Horror logo

The Haunted Cabin in the Woods

SEO Keywords: haunted cabin, woods, horror story, real, paranormal, ghost, scary, suspenseful

By Kunal SharmaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
SARAH

The sun was setting as I pulled into the driveway of the old cabin in the woods. I had been looking forward to this trip for weeks, ever since my friend, Ben, had told me about it. He had said that the cabin was supposedly haunted, and I was eager to see if there was any truth to the rumors.

The cabin was small and rustic, with a dark wood exterior and a moss-covered roof. There was a single light on in the window, and I could see smoke coming from the chimney. I took a deep breath and stepped out of the car.

The air was cold and damp, and I could hear the sound of crickets chirping in the distance. I walked up to the front door and knocked. A moment later, the door opened and Ben stepped out.

"Hey," he said. "Welcome to the haunted cabin."

I smiled. "Thanks," I said. "I'm excited to be here."

Ben led me inside the cabin. It was small and sparsely furnished, with a few old chairs, a table, and a bed. There was a fireplace in the corner, and a pot of stew simmering on the stove.

"I hope you're hungry," Ben said. "I made stew."

"I'm starving," I said.

We sat down at the table and ate dinner. The stew was delicious, and I quickly forgot all about the rumors of the haunted cabin. After dinner, we sat by the fire and talked for a while.

"So, what do you think?" Ben asked. "Do you believe in ghosts?"

I shrugged. "I don't know," I said. "I've never seen one, but I've heard some pretty convincing stories."

"Well, you're in luck," Ben said. "Because this cabin is supposedly haunted by the ghost of a woman who was murdered here many years ago."

I shivered. "Really?" I asked.

"Yeah," Ben said. "Her name was Sarah, and she was only 16 years old when she was killed. They say that her ghost still haunts the cabin, looking for her killer."

I didn't know what to say. I didn't really believe in ghosts, but I couldn't help but feel a little bit uneasy.

"Well, I'm going to go to bed," I said. "I'm exhausted."

"Okay," Ben said. "I'll see you in the morning."

I went to the bedroom and got ready for bed. As I lay in bed, I couldn't stop thinking about the story of Sarah. I closed my eyes and tried to sleep, but I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched.

I finally drifted off to sleep, but I was awakened a few hours later by a noise. I sat up in bed and listened. I could hear footsteps coming from the living room.

I got out of bed and crept to the door of the bedroom. I slowly opened the door and peered out into the living room. The fire was still burning in the fireplace, and I could see a figure standing in the shadows.

I couldn't make out the figure's features, but I could tell that it was a woman. She was wearing a white dress, and her hair was long and dark. She was standing perfectly still, and she seemed to be staring right at me.

I froze, too scared to move. The woman took a step towards me, and I screamed.

Ben came running into the living room. "What's wrong?" he asked.

I pointed to the figure in the shadows. "There's someone there," I said.

Ben looked at the figure, but he didn't see anything. "There's no one there," he said. "It's just your imagination."

But I knew what I had seen. I had seen the ghost of Sarah.

I ran back to the bedroom and locked the door. I lay in bed, shaking, until the sun came up.

I never saw the ghost of Sarah again, but I never forgot her. And I never went back to the haunted cabin in the woods.

The End

supernaturalhalloween
Like

About the Creator

Kunal Sharma

I'm a passionate storyteller on Vocal Media, weaving tales that transport readers to captivating worlds. With each word. Join me on this literary journey, where stories come alive, hearts are touched, and imaginations take flight.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.