Horror logo

Fallen Log

A vacation gone wrong

By Brittany MitchellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Fallen Log
Photo by Marc Wieland on Unsplash

The storm crashed around me as my wheels slid on the wet black pavement. My wooden wheel fought me, causing my tires to squeal. My brakes screeched to a sudden halt when there was a giant log in the road. My blonde petite friend Sammy stirred awake in the back seat of my blue station wagon.

"Why are we stopped?" She inquired groggily. "Are we there yet?" Her pink lips yawned as the black blanket slid off of her body. Her green eyes dimmed with disappointment at the sight of the log. A lump in my throat formed, deciding what to do. My head told me we should just go home. My heart was screaming that you took a whole week off. A flash of lightning jolted me out of my thoughts. Fear ran through my body when I thought I saw the shape of man with an ax in his hand.

"I think we should go home." I uttered irked. "Something doesn't feel right." She ran her perfectly manicured fingers through her long hair, rolling her eyes. Annoyance twisted her face.

"Can't we move that tree?" She suggested with a shrug. "The cabin is the only place down the street." My eyes twitched angrily at the sound of her stupidity. Clearly she did not pay attention to any of the movies we watched together. Also a bear could not even move that log.

"No. This is literally like every horror movie ever, you twit." I retorted coolly. "Do we look like superheroes? Last I knew you were half-drunk." Whining softly, she pouted her puffy lips. A loud pop erupted between a crash of thunder. The passenger side of the car started sinking into the road. Panic ran through my mind, flickering what could cause a standing car tire to pop. Sammy scrolled through her phone humming a pop song. I swear to god she is freaking useless. My heart stopped beating when her door was ripped open. Screams flew out of her mouth as she was dragged out of the station wagon. Thump, Thump went my heart as cold sweat dripped down my skin, making my red plaid dress stick to my hourglass figure. My fingers shook as they played with my textured bangs. Breathing deeply, the door clicked open as I stumbled out. Immediately icy drops soaked my long wavy brown hair. A ring echoed throughout the stormy night, a bright light lit up the ditch ten feet away from me. The muddy hillside showed deep drag marks. Weapon, I needed a weapon. Groaning, I realized that I only had a tire iron. Shrugging, mud slipped out underneath my black riding boots. Thick brown mud covered my body making it hard to move. Anxiously, my fingers searched for the top of the ledge. Shock and horror froze all of my muscles when dense trees was all that surrounded me. Screams could still be heard in the short distance ahead of me. Gnarly roots covered the ground ahead of me.

"I wouldn't do that if I were you." A gruff voice ordered, pointing a rifle to the back of my head. "These darn hills are our homes. Maybe we can make you a breeder." Tremors waved through my body at the very thought of that last statement. A grubby hand tossed my tire iron to the bottom of the hill. My battery was going to run out if someone did not turn off my car. As if someone heard me, my engine died down. Keys clattered as thumps came up over the hill.

"I heard you found us another breeder." Another rough voice exclaimed. "She will do just fine. That other one will be dog food." Fury boiled in my veins. My fist clenched tightly until blood dripped down in a small line. Not my idiot friend, she is my idiot. Now how to save her dumb ass, and to not become a breeder.

"Come again?" I inquired with furrowed brows. "I am no one's breeder." Why did I just do that? My stupid mouth was going to get myself killed. My roots burned as my hair was yanked back. A cold steel blade was pressed against my throat.

"Feisty, huh?" The first voice teased cruelly. "I am going to make you my personal breeder." Growling erupted behind me, as tension rose between the two males. There was my way out.

"Mama said it was my turn." The other one argued pulling the blade from my throat. The leaves crunched behind me. Thuds crashed against the ground as the two men wrestled behind me. Their deformed faces knocked the breath out of me. I am definitely not going to become there breeder. Sammy burst from the trees dripping in blood with a machete in each hand. The two men stopped fighting and looked at us. Frowns darkened their faces while she tossed me one of her machetes.

"Want to get out of here?" She asked with a weak smile. "This place sucks." Rolling my copper eyes, we charged at them. The blades sank into their bloated stomachs. Blood sprayed my face when I ripped it out of his stomach. A cry of fury exploded out of my mouth as the blade sliced off both of their heads at once. Their bodies collapsed in loud thuds as the heads rolled to my feet. Cloudy eyes just stared up at me. Red and blue lights flashed below on the road. Beams of light blinded us as two officers appeared in front of us.

"We fixed your t-" The short blonde officer paused at the sight of the dead men. "What happened here?" A nervous smile lit up my face.

"They attacked us." I blurted out trying to not go to jail. "He kept saying something about a breeder and dog food. I wouldn't be surprised if any other girls went missing around here." The two officers looked at each other and nodded.

"Miss, just meet us in the morning at the station." She stated oddly. They helped us to my blue station wagon. My keys were set in my palm. Yawning, we both got in and drove back home for some much needed sleep.

slasher
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.