Horror logo

The Lake's Keeper

The lake must be maintained.

By Sterling Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I am the lake's keeper, Tucker Bills. Now I lived a simple life in a town not too far down the road, but there came a point where life was a little too simple. At the age of 17 I started working here at the lake, and 12 years later I'm still the only one on the job. Work is easy here, every day I check the grounds and make sure there are no blockages in the sewage system.

Sometimes I have a partner here with me, but after a few days they get a bit spooked and I never see them again after that. It can get eerily quiet and cold down here, but I'm not complaining, it's nice to have this body of water all to myself. This old abandoned lake was once a popular tourist attraction, something about the fish bait was magical, but a year or two after I started working here it seemed to die down. They never closed the lake though, as it's too important to the town's history.

They say this lake is haunted, but I've not seen any paranormal activity here. You might have heard stories or some folklore about people going missing when visiting the lake, I'll be the first to tell you that's just a tourist gimmick to lure visitors but I haven't seen a soul in 10 years yet the operating hours are still 8 AM to 10 PM every weekday.

Working alone can be tiring, but it's the only thing that keeps me on my toes. Every morning I make my rounds, but one day in particular made me question if I was truly alone. As I walked my usual path I found a couple of tools near a cave opening I'd mapped out 'about a year ago. In all my years on the lake I never once dared to go inside. Something about them sent shivers down my spine. I picked up the tools and headed back to the shed. When I open my toolbox I'm shocked to find the tools I picked up were the same ones missing from my toolbox.

I don't remember letting anyone borrow any tools recently, nor do I remember using them myself. It wasn't the first time my things have gone missing or misplaced, but I just figured I leave things lying around all the time. I put the tools away and went to bed after such a long day of work.

Next morning the first thing on my mind was the cave. I for some reason really wanted to look inside. I grabbed a flashlight, extra batteries, and a revolver my dad gave me years ago. I mainly keep it for protection at the shack, but the cave could have a bear or something. I set out to explore the cave and I didn't notice them yesterday but there were footsteps leading into the cave.

My suspicion grew quickly and I shakily raised the revolver and flashlight into the mouth of the cave. It was pitch black and smelled of decay. I felt my throat and lips get dry as my heart pounded in my chest. Slowly I walk into the dark and see the walls of the cave are very bare, it was a straight tunnel. I could only see whatever my flashlight was shining on.

As I reached the end, I found a file cabinet with drawers full of random car keys and wallets. I looked up and saw tables with blood stains everywhere. My heart sank, I stepped away from the desk and tripped on a rock into a pit of something wet. It felt like meat, when I got hold of my flashlight I found myself in a pit of human body parts.

I let out a scream and wrestled my way out of the bloody pool. I ran straight back to the shed and vomited all over the ground. Realizing there has been a killer on the lake this long, he can't know that I know or else he will escape. I had to handle this myself, after all it is my job, the lake must be maintained. Before it got dark I set up tripwires and sensors all over the property, I know this lake like the back of my hand.

I was back at the shed waiting for one of my traps to go off until some unexpected visitors arrived. A couple in a black jeep pulled onto the shore of the lake and decided tonight was a good date night. I had to get rid of them. I put on my customer service mask and approached them with a smile.

"Hey guys! Glad you could stop by, would you like one of our complimentary drinks?"

"Hell yeah!" says the prick that's already had at least 4 beers.

I go to the shack and return with two whiskey sours in hand and the same smile on my face. I small talked them as they happily sipped on their drinks. They're a nice couple from Florida just road tripping through the states. It wasn't long until they were lying unconscious on the lake shore, roofies always seem to do the trick. I then threw everything they owned in the jeep including their clothes before I drove it into the lake, that's always my favorite part.

On my way to the cave I found tripwires and sensor traps everywhere. Moron thought I wouldn't find them, I know this lake like the back of my hand. After disarming all the traps, I went to finish my business with the couple. I chopped them up carefully and packaged them in small round containers with the letters FB on the lid. It's the acronym for fish bait, it works like magic. The remnants are daily chow for the fish, it's what keeps them living for so long, after all it is my job, the lake must be maintained.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Sterling

Hello There! I am a young author that loves to create short stories and poems straight from the soul. My favorite genre is psychological thriller and that is what most of my stories will consist of as well as some cute loving poetry pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.