Horror logo

The Halloween Party

Getting ready for the party

By Neek ColePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Halloween Party
Photo by Bee Felten-Leidel on Unsplash

"You going to the party Friday." John asked me as I was going through the things in my locker. Today is Wednesday which gives me two days to prepare. "I believe so, but every time they have it, the music isn't all that good." I replied. "I guess your in luck. This year, I am in charge of it. If you wanna stop by my place after school you could help me with the playlist." He said. "Oh sure, I would love that." "Alright, well i'll see you after school at my house." "Okay." John left and went to his class. I was excited now for the party. Its senior year and this is going to be the first dance of the year. Staff is usually handling the music, so it's not all that good. I finished up with school and went home. When I arrived to the house I took a quick shower and went to find my mom. "Mom." I said hugging her and giving her a kiss on her check. " Hey baby, how was school today." She said. "Awesome mom. John asked me to come over his house today so I can help put together the playlist for our Halloween party." "Okay. John's, Tracy and Sam boy, isn't he." "Yes ma'am." "Umm okay. Yall gone have all that fast booty shaking rump hanging music." She said with her mouth tooted, touching her nose. "Yea I know how you youngin's are." I started laughing. " No mama, actually, i'm aiming for some good spooky music with a little up beat to it." "Okay, well be back by 8:30, 9:30 at the latest, but you better not be out later than 10:00. " " I, I Captain.". I said, giving her a kiss on the cheek and walking outside.

John stayed in the same community as me, so I rode the bike about three minutes to his house. When I got there I knocked on his front door. "Jaylaah." He said with a smile. I had to think to myself. I came to help with a playlist, that's all. He is so cute. "So..... How did you get control over the playlist this year." I asked confused because usually the teachers handle that. "Well, seeing that we are seniors and your boy is the captain of the basketball team, I talked to Mr. Campbell and he said he would let me do it, just have to follow our music guidelines." "So, no booty shaking music." "It just has to be clean." He said with a grin across his face. I smiled back at him. In his room he had a workspace set up, kind of like a work at home space. Two computer monitors, and a DJ mixing board. His bed was high off the ground and he had his favorite basketball player on almost everything. "Your room is nice. I'm digging the Kobe." I said. "Thank you." He replied. "So I was thinking." He started shuffling around with the computer and mixers. "What songs were you thinking about." "Well, I was thinking we could start with our favorite." "Thriller." We said simultaneously. "Yes. How could they not play that last year. " I said. "We were mad the whole time." He searched thriller and downloaded to his Halloween party track list.

Video_Michael Jackson_Thriller (https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=triller)

" My girl Rihanna. " I said. "Disturbia." "So far so good." He said downloading some more songs.

Ghostbusters by Ray Parker Jr. Superstition by Stevie Wonder Halloween by Phoebe Bridges

"Have you heard this song before." John asked searching for a song. "A nightmare on elm street." I said. " Yes, and how about this one." He said. "Uhhh No. I like it though. What is it called. "Jykell and Hyde by Five Finger Death Punch." "I'm going to throw in some slow songs and some songs that's not really Halloween but they give a spooky vibe and its good to mellow the night out." "Lets get some more music downloaded."

Video: Dj Jazzy Jeff & Fresh Prince , Nightmare on Elm Street (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVbaYFVUbLo)

I took over and started downloading some songs. I put Selena Gomez, Wolves. "Really" He said. "You don't think this is a good song to go with it." We giggled. "Nope, I like it. Your getting the hang of this.

Video: Selena Gomez, Wolves (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cH4E_t3m3xM)

Eminem ft Rihanna _The Monster ; Imagine Dragons_Demon ; Justin Temberlake _Mirror ; Zayn ft Sia_ Dusk till Dawn ; Alessia Cara_ Scars to your Beautiful ; Bruno Mars_ Talking to the Moon ; Beyonce_Haunted ; Ramones_Pet Sematary.

What time is it." I said. "9:00." He said. We took a break from downloading to watch Hocus Pocus. We both thought of the song and wanted to watch it. To our surprise, it was both of our favorite movie growing up. "I have to be home by 10, by mom said. "Okay, Did you drive." "No. I rode the bike." "How about I push the bike and walk back with you to your house." "I would like that." "Good. Let just download this song and get the shuffled." "Okay." We finished up and he walked with me home. "I had fun with you tonight." He said. "I did too." "Yea, so umm, can you gone save me a dance to wolves." I laughed and punched his shoulder. He smiled. " Yes.." He questioned. "I'll save you a dance. " "Alright, i want one to our song from our favorite movie too." He said giving me a hug. "See you tomorrow." I said going inside. "Tomorrow." He said leaving.

Video : Bette Midler , Hocus Pocus, I put a spell on you (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaC-WDrvmUQ)

halloween

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Neek ColeWritten by Neek Cole

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.