Horror logo

The light

Green today gone tomorrow

By Hannah DawsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

They'll say I was a runaway. They'll say, "Oh just another teen troubled that runaway from home!" but that's not true. I didn't runaway, I didn't want to leave home. I loved my family, I loved my home, but that green light beckoned me and I felt like I had to follow it. Did I want to? No. But like I said, I felt like I had to. My name, doesn't matter now, after all no one will ever find me no matter how much or how long they look for me. It won't matter the green light took me, and once the green light chooses to take you, you are gone! Gone forever. If you find this letter please tell my story. I want the truth to be known. I want my family, friends, and everyone to know what happened to me. What really happened to me. Don't go to the police because they won't believe you. No one will. But I feel like someone should know the truth. I guess that person is you.

I had heard stories about the green light before, everyone in my town had. It had been supposedly taking people for as long as anyone could remember. My trouble began the day the green light took my best friend. Her family went to the police but of course the police didn't believe them. So I was going to get answers myself. Looking back it was a stupid idea. I did all the research I possibly could, and it wasn't a lot to find. All I could find out was that people disappeared into the green light and were never seen again. Gee thanks yeah I knew that! That's when I first saw it.

It was right outside the library where I was studying. The green light was right outside! I tried my hardest not to look at it, but my eyes kept darting up to it. Before I realized what I was doing, I was standing and walking towards it. Once I saw what I was doing I tried my hardest to fight it and hold onto something, anything in my path that I could. People were looking at me like I was crazy. That's another thing, no one else can see the green light expect the person that it chooses. I arrived outside and tried to run, but my feet wouldn't move. I desperately tried to force them as the green light came closer and closer to me. I frantically got out a piece of paper and scribbled out a note. I wrote down everything, I wrote down the truth. I prayed and hoped that I could finish in time. Just as I finished it took me, the green light took me! Inside the green light is nothing but black. That's it nothing else. I'm all alone in here. How am I still writing? I've figured out that you can throw paper out of the light but your body is stuck forever. So please if you find these letters, please tell my story. Let the world know the truth. The truth about the green light. Please tell my family and friends that I love them and I'm going to get out of here one day. Hopefully. Maybe. But please don't let them call me a runway.

Frankie had heard about the green light, but never believed the stories. Sure he had heard the stories about all the teens running away but he believed that's just what they were runways. Nothing more nothing less. Until one day. Frankie found a series of letters written by someone claiming to be inside of the light with a picture of one of the recent runways attached to it. Ignoring the letter Frankie went to the police. Just like the letter said they, didn't believe him! Frankie wasn't sure what to believe. He started walking home and gasped seeing the green light charging towards him.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Dawson

I'm an aspiring writer. I work as a para professional with special needs kids. I love to read, cosplay, and hang out with my family and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.