Horror logo

The Evil Dark

How I learned to love all that is dark

By JeanNPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Evil Dark
Photo by Marten Newhall on Unsplash

The Dark is evil. I know it. Come running when I scream in fear and turn on the lights to prove there is nothing there. Oh, that’ll make me change my mind. Shake your head and laugh at me. I’m used to it.

So what if there isn’t anything there when you turn on the lights. I never said there was anything lurking in the light, did I?

I am tired of being scared. I’m tired of being ridiculed. I need the proof to shut everyone’s mouths. It will certainly be great to see your faces when you realize I was right.

Tonight, I’m going to prove this once and for all. This is absolutely the scariest thing I will ever do. Come along if you want. You can tell yourself that you are there to protect me. I know you just want to be the first to say “I told you so.” Maybe, I’ll be the one saying it.

I’m going to spend the rest of the afternoon screwing up my courage. I’ll be leaving when the sun sets. Be there if you want. It won’t bother me either way.

The sun’s gone down. I am ready to leave. I have a backpack filled with my favorite snacks, a flashlight with fresh batteries and a jacket for the cold of night. I even have a pillow and a lightweight blanket in case I want to rest. If you are coming, try to keep up and I hope you have your own supplies. I don’t have enough to share.

I’ve been at this for a couple hours now. At first the lights and sounds from the house keep me company. Of course, you are here too.

The little hills I have climbed all my life seem a whole lot steeper that they do during the daylight. My heart is beating faster, maybe because of climbing the hills. More likely, because of the fear rising inside of me.

What if I’m wrong? What if I wasted my entire life, scared of something that doesn’t exist? I’m beginning to doubt myself.

I’m sure you are feeling pretty smug since we haven’t come across anything to fear.

I see the tree line up ahead and my doubt goes away pretty quickly. Suddenly, I feel like something has punched me in the stomach. I think I’m going to throw up. I put down my blanket and sit down until I feel a little better.

I should turn around and head back to the house but I can’t. Not after all this buildup. Not in front of you. I don’t know why you are still here but it’s beginning to creep me out. I hope it’s creeping you out too.

The darkness is getting deeper now. I can only see about 100 feet in front of me. That’s just enough to see the closest trees.

Can you see any more than that? I doubt it.

I’m only about fifty feet from the trees now but I can’t really see anything but shadows. I’m so scared I can barely breathe. I hope you’re enjoying watching me suffer.

I’m at the edge of the tree line now but I can’t see anything. The Dark is so deep that, if I put my hand against my nose, I can feel my hand but I can’t see it. The Dark is everywhere.

It isn’t just outside me anymore. I can feel it filling my body, then my mind, then my soul. I’m not scared of the Dark anymore. I am The Dark. If you are still here, you already know. It’s too late to leave. You are The Dark too.

I don’t feel like I’m evil. Do you?

It’s time to go home and tell my family what has happened to me.

I’m beginning to feel strange creatures swimming in my Dark. Do you feel them too? I kind of like them.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

JeanN

I'm an old lady with a very strange mind.

'Jeanofthenight' on Reddit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.