Horror logo

The Peeping Man

By: Steamer

By Stamo StrongylosPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Peeping Man
Photo by Michael Mouritz on Unsplash

It was November 1st, 2012 on a gloomy, dark, cold, and shadowy autumn evening. The sound of leaves falling, and winds gusting against the tree branches filled the air. It was about 6:30 P.M, and I had just received an invite from one of my friends, informing me that he was hosting a sleepover at his home tonight. I swiftly gathered all my things and dashed my way to his house. About 10 minutes later, on my way there, the winds kept on howling louder and almost sounded like high pitched screeching. I was eager to get there, and couldn’t handle the severe winds blowing against my body. In vexation, I decided to take a short cut through the graveyard , despite all the folklore and stories surrounding it’s history. As I was walking through the graveyard, I felt chills running down my spine. I didn’t think anything of it and continued along the path. Suddenly, a couple of minutes later, for a split second, I saw the outline of a figure from the corner of my eye. I briskly turned around and saw a man sitting down on the front steps of the church. He had torn black denim pants, no shirt, and a leather hat covering the front of his face. I found it peculiar that he was shirtless in the middle of a cold autumn evening. However, I didn’t bother approaching him because he did not look well, and might possibly be a runaway from the asylum next door, which was common. As I was ready to turn back around, I heard a low-pitched, and raspy voice yell out to me, “Come here boy”. It was the man. He started approaching me. I began to panic. As he got closer, I tried my best to remain calm, but I couldn’t help but feel alarmed. Shortly after, he stopped about 6 feet away from where I was standing. As he came to a stop, I instantaneously got goosebumps on every square inch of my body. I was horrified with what I saw. I was incapable of moving my body. The man had shriveled, decaying, and rotting skin. Furthermore, there was this unpleasant stench that was coming from him like when you leave out meat for too long. I still couldn’t see his face. There was a brief moment of silence, but I didn’t think to run away because I was frozen in fear. All of sudden, he started to walk towards me again, my heart started pounding, and it felt like I was going to faint because of the absolute terror that I was experiencing. A couple of moments later, we came face to face but I still couldn’t see his visage that was being covered by his leather hat. He then slowly starts to look up at me. The second I caught a glimpse of him, I couldn’t believe that what I was witnessing was actually genuine and real. The only word to describe what I was looking at is inhumane. He had no eye sockets, his skin looked pale and like it was slowly melting off, he had two mouths located on each cheek, and had finger sized holes on the side of his head instead of ears. He then said,, in a slow, vibrating, and deep tone, “You have done this”. Abruptly, I close my eyes, and start praying and begging for mercy even though I never go to church or am even religious. Finally, I fall back and when I open my eyes, I was laying down shirtless with a leather hat, on the front steps of the church with nobody to be found.

supernaturalslasherpsychologicalfiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.