Horror logo

The Outcasts

warrior of justice

By NebulaWolfyy Published 4 years ago 25 min read
1

CHAPTER ONE

I felt my heart pounding in my chest as I raced through the dark expanse of the forest. I ran until my legs felt weak and was unable to continue. I didn't know what I was running from but I knew from what my gut was telling me that it was bad. I looked behind me only to see the shadowy figure of death. The shape outlined that of a wolf. Its' features were unknown but I knew that it was here for me. Was I dreaming? I asked myself as I gazed at the figure.I slapped my face, hoping that it would help wake me up but I was wrong.

Your destiny lies with us. A voice echoed against the walls of my mind. It was cold and demanding and held absolute control. You cannot escape us. The fear that I felt was too overwhelming and all I wanted to do was leave this nightmare and forget about. We will find you. There was no way this...whatever they are...going to find me. I would make certain of it.

I woke with sunlight streaming through my window. The birds outside chirped their annoying sound which made me want to shoot them. I covered my face with my pillow to drown out the sound. I knew that I was dreaming. I thought as I groaned and rolled out of bed and glanced at my clock. It was twelve o' clock in the afternoon. I couldn't shake the feeling of my nightmare. It felt so real to the pojnt for were I was actually there and that stupid wolf. Why did it threaten that he'd find me? It's just a dream. No one is coming for me. I thought as I went to the bathroom to take a shower in hopes that I could shake this terrible feeling.

I lived alone which made my days seem lonely but I managed to get by. My parents died when I was ten and I went into foster care after since my grandmother wasn't able to take care of me properly. When I was eighteen, I decided to get emancipated so that way I could live on my own. Of course, I had to get a job while attending school, which in my opinion was a pain in my arse. It's exhausting and after awhile it takes a toll on the body. I sighed and went back to my bedroom and debated over what to wear for the day ahead of me. After mulling over it for an hour, I chose a simple light blue t-shirt and a pair of faded jeans.

I glanced at myself in my vanity mirror and looked at the wet mass of hair that I nearly forgot to tame. I retrieved the brush that somehow landed on the opposite side of my room. "Got to love ghosts." I mumbled to the silence. "Clearly no respect for the living." I felt a tap on my cheek and I turned. No one was there. "Guessing that it's going to be that kind of day?" I sounded like an insane person talking to nobody. This is my life. I reserved my thoughts because who knew that someone was listening in.

Once I finished brushing my hair and blow drying it I decided to make some breakfast. I was undecided so I went for anything that looked good. Cereal and some toast sounds appetizing. I nodded to myself and went to the pantry to snag a bowl off the shelf and a spoon from the silverware drawer. As I passed the tiny dining table, I set my stuff down and went to the refrigerator and grabbed the milk and the bread. At the sight of the delicious food, my stomach began to growl. "Just in time." I said with a tiny grin on my face. I bustled over to the toaster that sat next to the coffee pot and inserted two slices of bread into the mechanism. As I waited, I poured the contents of the cereal and milk into the bowl and and placing the spoon in. I took a seat at the table and shoved a spoonful into my mouth. What am I going to do today? It was my days off from school and work, so I had a decision to make. Either stay inside and watch Netflix or you could go out and enjoy a nice summer day. One way or the other I needed to do something.

I hated being cooped up on a nice day and in a way I could feel it. The weather was comfortable and bearable. I shrugged and made my decision...I was going to enjoy a day outside and hope nothing strange happens...

CHAPTER TWO

It was a fairly warm day, the sun was shining at its' fullest and there was barely a cloud in the sky to be seen. I didn't mind though because I saw the world differently than others and that was what made me sort of special. At least that was what my mother told me when I was only fifteen but I didn't see it at the time. Now I do. Kind of. I smelled fresh cut grass and the aromas of food nearby and even though I had just eaten, my stomach started to growl from the scent. I shook my head. "I got to start eating more or else this is going to happen a lot more than I like." I muttered to myself as I focused my attention to where I was headed. To the park. Which to me was relaxing and calming because there was sounds of laughter and talking and other people going about their days without a care in the world. Whereas I was dealing with some pretty freaky stuff back at my place. As in ghosts?

A male's voice popped inside of my head and I quickly did a full turn to see who it might of been. "You gotta be kidding me." I said loudly and I was grateful that nobody was around to hear my outburst. I took a calm breath and focused. Who are you? What do you want with me?

There a small silence before the voice came back. Names Cyrus and I don't want anything from you.

How is that your able to communicate with me? I asked the man who was somehow able to do what I can do. Where are you?

A light chuckle reverberated against the walls of my mind and it took every ounce of willpower not to trace the mental path to him. Why would I tell a complete stranger where I am? As for your other question, its hereditary, given to me at birth. Discovered when I turned eighteen.

The man, Cyrus, was right. What was I thinking? Why did I want to know where he was? It wasn’t like I wanted to meet him due to the fact that I didn’t know him at all but a part of me was curious. Curious on the idea that someone else was like me in some way but the other part of me was concerned. Why was he here and what did he want if he did have a purpose? Ever since I turned eighteen weird and strange things began to happen to me that was really complicated to explain to anyone and the only ones that seemed to know was my parents whom I moved away from when I made the decision to get emancipated but ever since then I hardly spoke to them, more concerned that they would send me to the loony bin because of my situation. At this point, however, I decided that I didn't want to know where he was because it sounded dangerous. Gone quiet. Everything alright? Cyrus seemed concerned but I instantly threw up a mind block to ignore him. My day was way more important than this guy at least for now until I decided to mull it over tonight over a small meal that I would end up making later.

I took a deep breath and headed toward the bench that sat beneath the shade of trees. A group of birds chirped nearby, possibly above me where the branches shielded the summer sun and kids played with their parents and pets nearby as well.I had pulled my hair into a ponytail before leaving my place, a light tee and a pair of faded shorts that came close to my knees. It was a tad hot to wear anything else. In my back pocket, rested my cell phone which was brand new and cost a fair amount but it was worth it because who knows what may lay ahead. I felt a tap on my cheek and I lowered my head and silently whispered, “Go away. Don’t need to be dealing with you right now.”

“I like driving you up a wall.” said the invisible person that was sitting next to me. “What fun would it be if I didn’t do something that bothers you.”

“I hate being in public talking to myself and having everyone stare at you like your crazy.” I bluntly stated quietly. “You can do your own thing when we get back to my place.”

“Is that an invitation?” asked the person. I heard amusement in his tone. “Not like I was going to ask anyway.”

“What is your name anyway and why are you haunting me?” I asked, hoping that he would answer me with absolute honesty.

“I am not haunting you.” He began. “I died there and my name is Jem Alan.” He appeared lightly next to me so that none of his appearance showed to anyone else but me. “So it's your place that I'm haunting. You on the other hand is just an addition to the fun.”

“It’s not fun making someone else miserable the way you do.” I mumbled. “Of all people me.”

“Why would you say that?” Jem asked. “Because your special?”

“There is that,” I replied. “Ad the fact that it's not nice.”

“Fine,” Jem said. “I will be good for now. See you later, Cora.” With that he vanished and with it a wave of chills that I hated feeling when I unintentionally make contact with a ghost. It was an unpleasant feeling but it was something that I had gotten used to over the last few years.

CHAPTER THREE

The rest of the day went by in a blur and last thing I remember was my weird conversations with the ghost, Jem and then there was this mysterious guy named Cyrus. Jem a ghost that had died at my apartment. Why? I don't have the slightest idea. If he chose to tell his story he will. If he wanted. As for Cyrus, I didn’t know anything about him to trust that he meant any harm me or anyone else at this moment. How did you know when someone was dangerous? How can you possibly know if someone's intentions are meant for good? I suppose given time their colors would possibly show but until then I will attempt to believe that this Cyrus guy was decent.

I set my apartment keys kitchen table and hoped that Jem wasn’t going to move them by morning. Why was my life so strange and complicated when it came to the paranormal shit? Why did this happen to me? Of all people why me? I hardly had any friends to really enjoy a decent day with and when I told them about my ability to “See” the other side. They ended up never speaking to me ever again. It hurt but like all other things I moved on. I hated being alone in all this and not have somebody to talk to about these strange and weird situations. To have someone reassure me that everything will be fine.I had no one.

“Don’t think that your alone.” Jem said as he appeared sitting at the kitchen table looking at me with his unusual set of pure green eyes. “You may think that it is the end of the world because of what your going through,” he tried to reassure me in a way that I found soothing but as a ghost, it was hard. He wasn’t able to be touched physically. “But I am positive that there are other people like you, Cora. You just don’t know it yet.”

“It’s nice of you to say that but i am fine.” I said as I turned my back to him to avoid his gaze. He doesn’t know what it feels like to be rejected by those that were once close to you. I didn’t hear Jem move, of course that was what came with being in his form. Silent and sometimes deadly depending on the spirit. “Regardless of my situation,” I continued calmly. “Let’s talk about you.”

Jem seemed a little shocked at my statement but uttered the remark. “Alright.” He leaned his hip against the table and looked at squarely in the face. “What is it that you want to know?”

I made a face before asking. “How did you die?" My voice was quiet but loud enough for Jem to hear.

I heard him laugh lightly and he replied. "This isn't a ouija board session where I'll move the centerpiece answer that."

“It’s not like I am asking you to move things.” I defended. “I mean my perspective of ghosts is still rather new to me and you happen to be…” my voice trailed off as I indicated that he was here.

“I completely understand that your a little freaked out about you seeing the other plane,” Jem said. “You just got to come to terms that your special and that your able to see spirits.”

“How am I supposed to come to terms about this when it all began to manifest when I turned eighteen?” I said all at once. I breathed in to try to calm myself.It was all still new to me and like all times before it was still freaky to think about. “I mean how many others are there?”

Jem seemed confused by my question. “What do you mean?” He rubbed his brow and then asked. “Are you asking how many of US there are or do you mean people that can see or sense ghosts or whatever you want to call us?”

“Well both but more so how many people are there that can physically interact with them…”I trailed off then corrected myself. “You.”

Jem was standing there in between planes, considering the options to tell me the truth or to lie, which to me, I always thought that when you encountered a spirit or ghost their intentions seemed to be evil but Jem didn’t qualify for being evil. Yes, Sure, He did do things around my place that was rather annoying but I grew accustomed to it over the last few years. “Anyway,” Jem interrupted my thoughts and forced my focus on him. “To be honest with your question on how I died. I don’t really remember much of what happened.”

“What do you mean you don’t remember?” I was shocked myself on his answer which to me seemed odd because normally ghosts had a sense of what happened before their death.

“Some ghosts or spirits don’t really remember what happened. Others do.” Jem explained but I had the feeling that he wasn’t telling everything he knew. Was he being honest and not deceiving me with lies? I didn’t want to ask but instead I continued to listen to what Jem had to say. “Me on the other hand,” He shook his hand as if to tell me that he knew but didn’t know the causes that led him to his death. Jem was in his late 20s and had blonde hair and of course pure green eyes that nearly spoke his life. “I do and then I don’t. The last thing I truly remember was smoke. Other than that it’s all a blank slate.”

“It looks like we really have some type of mystery on our hands.” I mumbled as I crossed my arms over my chest. “Alright, here is the deal,” I said. “I will do my best to help you find out what causes that led you here and in return, you stopped moving my things around and tapping or poking me in places that you shouldn’t.” I stared at him with my own gaze. “Do we have a deal?”

Jem sighed and only gave in knowing that if he didn’t agree, he wouldn’t hear the end of it from me. “Deal.” He muttered as he vanished into thin air.

CHAPTER FOUR

That night as I got ready for bed, I couldn’t stop thinking about that Cyrus guy. What did he want with me? Why did he suddenly make contact mentally? I knew I was special but why go through all the trouble to talk to me? Did I put out my emotions that strong that someone else felt it? I had so many questions and nobody to answer them. I tried to calm my mind by doing some meditation exercises but my mind still roamed. There was Jem as well. Why did you have to bring up that you’d help him find out what happened to him? I should have to but I had to admit he was rather annoying at certain times of the day like when I had just finished classes for the day or when I get off from work and I think in order for him to have peace, he needs to know. RIght? I moistened my lips and glanced over my shoulder to see him simmering in the dimness of the small light that sat on the countertop in the kitchen. Apart from myself, I wanted to go out and check on him but I couldn’t. There was a lot of questions that I thought needed answers. Jem on the other hand was at one point purely human and now he was a wandering spirit that didn’t know his way. I felt guilty for thinking this way but to make it up, I was going to try my best to get him answers. Somehow and some way.

After awhile of thinking on the two situations at hand I finally succumbed to slumber but it wasn’t what I expected. I dreamed. Probably the same one that I had dreamt of the night before and it seemed like it was much worse than the last. This time different. I was in my pajamas that I had dawned on before bed. A simple tank top and a pair of soft sleeper pants. My hair was tied up into a ponytail. I looked down and saw mud covering my bare feet. A portion of it getting into the crevices of my toes and under my toenails. I looked up from them to scan my surroundings. I was in the forest again. Alone. In danger of what may be ahead of me. Silence except for the noises that came from the trees and bushes. “Why does this happen to me?” I asked the darkness. I felt the fear that was ever present in my mind but I tried keeping it at bay so I can concentrate.

A voice came to me all brooding and malicious. You thought you have escaped? How cunning may seem to the human eye. My heart dropped and I had the urge to run away from that voice. As I mentioned last time you cannot escape. No matter how hard you try. We are everywhere. My feet had a mind of its’ own and I ran. Hoping that I would find a safe place that would block out this voice that wanted me so badly. What did they want with me? You. Was the only response they came with my question. It was as though they or it was reading my mind on some level that I couldn’t explain. Whoever it was, the presence of this being, was evil and I had no intentions of being captured. I felt my fear rise as I heard more noses nearby. My feet carried me to this cabin, all worn from use. The doors and windows were boarded up to deny anyone entry but my willpower was stronger than any door. I ran into it, hoping that it would break down with the pressure bit to no avail, it didn’t budge. “What the hell,” I muttered as I felt the pain shooting up my arm from the force. “Why me?” The only thing I wanted was to sleep and hope that my day ahead was more peaceful than the last but I was only met with ghoulish nightmares that didn’t want me to wake up.

I rubbed my arm to ease the pain and I stared at the door and analysing how I would get in and away from this thing that wanted me so much. I concentrated hard until a sudden feeling came to me. The air around me felt compressed and suffocating but my body was all tingly as though something was about to happen. The next thing I knew and saw was the cabin door flying backward off its hinges and I heard myself gasp in surprise. In my mind this was all just a dream but it made me wonder if I could do this in the actual world but I didn’t want to test it. At least not until I found a safer place and people to explain to me what I can do. Either way the door was broke and no way to bar it up once I got in safely. Once inside, I looked around. I was in the living area of the cabin. A fireplace sat on the farside of the room and a set of worn down furniture was scattered about the floor. Wood and other shards and glass pieces lay next to them. I had this feeling that something wasn’t right about this place but it was the only safe place I found so far that wasn’t inhabited with animals. The place was here a long time possibly before I came along which made me wonder what happened here but I didn’t let my curiosity get the best of me and instead I continued to look around. A staircase lay off the right of the cold and musty living room which lead upstairs to a set of bedrooms. I didn’t know how many but by the look of it maybe two or three at the most.

The old hiding trick doesn’t work on us. The voice came again, still distant as though he was waiting. As though he knew I was getting closer to him in some way. I couldn’t let myself think about it because then fear would overwhelm me so that I couldn’t think rationally. If you think for just a second that this is just a dream, you are mistaken. We are everywhere that you go. In here and our there. There was laughter, the sound yet again vibrating against the walls of my mind and I hated it. “Leave me alone!” I shouted in the wide expanse of the cabin. I nearly blacked out with the sudden outburst and for a moment I didn’t care. I wanted to wake up from this hellish nightmare and away from that thing. I ran upstairs to the first room that I came across and didn’t care about the condition of the bed and jumped face down on it burying my face into my arms to shut out everything. It seemed to do the trick because I jolted awake and nearly fell out of my actual bed.

The light from the sun beamed through my curtain indicating that it was already morning. In that instant I muttered to myself, “Screw this.” I need to find a way to confront this guy before things get out of hand. With that I had a plan.

CHAPTER FIVE

“Rough night?” I heard Jem from behind me as I fixed a pot of coffee and some toast for breakfast.

“You can say that.” I grumbled lightly. My hair was a mess, probably from me tossing and turning all night from my dream. The voice whispering evil things. I just wanted all this to stop but I knew that wasn't happening any time soon.

“What happened?”Jem asked. As he came over to look at me in the face. He poked my cheek like he did when he was invisible and I was unable to see him. “What is a nightmare that you had last night?”

I nodded and said, “It seemed like it was more than that though.” The coffee had finished brewing and I turned to the cupboard to grab a random mug then returned to the pot to pour me a cup. I had lost my appetite for toast and just went with the coffee. “The dream felt real like I was actually there,” I continued softly. I pulled a chair out from beneath the table and sat in it slowly. “There was someone else there too.” I finished speaking to take a drink of the hot liquid and enjoyed the feeling as it slid down my throat.

Jem raised and eyebrow as if trying to understand what I was trying to say. “There was someone there with you?” I could only nod as barely heard a sound out of him as he took the chair opposite of me. “Do you know who might be?” His hair which I never took the time to notice looked messy and tousled as though he too just happen to roll out of bed but I didn’t bother to ask.

“No,” I said glumly. “But he sounds like he isn’t alone when I enter my dream state.” At that Jem looked even more puzzled at the bizarre things that I was talking about but it wasn’t like he could purposely do anything about it. I mean just days ago I was living a quiet and peaceful life before things ended up here and now i am practically stuck trying to figure what is happening to me. Even then, I haven't taken the steps toward doing so. Where would I even start to look? Best of all, How do I handle whoever this person is that is tormenting me in my dreams?

Jem swallowed. “Don’t worry too much about what is going on right now,” he said in a reassuring manner. “We need a heading first and until we do, try to relax.”

“How can I?” I asked him. “Everything is so jumbled lately that it’s really hard to relax.”

“Relax.” Jem said giving me a grin before ruffling my hair and poking my cheek before he disappeared.

I was alone in the quiet expanse of my apartment. The aroma of coffee still fresh in the air and the silence that always came with being on your own. It was Sunday and I had very little interest in going anywhere but my thoughts were still jumbled from last night. I had to find a way to overcome my fear and find a way to get some help to find out what my dreams mean. I hated being in the dark when there was so many things going on in my life that it seems as though I have no control over. I Mean yes, it is my life to live but some things are hard to control. A knock came from my apartment door, causing me to jump, interrupting me from my thoughts. My hand went to my throat as if in defense and calmly clearing my throat I glided to the door and listened before peeking out the peephole to see a guy, dressed in a red checkered plaid and jeans. His hair was a darker color than mine and I wondered what he wanted. “Who are you?” I asked through the door. The man looked around in confusion then looked at the tiny hole that I was peering through.

“Cyrus.” He said. My heart nearly jumped out of my chest. How did he find me? I took a shaky breath and tried to comprehend what was going on. Had I revealed my location on accident? Or did this Cyrus guy bypass my mind block without me noticing? “I’m not going to do anything,” He said as if trying to reassure me in some way but my own mind was too chaotic to think rationally. “If I can come in I can explain everything.” The last part caught my attention and I slowly went to unlatch my locks when I hesitated.

“How can I trust that what your saying is true?” The question slipped out of my mouth before I had a notion to stop it. “You showed up out of nowhere and you expect me to trust you?” There was a silence but I knew what Cyrus must of been thinking, He needed answers as much as I did but did he know something that I clearly didn’t?

“This isn’t a trick,” He answered. “I’ve been searching for answers since I found out about what I can do only to turn up with nothing.” He sighed as he ran a hand through his dark hair and looked tired more so than I did. My hand was resting on the door just below the latch and something inside of me wanted to allow him entry but the other part of me was hesitant because I still thought about what could happen. Then he shocked me about what he said next. “It all started with nightmares of a dark shadow and a voice like he wanted us dead.”

“Me too,” I said. “Mine began not that long ago.” I unlatched the door and opened it slowly. “I hope that your saying is true.”

“I will explain everything that I ave found out so far.” Cyrus said as he stood in the doorway for a moment before he shoved his hands into his pockets.

“Come in.” I waved a hand in either direction to indicate that he can enter.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

NebulaWolfyy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.