Horror logo

The Shadows in the Attic

The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.

By sharmiPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

An Old Home with Secrets

It was an ancient house with squeaky floorboards and fading wallpaper. the kind of home that gave the impression that you were travelling back in time. A secretive kind of home and it turned out that there were mysteries hiding in the attic's crevices.

Insidious Attic

My family had owned the house for many years; it had been handed down from father to son. Now that it was my turn, I was eager to settle in and personalize it.

However, there was one room in the house that I always got the chills from it.

In the Shadows, There Is Someone

For many years, the house had been passed down from father to son in my family. Now that it was my turn, I was eager to settle in and personalize it. However, there was one room in the house that I always got the chills from. an attic.

Old trunks were piled in the corners, and the room was dank and dark with cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.

I couldn't quite place it, but there was something different up there. From the shadows, it seemed to be a presence watching me.

unusual Noises at Night

I first made an effort to ignore it. I justified it to myself by saying that it was all in my head. But the sentiment only intensified throughout the course of the days. I then heard something one night.

There was a slight rustling sound, as though something was moving in the attic.

I listened carefully as I lay in bed, trying to persuade myself that it was just the wind. However, I later heard it again. And it was nearer this time.

I got out of bed and went up to the attic with a torch in hand. As I climbed the stairs, I could feel my heart racing in my chest.

Imagine if anybody was up there. Let's say they

Face the Shadow

I shone my torch around the room when I got to the top of the stairs. I didn't initially notice anything unusual. But as my eyes acclimated to the darkness, I finally noticed it.

In one of the room's corners, there was a shadowy figure that appeared to be moving independently. As I got closer, my hand began to tremble as I reached out to touch it, sending a chill down my spine.

However, the shadow felt substantial when my palm touched it. When you touched it, it felt like you were touching a wall, but with an odd, almost electric charge running through it.

In the Dark Whispers

I heard whispering while I stood there looking at the shadow. At first they were faint, but as they continued, they became louder and more forceful until I could hear them.

They muttered, "Leave." "Get out of here. You are not the owner of it.

I made an effort to ignore them by convincing myself that they were simply in my head. I could feel the murmurs reverberating inside my head as they continued to get louder and more insistent.

The shadow started to move abruptly at that point. It writhed and twisted, getting bigger and scarier until it appeared to take up the entire space. My hair stood on end as I felt the energy of it pulse through me like an electric shock.

Fearfully running

I stumblingly descended the stairs and fled the house as I turned and ran. I didn't stop until I was in the center of the street, my breath coming in short spurts and my pulse pounding.

I was unable to force myself to enter the attic again for some weeks after that. I justified my behavior by telling myself that I was just being overly imaginative. But I had a gut feeling that something sinister and terrible was up there.

Finding Family Secrets

And then I got a letter in the mail one day. It came from a long-time family acquaintance who had previously met my father and grandfather.

She revealed to me a secretive period in my family's history that had been kept hidden for many years.

A Terrifying Realization.

I felt a chill run down my spine as I read the letter. Now everything made clear.

monsterhalloweenfiction
Like

About the Creator

sharmi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.