Horror logo

The Slopes

Ride or die.

By David WoodPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Slopes
Photo by Daniele Buso on Unsplash

These slopes are mine for the taking, I think to myself, as I stand atop the endless crowded hills on a snowy Colorado evening. I’m ready for this. AirPods in my ears set to the Snowboarding Playlist I created, I begin to jam my way down the slopes. 

The wind rushes past my body as I go down the hill, adrenaline casually flowing through my veins. I watch as the tall trees and ski lifts pass by. Dopamine fills my emotions. I make all the curves around the branches and signs. There is just simply no other enjoyment in life than this.

Right here. Right now. 

I lose myself in the ride. 

After a while, I stop to take a breath when I realize I have been boarding for about fifteen minutes. I heard this hill was long, but this one was crazy long. After I have caught myself, I continue down the slope.

All of a sudden, I stop in my tracks. Something is not right. 

I have seen this sign before. I just passed it a few minutes ago. The one pointing right that says DIAMOND HILL. I was lost in my thoughts, so maybe it just feels like I have been down here?

Doesn’t really matter, I think, so I go on my way. 

A few minutes later, I stop again. This is definitely not right. I’ve seen this tree branch before. It’s the one I dodged just when I started boarding. 

Am I stuck in some kind of recursion? I thought I'd been instinctively following the route. Paying more attention to the slopes, I decide to find my way back to the bottom before I get myself more lost. 

Then I see it again. The same DIAMOND HILL sign. 

What the hell? I’ve passed this. I’m losing my mind. I haven’t even seen anyone for the past five minutes now that I think of it. 

I start continuously snowboarding nonstop until I get somewhere. I realize my playlist has been playing in my ears for a half hour now. I’ve been stuck on this slope for a half hour now. I know they say the definition of insanity is repeating the same thing over and over hoping for different results, but at this point, all I am is desperate. 

Finally, I spot someone standing on the side on their phone. I call out to them. They turn their head to me. 

“Hey, I think I’m lost,” I say to the person. “Do you know the quickest way to get back to the bottom?”

“Of course,” they tell me. “I can help you get there. Follow me.”

I thank them, relieved that I’m finally going to find a way out of here. 

We roll along the snows for a bit as snow starts pouring from the sky dramatically. I do recall the forecast today saying we were going to get a foot of snow overnight. 

That’s when I notice the person starts to gain speed. I join their speed in unison. They are probably just as eager to get out of this drastic weather as I am. Not to mention, the sky is getting darker. 

Now they gain more and more speed. I call out to them, asking to slow it down a bit for me to catch up. They don’t hear me, though. 

“Hey,” I yell. “Slow down! Slow down!”

They have forgotten who they are helping. They have just gone merrily on their way. The more I try to catch up to them, the more their body just becomes abysmally smaller and smaller. I try to mock their speed, but this person is a much more advanced skier than I am a snowboarder. 

“Hey!”

At one point, they take a turn and I watch as their body disappears behind a group of trees. When I reach that point, I take the same turn. All I see is nearly fifty feet in front of me on the desolate slopes, where anything further is cut off by the heavy snowfall. 

I board around, looking and calling for them, anyone at this point. I can feel the cold of the weather bleeding through my thick jacket. My nose runs, and my goggles are difficult to see through the condensation.

That’s when I see it once more. 

The same damn DIAMOND HILL sign. 

I stop in front of it. I pull out my phone to check reception. No bars.

My knees drop to the ground. I hopelessly kneel in the thick snow in the middle of these never-ending slopes.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

David Wood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.