Horror logo

The Horror Of Horror

Some Thoughts On How We Interact With Horror

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
15

Introduction

I see many people who eulogise horror icons and and situations almost to the point of apparent love for the deeds of these people. From Dracula to Krampus to Michael Myers to Freddie Kruger.

While I understand why people iconise these characters I have greater difficulty with people who iconise murderers like Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy and Jeffrey Dahmer. These people were evil and the world is well rid of them.

More Horrific Observations

While it is fine to be aware and take an interest in real life murderers, their deeds should not be trivialised, you have to think what if you or a loved one were one of their victims. I did watch the Netflix series on Jeffrey Dahmer but found it very difficult to watch, especially the scenes that included Dahmer, though it was the Police interactions with his neighbour which were as mentally horrific and Dahmer's crimes.

When I see horror films I think why we like watching them is that it is almost anologous with a roller-coaster ride or a fast car or motor cycle ride. We enjoy being frightened and scared and maybe even losing control, but when we watch it on screen or on stage or read it in a book we still remain control.

We can always withdraw from the situation, by closing the book or switching of the TV.

I have never been so frightened that I have had to switch the TV off or close a book.

On a couple of occasions I have been so disgusted by events that I did switch off, I think the only time was the flm "Hostel" and I won't even say why I switched that off. The other was the book "American Psycho" by Brett Easton-Ellis which to me, seem to trivialise the evil and approve of the behaviour of a particularly obnoxious yuppie.

While cos-play and the like where fans become vampires, zombies and other horrific creatures, I am always worriesd that some people may be drifting towards a new reality.

The horrors of Dracula, Frankenstein and the Werewolf are easily categorizeable and, especially in the case of Dracula sex appeal is a big part of the attraction of the horror icon.

With the advent of cinema more and more monsters have crawled from the imaginations of the horror creators, although books were far ahead of celluloid in the regard with the creations of Lovecraft, Hope Hodgson, Machen and others.

We have the Cenobites from Clive Barker's "Hellraiser" series and Freddie Kruger from "Nightmare on Elm Street" as two modern examples of Horror Icons and I see people who love being constumed as these characters and they look great and have great fun in their chosen characters.

I then start to think what if this were actually real? Could anyone, and I include myself in this, cope if these horrors became reality. I have many fears of real life situations but if I were to encounter real zombies or vampires then the horror train would come right off the tracks for me.

I am easier with fictional horror than with real life horror, although sometimes entertatinment blurs the lines between reality and fiction, the hooks and chains of the Cenobites ripping flesh are acceptable but what Jeffrey Dahmer did was definitely not and it disturbs me when things like this are presented as entertainment because the may then be accepted and the real horror of what they did may then be either forgotten or trivialised.

Conclusion

These are just some thoughts about how we are afected by horror and how sometimes we may be numbed to the real horror we may be exposed to in real life.

celebritiesurban legendtv reviewmovie reviewfiction
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Lol, I feel attacked. I enjoyed the Dahmer series (though I felt there wasn't enough gore) and Hostel. Don't get me wrong, I don't justify what Dahmer or any other murderer did but I've always been fascinated to know their story of why and how they became that way Gore has never bothered me. Recently, I watched A Serbian Film, which is classified as one of the most disturbing films of all time. I didn't even bat an eye I guess there's just something very wrong with me, I mean, look at the kinda stories I write 🤣🤣🤣

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    To me, the horror genre is much like mythology, which I love—they’re metaphorical stories used to explain human nature, and also to explain the unexplainable metaphysical phenomena. Take vampires for example—energetic vampires are a real thing, and they literally drain the life force or energy out of people with their drama. Unfortunately, they can be quite charismatic, alluring, sexy. That bit about vampires not being able to enter your home unless you welcome them in? The same can be said for narcissists. You have to consent to them crossing your boundaries and entering your personal space. Ghost stories explain the residual energy left in a place where trauma occurs—and science now proves we “haunt” places we’ve been. Werewolves deal with animalistic urges, or what Freud called the id. That being said, I agree with you about not liking to see this kind of thing glamorized—especially when it is based on a real serial killer.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Great article, Mike. The horror fiction genre is not one that really interests me but I do see the appeal. Ironically I enjoy True Crime and have several favorite podcasts.

  • I like some of King's novels, I admire the way he writes but some I can't read. Hellbound Hellraisers I couldn't watch, most horror I can't do. Ah well. This is a good article.

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Very true. People seem to idolize the wrong things. It's a shame that good doesn't appear to get the same following.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    We are definitely affected by horror whether we realize it or not! Great thoughts here.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    A close example of people taking horror from fiction to reality is the nation wide scare before the movie "Joker" was released. A lit if them thought that it would lead to more rampant anarchy and misogyny. However, if You're looking for a real terrifying example of people being impressionable, look up the story of a little girl around the ages if 11-13 who was lead into the woods and stabbed by her two friends in Wisconsin because her friends "wanted to become proxies for the Slenderman." Yeah, people, but children especially are susceptible to having reality revolving around life, death, and pain warped in their minds.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Great thoughts, I enjoyed this.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great article, Mike. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.