Horror logo

The Manor

Who did it?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Manor
Photo by John Silliman on Unsplash

A boy in a brown suit stood at the edge of my darkened forest. The twisted trees looked like shadows in the dark cloudy evening. Something was off about him. My black salt necklace rose in the air, pointing in his direction.

"I want peace, and to be set free." He pleaded in a wispy voice. "The demon is more powerful, and coming your way. The barrier is falling around the mansion." My copper eyes twisted with confusion as he motioned for me to follow him. The clouds darkened above me as branches scraped my face. The ground was cold beneath my bare feet. My jaw dropped when we stopped at huge Tudor, decaying from years of abandon.

"Come on." The now see through boy begged. "I need your help. Only you can free us." A lump in my throat formed, making me want to turn around. A crack of thunder jolted me awake. The wind howled around me, snarling my long wavy brown hair. Icy raindrops pounded around me. My short purple dress clung wetly to my hourglass figure. It was Myles' Manor. The legend was that Dean Myles went crazy and axed his entire family and then himself. How does one chop themselves, I do not know. No one new why. Honestly, I felt like their was another more supernatural reason for it. My legs protested, begging me not to enter the remains. My head turned back to search for the boy, but he was gone. The cracked marble crunched beneath my feet while I climbed through a window. Darkness surrounded my shaking body. My heart stopped beating when a woman who looked just like me appeared. Her white robes flowed to the ground.

"Are you here to help us?" She asked with a soft smile. "You will need this." A black blade was thrust into my hand, feeling heavier than I had expected. Just like that she was gone. A short man with a black mustache and black top hat appeared in front of me. His black velvet suit was dusty with years of death. Horror filled my eyes when his head turned to reveal half of a skull. A black empty eye socket and neat rows of teeth were greeting me.

"He made me do it! He made me do it!" He screamed before stopping. "He is in the basement. Go! Finish what she couldn't." Who is she? Before I could even ask the basement door blew open. My heart fell to my stomach when a tall black horned demon stomped up to me. Thunderous laughter rang out around me.

"I am not the bad guy here." He boomed playing with a piece of my hair. "You are to be my bride. You aren't even human are you?" A twisted smile darkened my face. How did he know?

"My father was a demon, and my mother a witch." I replied coldly. "I am no one's bride though. I am here to get rid of you." Sharp teeth dripping with fresh blood greeted my quivering eyes. His hot stinky breath nauseated my empty stomach. A large claw traced my face, making my heart pound faster than before.

"You don't belong here." He exclaimed, transforming into a long black haired man my age. "Is this form better?" A strange feeling of desire washed over me. His red eyes glinted excitedly into mine. The uncomfortable feeling melted into an urge to join him. His red suit stood out starkly against the darkness of the night.

"You caused this man to murder everyone. No thanks." I protested firmly, raising the black salt blade. "You must pay." Chuckling to himself, a playful grin lit up his face. His eyes darkened as he ran his slender hand through his hair.

"I didn't do a damn thing." He uttered, looking away. "That was all him. I just chose to live in the ruins. Then I didn't have a choice when his wife sealed me in here. It is the father who has trapped them." I opened my mouth to speak when evil laughter erupted behind me. Cautiously, my body turned around.

"He is right you know." A cheery voice chirped. "I did it all on my own. I am, well was the lead Satan bishop until I summoned this idiot. He turned out to be useless. He had no desire to kill my family. I just had to handle things myself." The man missing half his face was back. A black snake slithered out of his mouth and towards me. It hissed to reveal two long fangs dripping with yellow venom. The ground melted beneath it. My heart got caught up in my throat as it sprayed near me. A flash of light blinded me as the thunder crashed around me. Pain shot through my body when two fangs sank into my thigh. My veins throbbed black. My chest ached, causing me to fall to my knees. The demon leapt out at the dead man, knocking him to the ground. The world blurred as my feet dragged as I limped towards the ghost being held on the ground.

"Die!" I yelled, slamming the blade into the area of his heart. Howling echoed around us as his spirit faded away to nothing. The snake disappeared in a puff of smoke. The poison was still running through my body, making me wheeze. The woman and child appeared before me. A large smile lit up her face. The force field was fading out to allow them to go to Heaven. Her hand hovered above the bite mark. Slowly my veins turned back to normal.

"He sent my boy to trap you for your power." She muttered sheepishly. "I am sorry. Thank you for helping us." The boy and her turned into two balls of light. Like a pair of butterflies they fluttered up to the clearing sky, leaving me and the demon.

"I am Demetry." He offered his hand. "You must be Luna." My face flushed scarlet while accepting his hand. He pulled me close to his body. His heart was beating faster than mine. His lips pressed against mine hungrily. Melting into his arms, my heart stopped beating as time stopped around us.

"You want to help me free spirits?" I inquired as he pulled away from me. A crooked grin brightened his face.

"Let's go." He shouted joyfully. Before he could leave, my lips kissed his perfect lips. I pulled away to see a stunned demon with a goofy face. This was going to be fun.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.