Horror logo

The Mirror from Beyond

Buying a mirror that has an alternate reality

By Chad PerkinsPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my ownIt was as if I was looking at a different version of myself, one that was slightly off-kilter. The reflection stared back at me with empty eyes, its expression a twisted mockery of my own. I tried to turn away, but something held me in place.

I reached out to touch the glass, and my fingers grazed something cold and slick. A shiver ran down my spine as the surface of the mirror began to ripple like water. The reflection of myself started to blur, and then it was gone.

In its place, I saw a world that was not my own. It was a dark and twisted place, full of shadows and creatures that should not exist. The air was thick with the stench of decay, and the ground was slick with blood. In the distance, I could hear the sound of screams.

I tried to step back, but my feet were rooted to the spot. The mirror had me in its grasp, and I was powerless to resist. As I watched, the twisted world on the other side of the glass began to bleed into my own.

At first, it was just small things. A flicker of movement out of the corner of my eye, a whisper in my ear that I couldn't quite make out. But soon, the changes became more pronounced. Objects would move on their own, and I would catch glimpses of things that shouldn't be there.

The mirror seemed to have a life of its own, and it was drawing me further and further into its twisted reality. I could feel my mind slipping away, as I became more and more lost in the world on the other side of the glass.

I knew that I had to break free from the mirror's grasp before it was too late. But every time I tried to pull away, it seemed to hold me tighter. I was trapped, caught between two worlds, neither of which I wanted to be a part of.

In the end, I was consumed by the mirror's power. The twisted reality it had revealed to me became my own, and I was lost to it forever. And as I stared out from behind the glass, I knew that others would follow me, drawn in by the haunting beauty of the mirror's deadly allure.Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. I was no longer living in my world but in the distorted one reflected in the mirror. It was a world where everything was wrong, where the sky was always blood-red, and the air was always heavy with the smell of death.

The creatures that lurked in the shadows were now my only companions. I would roam the dark alleys and abandoned buildings, searching for any sign of life, but all I found were twisted, monstrous beings that had no place in this world.

It was during one of these excursions that I stumbled upon a group of people. They were huddled together in a corner, their faces pale with fear. I recognized one of them. It was my sister.

I tried to speak to her, to tell her that we needed to leave this place and go back to our world, but she just looked at me with vacant eyes. She didn't seem to recognize me at all.

I realized then that I had been too late. The mirror had already claimed her, and she was now lost in this twisted reality forever.

As the days went by, I became more and more aware of the mirror's power. I knew that I needed to break its hold on me and find a way back to my own world.

One night, as I was wandering through the twisted city, I found myself standing in front of the mirror once again. This time, however, I was determined to break free.

I reached out and touched the glass, focusing all of my will on breaking its hold on me. Slowly but surely, the mirror began to lose its grip, and the distorted world began to fade away.

In the end, I managed to break free of the mirror's grasp and return to my own world. But the memory of that twisted reality still haunted me, and I knew that I would never be the same again.

I tried to warn others about the mirror's power, but nobody seemed to listen. It was as if they were all drawn to it, just as I had been.

And so, I was left alone with my memories, haunted by the knowledge that the mirror was still out there, waiting to claim its next victim.Months went by, and I tried my best to move on from the horrors that I had witnessed. But no matter how hard I tried, I could never forget the twisted reality that had been revealed to me through the mirror.

One day, as I was walking through the city, I saw a group of people gathered around something. Curious, I approached them and saw that they were looking at a mirror. It was the same one that had haunted me for so long.

I tried to warn them, to tell them of the horrors that lay on the other side, but they didn't believe me. They saw the mirror as a curiosity, a thing of beauty, and nothing more.

As I watched, the mirror's surface began to ripple and blur, just as it had done so many months ago. I knew what was coming, but there was nothing I could do to stop it.

The twisted reality on the other side of the mirror began to bleed into our world once again. Creatures appeared from the shadows, and the air grew thick with the stench of decay.

The people around me panicked, but I knew that there was no escape. The mirror had claimed me once, and it was now claiming them too.

As the twisted reality consumed us all, I knew that I had failed to save them. I had failed to warn them of the mirror's power, and now they were lost to it forever.

And as I stared out from behind the glass, I knew that I was no longer alone. The mirror had claimed us all, and we were now trapped in its twisted reality for all eternity.

supernaturalfiction
Like

About the Creator

Chad Perkins

Hello everyone, my name is Chad Perkins. I love to write, and I am currently writing a book. I love all things paranormal, supernatural and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.