Horror logo

The Haunted Hotel

A Night of Terror

By prabha karanPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
The Haunted Hotel
Photo by Nicolás Varela on Unsplash

It was a dark and stormy night, the kind that made your hair stand on end and your heart race with fear. And yet, despite the eerie atmosphere, I found myself standing in front of the old abandoned hotel, drawn to it like a moth to a flame.

I had heard stories of the hotel's haunted past, of how guests had disappeared without a trace, and of strange noises and ghostly apparitions that had been witnessed by those brave enough to venture inside. But I had never believed in ghosts or the supernatural. That was until I stepped inside the hotel.

The air was thick with the smell of mold and decay, and the once-grand lobby was now nothing but a shell of its former self. The furniture was covered in dust, the wallpaper peeling from the walls, and the chandeliers hanging from the ceiling were blackened with age.

I made my way to the front desk, where I found a dusty old ledger. As I flipped through the pages, I saw that the last entry had been made over fifty years ago. It seemed that the hotel had been abandoned for quite some time.

Just as I was about to leave, I heard a faint whisper. At first, I thought it was just my imagination, but then I heard it again. This time, it was clearer, and I could make out the words "Get out."

I turned around, but there was no one there. I shrugged it off, thinking that my mind was playing tricks on me. But then I heard footsteps, coming from upstairs.

I hesitated for a moment, but my curiosity got the better of me, and I began to climb the stairs. As I made my way to the second floor, the footsteps grew louder, and I could hear what sounded like moaning and groaning.

When I reached the top of the stairs, I saw a figure in the distance, a silhouette against the darkness. I couldn't make out who or what it was, but I could feel my heart pounding in my chest.

Suddenly, the figure turned and began to walk towards me. I could hear its footsteps echoing through the hallway, growing louder and louder. As it got closer, I could make out its features: a woman with long, tangled hair, dressed in a white gown that was stained with blood.

I froze, too terrified to move, as the ghostly apparition passed right through me. I could feel her icy breath on my neck, and the hair on my arms stood on end.

I stumbled back, tripping over my own feet and falling down the stairs. When I finally regained my footing, I ran as fast as I could, out of the hotel and into the stormy night.

As I looked back, I could see the figure of the woman in the window, watching me with hollow eyes. And that's when I realized that the hotel wasn't just haunted by one ghost, but by many.

From that day on, I never went back to the hotel. But I couldn't shake the feeling that the ghosts were following me, haunting me in my dreams and in the corners of my mind.

And even now, as I write this story, I can feel their presence, lurking in the shadows, waiting to drag me back into their world of terror and fear.

Days turned into weeks and weeks turned into months, but the haunting memories of the hotel never left me. I tried my best to forget about what had happened, to convince myself that it was just my imagination running wild. But no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was watching me, following me.

One night, as I lay in bed, trying to fall asleep, I heard the same whispers that I had heard in the hotel. They were faint at first, but they grew louder and more insistent. I could hear them calling my name, begging me to return to the hotel.

I tried to ignore them, to block out the voices, but they were too persistent. They kept me awake all night, until finally, in the early hours of the morning, I gave in.

I knew it was a mistake to return to the hotel, but I couldn't resist the pull, the inexplicable force that was drawing me back. As I walked through the abandoned lobby, I could feel the ghosts watching me, waiting for me to make a mistake.

I made my way to the second floor, where I had seen the ghostly woman in the white gown. As I approached the room where she had appeared, I could hear her moaning and crying. It was a sound that chilled me to the bone.

I pushed open the door and stepped inside, and what I saw made me wish I had never come back. The room was filled with dozens of ghosts, all of them staring at me with hollow eyes, their faces twisted in pain and agony.

I could see the ghostly woman in the white gown, her eyes fixed on me, and I could feel the weight of their collective despair pressing down on me. I wanted to run, to flee the hotel and never look back, but I was frozen in place.

And then, just as suddenly as it had begun, it was over. The ghosts vanished into thin air, leaving me alone in the room. I ran out of the hotel as fast as I could, never looking back.

That was the last time I ever set foot in the haunted hotel. But the memories of that night continue to haunt me, to this day. I can still hear the whispers of the ghosts, and I can still feel their presence, lurking in the shadows, waiting for me to return.

As time passed, I tried my best to move on from the haunting experience at the hotel. I sought the help of therapists and even went on medication, but nothing could alleviate the constant feeling of unease that lingered in the back of my mind.

One day, a package arrived at my doorstep. It was wrapped in brown paper and tied with string. There was no return address or name on it, but something about it sent shivers down my spine.

As I tore open the wrapping, I found a small box inside. It was made of old, weathered wood and had intricate carvings etched into its surface. I couldn't help but feel a sense of foreboding as I opened it.

Inside the box, I found a single piece of paper. It was a note, written in an elegant script, that read:

"Dear [my name],

You thought you could run away from us, but we will never let you go. You belong to us now, and you will always be a part of the haunted hotel.

Yours forever,

The Ghosts."

I felt a cold shiver run down my spine as I read the note. I knew that it was from the ghosts, and that they were still watching me, waiting for me to return to the hotel.

I tried to put the note out of my mind, to convince myself that it was just a sick joke or a figment of my imagination. But deep down, I knew that the ghosts were real, and that they would never let me go.

That night, I had a vivid dream. I was back in the hotel, surrounded by the ghosts. They were all staring at me, their eyes filled with a cold, unyielding malice. I could feel their presence weighing down on me, crushing me under its weight.

Suddenly, the ghostly woman in the white gown appeared before me. She reached out a hand, and I felt a cold breeze wash over me. In that moment, I knew that I was never going to escape the haunting, that the ghosts were a part of me now.

I woke up in a cold sweat, my heart racing with fear. And that's when I knew that I had to confront the ghosts once and for all.

I returned to the hotel, armed with a cross and a rosary. I made my way to the second floor, where the ghosts had first appeared to me. I could feel their presence all around me, but this time, I was ready for them.

As I entered the room, I saw the ghostly woman in the white gown. She looked at me with a mixture of anger and sadness, as if she knew what I was about to do.

I began to recite the Lord's Prayer, my voice shaking with fear. And then, something miraculous happened. The ghosts began to fade away, their faces contorted in pain and anguish. They were being banished by the power of my faith.

As the last ghost vanished into thin air, I felt a sense of relief wash over me. I knew that I had finally conquered my fear, that I had put the ghosts to rest.

From that day on, I never saw or heard from the ghosts again. The haunted hotel was no longer a place of terror, but a place of peace. And I knew that I would never forget the lesson that the ghosts had taught me: that sometimes, the only way to overcome your fears is to confront them head-on.

fictionbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.