Horror logo

The Loud Bang

True Story from 2008

By Julie WoolsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My oldest son and I were watching tv one night late 2008. He was 9 years old. The house was quiet this night and my other 3 children were already asleep. I want to say it was around 9 pm, but it could have been a little later. I'm unsure exactly what time but I can not ever forget the extremely loud Bang we heard suddenly,.. sounding as if it came from the living room, at the end of the hallway. I knew that nobody was out there and the front door was for certain locked. I told my son he should wait in the room for me to investigate what I could, but he popped up beside me at the end of the Hall. Just before entering the living area, we both could already see the large bookshelf, just in front of us, had tipped forward. It was against the wall, in place as it always was, but the picture frames on top lay slanted forward. The books were leaning against the edges of the shelves and the open glass doors were still in position, it looked as if they had been opened and then pulled down on, to bring the top away from the wall, causing all the books to spill forward and come loose from their places, before slamming back into the wall, making the very loud bang. The frog knick-knacks & figurines and photos in frames (of my mother in laws) that had been on top, all had tipped forward. Some things had even fallen to the floor. I stopped short in shock and dismay, taking all this in as I looked around. I was speechless & without any sort of an explanation to my young child. I felt very helpless actually and as if I was being watched. I played it off as if I wasn't affected in a negative way and explained to him, that I didn't have a logical explanation. The next morning, I cleaned it up and talked to my sons grandmother who was also asleep when it happened and she didn't hear it but said she thought one of the kids had tried to crawl up the shelves and tipped it. My other children were 5, 3 and 1. She said she was glad nobody was squished mockingly, as If I let them run a muck. ;) Then she was surprised when I said, they were all in bed and we heard it slam back into the wall from the bedroom and found it looking as if it was pulled forward and the let go of! Very Scary, but what can you do when you own the house and there's nowhere to move! God Bless her, Rip Beth! 4 yrs later from this, We Sadly lost her tragically and unexpectedly in the middle of the night Mid July 2012 I write these stories in dedication to her and The home she welcomed me as family to 1998. I currently Live further away and my children still talk about when we lived at that house I have occasional flashbacks but mostly have blocked a lot out. I am very grateful for breaking free and learning how to cleanse my self of negative energy and how to keep my home blessed and free of all dark energy. Life is truly comfortable now. I sleep really good and I have so much less stress. Always Praying for anyone who has any similar experiences and hoping they will find their way through the craziness of not knowing what is going on exactly.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.