was left of the place we used to call home.

Stacy invites us into her house and let my mom use her phone to make a few calls. My mother came out of Stacy’s kitchen and says, “let go, we have a very long drive ahead of us.” Questioning my mom on where we’re going she says, “don’t worry, just get in the car and rest I’ll wake you when we get there.” Still confused about where we were heading, I did feel overwhelming tired. A little while later I finally fell asleep.

“Hazel rise and shine we made it,”I hear my mother say. I open my eyes and look out the window to see a some what run down old cottage in the middle of nowhere.

I look at my mom and say,“what is this place?” She turns to me and says, “it’s my great grandmother’s old house.”As we get out of the car I think ‘how did she never tell me about this place, is it even livable?’

We walk in the cottage and all I see is old furniture, glass bottles filled with strange herbs,weird books and everything covered in dust. “A little spruce up and some love I think this place could be perfect,”my mom says. Mom gets us settled in the best she could and says, “I’m going to drive into town and get us something to eat.”

After my mom leaves I start to snoop around. Looking at all the odd books on the shelves and whatever was in those glass bottles. Walking all over the cottage I step on a very loose floor board. I pop it up only to find a little black notebook, wondering what it is I open it up. The only thing the book had inside was a magic spell called The Spell Of Wealth. I think ‘yeah right like this is real, Great grandma Cecilia must have been the town crazy lady.’

I ponder for a minute on this so called spell of wealth, and decided what the heck I’ll just read it out loud. What’s the worst that could happen? “ Into the light of the sun and the dark of the night grant me the wish of wealth and sight.”Feeling stupid after reading it I hear my mom pull up.

She burst into the house and says, “Hazel you’re never going to believe this, I just won 20,000 dollars on a scratch ticket!”

I stand there in shock and think to myself ‘Did this spell just work, and how many time I can use it??’

A few seconds later my moms smile quickly left her face. She looks at me with a worried face, “Hazel, where did you find that book? Please,please tell me you didn’t open it!” I looked at her and said, “I didn’t think it was real! I only said it once!” My mom started to panick! We don’t have much time, if we hurry we may be able to stop the drastic consequences from happening!

“What do you mean consequences?....”

fiction
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.