Horror logo

The Guest, review

A Short film review

By SnickersWritingPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Being autistic I never had any friends, it is just hard to get people to understand you: especially with high functioning autism that I have so my ONLY SOLICE after the merciless bullying I received was to go home and watch movies with the dream of being a critic. I was always that guy who would come out of the movies picking apart every detail, for instant in the new matrix movie a dead give away Neil Patrick Harris is the villian would be his glasses they are blue and the blue pill is the pill that keeps people in the matrix, he talks with a soft even tone much like every other villian towards Neo and he is the secondary face shown in the trailer, so with those I had a 99% positive rate that he would be the villian before it even came out in theaters. Anyway in this article what I really want to talk about is the little guy. Sure there are many people running reviews on big name films but why not throw the little guy a bone once in a while after all even the small dogs deserve a treat, I mean not every show dog has to be big.

So the short film I want to talk about is a short film made by the YouTube channel Alter and it is called The Guest. Now what this does well that I think MANY of short films trying to be in the horror genre do a piss poor job of is that, this film actually leaves it up to interpretation and does it RIGHT. You see with any short film or film or even TV show, this can be done RIGHT and this can be done WRONG depending on the director, the script, and if the actor portraying the character or characters are believable for the audience to make a connection with.

Now the ENTIRE film is up to interpretation because one can argue that the film is just a man coming to terms with a guilty conscience but is completely unable to do so, but you can also argue it is an actual end of the line for a demon pact he had made for whatever reason.

Now my interpretation is that it is a man who snapped for some reason and killed his family but, is trying to remember the good times yet he can not do it because voice in his head which represents his conscience causes him to live with the guilt and the knowledge of the horrible act and in the end he is so distraught about what he has done and is so tired of that “voice” nagging him that he just takes it into his own hands, if you get my drift. His last words being in the film are “I don’t want to die” because this is true he does not want to die, but he does not want to do what he knows will stop his feelings of guilt but he can’t for the likes of him come to terms with the fact that he killed his family and he is never getting them back, so he felt like he had no choice.

Honestly if you want to take it the other way, then you can look at is at your typical standard his time was up and the debt needed to be repaid, type of horror film which would be and make the entire film SUPER cliche and honestly tone down the enjoyment, but as I said it is a film that leaves it’s meaning up for interpretation to its viewers so If you want to take it like that go ahead.

I do 100% full on definitely recommend checking it out as once again it is called The Guest, and it is but the YouTube channel called, Alter. I encourage you to check it out and make your own opinions, cause not only is the acting great and the cinematography is awesome and the effects and setting and musical score all just really chill your bones to an ice cube, so come on and throw the little guy a bone and I promise that you won’t be disappointed with the film or the channels work overall.

movie review

About the Creator

SnickersWriting

Being autistic I never had much people friends so the computer was my friend I would come home lonely as normal and writing, I put all myself and love into each thing I write

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SnickersWritingWritten by SnickersWriting

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.