Horror logo

The Ruler of Cruelty

An exploratory piece about another one of my nightmares

By L.D. Malachite Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Ruler of Cruelty
Photo by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

I know I'd been walking for a while, but my memory was a little hazy, as though I'd been drugged. The floor was slick with the blood and puss that puddled across the fleshy floor. As I walked I came to realize something which disturbed me, the stalagmites were made of mounded up bodies, dropped carelessly into a hill. My hands were bound as were the hands and ankles of my parents, all three of them. We were being pulled along a seemingly endless hallway which seems to lead to nowhere, and as soon as I thought it, we've arrived in a large room lit by several fire torches.

In the very middle of this breathing room, sat my bio-mom's husband, Joey an awful man, I ought to fear if i were to have more sense about me. Joey's smile grew to the size of the Cheshire cat, sharpened teeth with evident gingivitis and a reached smell of decaying bodies stronger than that of the hallway. Joey is perched, nude atop a thrown of still living people stitched together, they would groan and cry as he moved.

"Hello, there...Lydia" he hissed in an inhuman voice, one i would remember for the rest of my life. "have you done your chores?" he asked in an amused tone. Horrified as I was i had no clue what he could be referring to, but tried to sputter out a response that never came. "Oh, pumpkin, I can tell you didn't, because they're still alive." My eyes widened enough that they could have popped out of their socket with ease, I now understood, I was meant to kill my own family, my reason for living.

"...And if I refuse?" I choked out through my falling tears.

"well, then i'll have no choice but to torture them to death in front of you" he chortled, his eyes glistening, he truly was in his element here, as i cried he licked his lips.

"why are you doing this?!?" I screeched in a caterwaul akin to a dying cat.

"Because of your mom, stupid girl." he began to cross the room as two guards I had never seen before grabbed my arms roughly. "speaking of which, she can't be first, she needs to suffer" he turned abruptly to me, kissing me on the lips, leaving a sour taste in my mouth, causing me to spit on the floor which flinched as my spit impacted it. I hear my step- mom gasping for air and whipped my head around in time to see her small body lifted by her neck at the hands of Joey, who seemed to be feeding on her fear, eyes rolling into the back of his head as e frothed slightly at the mouth.

My dear step-Mom was turning blue, when he finally dropped her to the floor, giggling lightly at her gasping breathes taken between sobs. "well, you're no fun" he spat as though he wasn't seemingly near orgasm a few moments ago. He stomped on her head, leaving a mess of blood and teeth behind on the floor, her nose now broken and her crying hard enough to shake the very earth. "mom!" I screamed, as Joey cleanly cut her head off, allowing it to roll to my feel. I had never cried so hard in my life.

" Now, for your 'loving father'" he murmured with a grunt as his face darkened. "but first, Delvin, come in here, watch the man die" Delvin was my brother, and possibly the most important thing to me, he was the reason I rolled out of bed in the morning. My dearest brother loved my father and had once told me he wished he were my dad's son as opposed to Joey's son.

"Leave him out of this" I belted hoarse from all the screaming and crying. "leave him alone" I finished off with a whisper.

"Hmmm, okay, i'll let you decide son, either you finish the job,or i kill you here, today." Joey was clearly getting too much amusement from destroying his own son. "so what do you choose?" He asked flatly. To my amazement my dear brother agreed to kill my father, eyes downcast and empty. Joey cut an arm from my living bio-mom, leaving her screaming as she began to bleed out on the floor, clutching for the arm that will never be there again. Joey handed the dripping arm to my brother, kissed his forehead and said "I have never been more proud of you." I felt sickened at this moment, and it seemed my brother did as well, because he promptly vomited as he took our mom's arm, causing Joey to slap him, hard, my brother fell to the floor, a red welt already appearing on his young face.

"Get up, you rat!" Joey yelled loudly enough to turn his face a dark scarlet. Delvin roused himself as he scooped his own mom's arm off the floor, looked my father in the eye and began beating him to death as i screamed and cried till there was no use in trying to see anymore, my arms were still held tightly by the guards so there was no drying my tears, which I was very nearly thankful for, nobody should be made to watch this. It was at this moment Joey dried my eyes with a rough cloth, and I realized, both my mom's were dead now, and my dad was barely clinging to life. My brother must have fainted, because he lay on the floor.

Joey grabbed a gun i did not recall seeing until now, and placed it on my dad's head, pulling the trigger and leaving my dad's body lifeless on the floor, the only family I had now is my brother, I was an orphan, all at the hands of one man, a serial abuser I wish I had never met. "hmmm, I think I'm done with you kids, too"he frowned,pulling his gun into position to shoot my dear brother, "at least he won't feel the pain my parents felt" I thought in utter defeat. Once he was dead the guards dropped my arms allowing me to fall to the ever-fleshy floor, wading in the pool of my families blood.

"you're pathetic, you know, you couldn't even save your family" he scoffed arrogantly as he shoved his warm gun into my mouth, smiled, and pulled the trigger.

fiction
1

About the Creator

L.D. Malachite

L.D.Malachite is an author from California who specializes in Horror, and psychological explorations on trauma.

All stories published here are first drafts which will be later published as books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.