Horror logo

The Elevator

Which Floor?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
The Elevator
Photo by Andy Li on Unsplash

A loud knock banged on my bedroom door woke me up from my long nap after work. I hadn't even changed. Grumbling, I opened the door to my roommate. Her aura was black as the night. There was ill intent wrapped around her spirit. Nervously, I twisted my long brown hair into a bun. Her gum smacked loudly in her mouth.

"Can you go get the laundry?" My short petite roommate pleaded. "I kind of forgot." Her painted fingernails twisted her long red hair. Of course she did. That girl would forget her head if it wasn't attached. My black uniform hugged my hourglass figure. Our plain white walls taunted me while anger rushed through my veins.

"I think you should go it because I do this every week." I moaned, rubbing my temple. "Can't you just fix your mistake?" Rolling her eyes, she tugged at her long silk pink night gown. Her blue eyes pleaded with me as she shrugged her shoulders. Irked, I slammed the door on my way out into the red hall. The air felt heavy and oppressive as I approached the stairwell. The door refused to open because it was locked. Who locks a freaking staircase? Now I would have to use the elevator. My phobia of elevators told me to just go back to the apartment, but I needed my other uniform for tomorrow.

My body shook as the golden doors teased me. My muscles froze as the door opened by themselves without me pushing the button. Turning to go back a strong force tossed me into the elevator. Horror filled my copper eyes when the buttons weren't lit up. Yet the dinging of the elevator rang through my ears at each floor. The floor shook as it slammed to a complete stop. All the air left me when the doors slid open to reveal a dead forest. A tall tree creature walked in and stood next to me. He had on a peculiar top hat on his head. He bowed and tipped his hat at me. Cheery elevator music was the only thing that kept the silence at bay. Slowly the doors slid shut just leaving the two of us. My lungs burned for air for I had held my breath the entire time. Ten dings passed when the door opened again to a crumbled urban city. The tree guy waved as he walked into the floor. The door was about to close when a doctor from the black plaque walked in. His raven like mask turned to me as his long black cloaks ruffled next to me. My hands shook as they grasped desperately for the gold railings. The red carpet spun below my black boots. The door slid closed just leaving him and I.

"Lovely day it is." He commented with a friendly voice. "We don't get to many humans on this elevator." A large lump formed in my throat.

"It sure is." I muttered as tears formed in my eyes. "How do I get to the laundry room?" Chuckling to himself, he turned his large beak towards me.

"You took the Hellevator, not the elevator." He said, peeling off his mask to reveal a handsome face. "I can get you back, but you have to help me with my task." My lips quivered as a warm smile lit up his pale face. His red eyes glittered excitedly while he ran his hand through his long red hair.

"I just want to go home." I begged falling to my knees." I hate elevators." His leather gloves rested on my shoulders, releasing relief over my body. A soft thud echoed behind me as he sat down.

"Are you sure?" He inquired curiously. "You have no family, a shitty roommate, and crappy job. Where I live you can be queen." Confusion twisted my face, causing me to start shaking again. His leather glove rested on my dripping hands. Cold sweat dripped down my face, making my eyeliner run down my face.

"I am sur-" I protested nervously. He wrapped his arms around my tiny waist. My heart pounded out of my chest, making the elevator spin around me. Sadness dimmed his face, tears falling from his eyes.

"One more floor." He said with a grimace. "The truth will be revealed." The door opened one last time to the laundry room. Joy leapt through my body when shitty washing machines and dryers greeted me. My heart fell to my stomach when my body lay on the floor. A large kitchen knife stuck out of my chest. Red blood pooled around my limp body. Horror filled my mind when I saw my roommate standing above me covered in blood. Giggling maniacally she stabbed me over and over again with another knife.

"Stupid bitch!" She screamed with joy. "You complained one too many times. Fuck you." Panic ran through my mind when I charged at her. Two strong arms held me back.

"Let me go!" I yelled, whamming on his hands. "I want my revenge!" Shaking his head, he tossed me back into the elevator. Soreness burned on my fists with each desperate bang on the closing doors. Large tears fell from my eyes, feeling despair and a loss of hope.

"You can't do anything." He grimaced with a soft frown. "It sucks you died, but you get to be queen of the reapers. I am their king. I saved you from going to Hell." Sobs shook my body as I curled into a fetal position.

"Why would I go there?" I wept uncontrollably. "I didn't do a damn thing wrong." His teeth gritted, clenching his fists. Fury twisted his face into an irked look.

"You never believed." He explained, looking away. "Don't worry a lot of people don't. Time to go home." The door opened one last time to a cabin in a field of flowers. Waves crashed on the nearby lake shore. A silver moon bathed everything in a silvery light. My legs shook beneath me as I stood up and stumbled into the soft field. Peace washed over me as two arms wrapped around me.

"Why me?" I asked distantly. "No one wanted me in my life." A goofy grin danced across his face as he spun me around. My face flushed scarlet. His lips pressed hungrily against my lips. Tension bloomed between us when he pulled back.

"I have watched you this whole time." He bragged playfully. "We have met before. Do you remember when your ma and pa died? You saw me as a teenager. You had the ability to see a reaper. That was the only reason you could get on the elevator." Before he could speak again, I kissed his soft lips. A dirty smile lit up his face when I pulled back.

"I thought that was my imagination." I exclaimed oddly. "I was attracted to you then. I was hoping to see you again. You gave me a feeling of warmth." Laughing to himself, he spun me around.

"That my dear is because you were born a reaper in the world of the living." He commented happily. "Let's go home." He picked me up bridal style to he dark wooden door of the cabin. Home, is that what home feels like. A welcome feeling washed over me as we entered into the cozy cabin.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.