Horror logo

The Forest Floor

by Mycheille Norvell

By Mycheille NorvellPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
5

An ache grows in my chest, right where my heart should be. I gasp out a breath, tears falling down my face, but it’s the barn owl’s screech that makes my tired eyes open wide.

I sit up instantly, looking around the dark, deserted forest in utter confusion. Within my foggy memories, I can’t remember why I’m sitting on the rain-soaked earth as branches pick at my skin. I start to stand when I hear the owl call out again. There’s something in its voice that pulls my gaze straight to its large obsidian eyes as it perches on a nearby tree, staring into me with too much knowing. There’s something wrong with the twist of its head as it watches me as if waiting for something to happen… something that it already knows will happen.

A chill goes down my spine as a wolf howl fills the air. I squeak out a cry as I jump, pushing my body up against a nearby tree, watching the horizon with skeptical eyes. The howl seems closer now, and I distantly hear the steady footfalls of a pack readying for their hunt. True panic pierces my soul as I search for an answer, anything to help me. My eyes move back to the owl, and it seems to look up above my head. I turn my gaze, my frozen breath leaving a trail before me, almost looking like a spirit, and then I see the low-hanging branch right above me. I reach for it, pulling myself up.

The wolves are louder now, barking and growling as they catch my smell. I gasp out my agony and fear, tears pouring down my cheeks, freezing as soon as they hit the air. I don’t think as I let my tired limbs guide me up, up, up the tree. The higher I go, the safer I feel, the freer I feel.

I hear the growling wolves stop, howling in glee as they find their meal. I turn, trying to settle onto the branch better, when I see the owl quietly sitting beside me, its body white with golden wings etched with a mossy sort of coating. I let out a soft scream, but I’m surprised the sound doesn’t echo, and the wolves don’t seem the least bit affected by my voice. Something feels off, and like before, the owl tilts its head at me as if urging me to understand its thoughts. It suddenly turns its head towards the feeding frenzy below.

Something inside me warns not to look, begs not to see what it is the animals found, but the urgency in the owl’s eyes is louder than the voice inside my head. I slowly focus my gaze below, but the animals are practically on top of each other trying to claim their feast. The owl lets out a loud, horrifying screech beside me and it echoes over the entire wood. The wolves cry out as if in pain, and, without question, they begin running in the opposite direction, leaving their dinner behind. I look back at the owl with shocked gratitude, but it is still looking down, and then glances back at me briefly, as if pleading for me to see.

I sigh, forcing away the deep inner chill crowding in my soul, and as I look down, instantly I regret it. First, there’s confusion… then doubt… and then, then there’s the painful realization that I’m staring down at my own body lying mangled on the forest floor. Tears freeze on my cheeks and I look back at the owl, but it’s gone. I am utterly alone.

fiction
5

About the Creator

Mycheille Norvell

Mycheille has a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing for Entertainment, as well as a Master of Science degree in Instructional Design & Technology, from Full Sail University. She has been writing since she was a child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.