Horror logo

The Kill Convention

Underground Maze

By RexPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

‘Dad, is the lift going down?’

‘Yes, son. We are now going deep underground. Remember what I told you?’

‘What? The truth doesn’t matter, it’s all about deniability?’

‘Precisely, as long as your mother doesn’t know, she will not be bothered by it, right?’

‘I guess so. Wow, this is huge! I never thought places like this existed! What is this place?’

‘This used to be one of the bunkers built during the Cold War period where the local population could seek shelter if there was a nuclear crisis going on. Now, it’s ours without official sanction.’

‘I like your wording dad, you make everything sounds so acceptably trivial.’

‘True, that. I guess if I worked harder at school I could have been a diplomat of some sort. If I was an ambassador, which country would you like to go with me, Jack?’

‘Hm, I’m not sure. I would like to visit all the countries in the world if I could. What about you dad? Which country would you like to go?’

‘You are my son, aren’t ya! Of course, same here, all the countries in the world is a fantastic idea. If there were alien civilizations then maybe them too, eh?’

‘Hahaha, yes, alien planets too! Why not! We’d have truly amazing adventures!’

‘Here son, put these masks on.’

‘Where are we wearing masks like bank robbers dad?’

‘Because this thing that we do is a sensitive business and people want anonymity. It is essential and one of the most important rules here, from now on, every time you come here, you wear a mask, got it?’

‘Sure. I do whatever you say, dad. Oh, would you just look at that! Shelves and shelves of coloured containers like treasure chests. Dad, what are those?’

‘Oh, that’s Clive the Pharmacist. Come, let’s say hi to him.’

‘Hi Clive, long time no see, how’s business?’

‘Hi Max, it is Max, isn’t it? I thought I recognized that voice! Same old, same old. Look who’s here! Is this your son?’

‘Yes, this is Jack. Say hi to uncle Clive.’

‘Hi, uncle Clive.’

‘Hi, Jack. How old are you now?’

‘13.’

‘Time flies huh? Well, 13 is as good as any age to get started in this business. Most of us got it in the blood, you know what I’m talking about?’

‘Yes, I think so. What are these drums for, uncle Clive?’

‘Oh these? These are the best, have you seen these before?’

‘Yeah, in our self-storage locker. I saw a couple of them when dad and I went to pick up our fishing gears.’

‘Did your dad tell you what were in them?’

‘No, I just assumed they were for petrol or something, right?’

‘Sure, they are multipurpose. They are particularly good for strong acid which we use to make human slushies.’

‘Huh, human slushies. I know about the acid bath. These drums, they won’t melt?’

‘No Jack, other containers may if you were a noob but not for us pros here. We are the best of the trade and we all use proper stuff here.’

‘Hey Clive, hit me up with some of those bottom shelf vials in your fridge, I’m low. Oh, and some syringes too.’

‘Sure thing Max. Here you are.’

‘What are these uncle Clive?’

‘These are fun syrup. They relax your subjects’ muscles so much that they won’t be able to move even if they wanted to. Your dad is a pro on this. Otherwise, those skins won’t come off as clean as they are if the subjects got up and ran, would they?’

‘Certainly not. These are powerful drugs son. I will show you how to adjust the correct dosages according to body weights when I have some time later. Ok, Clive, we are going to my section now, and we may circle back later if I think of anything I will need from you.’

‘Of course, always good to do business with you, Max. You know where to find me!’

‘Ok, here we are. You see those Jack, the ones in the tall glass jars? I did them last year.’

‘Wow, look at the ink! This guy must have been very high ranked, right?’

‘Yeah, full-body tattoos done by specialized masters are privileges and you see this pattern here? The dragon?’

‘Yes.’

‘That’s for the top dogs. Hi Shintaro. I got you some fresh skins you wanted.’

‘Hey, Max! That’s super! Did you manage to get the specially ordered piece by our client?’

‘Sure thing. For the price he’s paying, the subject must mean a lot to him, yeah?’

‘Yes, very much so. However, it’s not a he, it’s a she.’

‘Oh, it’s one of those revenge orders then.’

‘Bingo. Let’s see your stuff.’

‘Here, these are the normal ones. This one, the one with the red label, this is the special order.’

‘Airtight and pristine. Just the way we like it. Very good, very good. It’s gonna look magnificent suspended in our special brew in a jar. Miho is going to sort some money out for ya, in the meantime, feel free to browse our merchandise and see if anything takes your fancy.’

‘Talking about merchandise, I’m gonna need a new set of knives.’

‘Yeah, already?’

‘Not for me, it’s for Jack, time to get him his own tools.’

‘Great idea Max. Here, I got the best for ya. Check out the blade! Made by the master sword makers in our town, they make all sorts, swords, knives, scissors, you name it.’

‘They look pristine! I’ll take a set.’

‘No, problem, for you Max, I’ll throw in the leather sheath for free.’

‘What’s behind the big freezer door dad?’

‘Those? They keep fresh body parts on ice. Shintaro trades organs, some times human meat for exotic cuisines.’

‘Have you eaten human meat before, dad?’

‘Of course. I supply him sometimes. Would you like to try some? You can take your pick, heart, liver, leg meat. Shintaro makes a tasty teriyaki on his grill.’

‘Not right now. What does human meat taste like?’

‘Like pork, only better. Don’t worry, I still got some in our freezer, I’ll make us something when we get home.’

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Rex

Everybody knows Rex!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.