Horror logo

The House in My Dreams

A Random Reoccurring Dream

By ElsaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
The House in My Dreams
Photo by Andy Henderson on Unsplash

About a year and a half ago, I bought my own house. I love it, I truly believe that this house was made for me. Anyway, when I first started looking for a home I told my realtor to just make sure that the house was not haunted. To make sure that no deaths had occurred in the house, etc. My realtor did a great job! My house is not haunted and no deaths occurred here. Lately though, I have been having this odd reoccurring dream about a home that is not mine.

It started about 3 months ago. I am a heavy sleeper and I usually dream every night, regular odd dreams, not nightmares. This dream is a nightmare though. The first time it happened, it went like this-

I was in a house. A huge mansion looking house. In my dream I was still living with my family and it was my mom who bought the house. I remember the dream being very dark, like in itself. Just a dark ambiance. It had many doors and very large rooms. In my dream, my siblings and I were unpacking. I didn't feel right. I felt scared. I remember going into the main area of the house and looking up. It was huge, with many different staircases. I felt afraid looking up because I felt a presence looking down at me. I then went to my room and told my family we had to go, that it was not safe there. Then I woke up. I remember waking up being scared, it felt so real.

Then it happened again. It was again a large house with many doors. I was in there by myself although I could hear people laughing nearby. I pushed the big heavy door and let myself into the main area. I just call it the main area but it's the space when you enter a house and you can see it all? If that makes sense. It was again very dark inside and I again felt scared. I start to go up the staircase and the voices I heard laughing start to fade. I get to the very top of the stairs and I reach the attic. I again feel scared to my bones. I know there is something behind the attic door looking at me, waiting for me. I then wake up in a jolt.

A few weeks go by and the dream happens again. It is the same house. A large mansion. In the dream it is my house. I am frantic in my dream. I remember my mom and sisters being there with me and looking annoyed. I was telling them that I can't live there anymore by myself. That I don't know why I bought such a big house! I begged my mom to stay the night and she said she couldn't. They kept saying everything was fine and that I was just overreacting. I was terrified in the dream. I then walk down a long corridor and get to this basement door. It is old and molded. I sense something behind the door. Something mocking me. As soon as I place my hand to pull the door open, I wake up in a cold sweat.

The next time it happens, it is the same house but this time it's in Mexico. I am in the living room surrounded by doors and staircases. I see my aunt that lives in Mexico and she told me she would be back. I was afraid that she was leaving me alone in the house. I then remember turning up the tv so that I had some noise. I hear a creaking sound and the day turns to night in an instant. I hear the creaking noise again and my heart starts beating quicker and quicker. I get up from the couch and go down a long corridor and reach the old, molded basement door. I feel so afraid and start to shake. I place my hand on the door and I wake up instantly.

This last time it happened, it started just like all the other times. In a large mansion, old, scary, and dark. I was with my family again and we were watching tv. I felt scared and uneasy. I then heard a creaking noise. I ignored it and it happened again. I get up from the couch and follow the long corridor down to the basement. I am in front of the door again and I think to myself in my dream. "It's only a dream, pull the door open!" I am scared though. I feel something on the other side of the door. Something evil. I swallow my fear and I place my hand on the door again and then wake up in an instant. When I woke up, I was relieved but also kinda pissed. I wanted to see what was behind that door! I told myself "I am going back to sleep and I will open that door." I fell asleep but my dream changed.

I have not had that dream since then. I am not sure what it means but it does make me feel uneasy and scared. I haven't seen a house like that in real life. Perhaps I have been watching too many scary movies or listening to too many scary podcasts. I hope that's the case. I really don't want to know what is behind that door nor do I want to have that dream again. I am so thankful that my house is light and loving. I'm safe here with no scary stairs or moldy old basement doors.

To be continued? I hope not but we shall see....

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Elsa

Teacher, traveler, fur baby mom, reader, and writer. I enjoy writing historical fiction stories, fiction, poetry, true crime, and nonfiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.