Horror logo

The Door

Fear The Door or Die Opening It

By S. M. Williams Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Door
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

“Open the door.”

That’s what they want me to do as I stand in front of this mysterious black iron door. Nobody else can open this peculiar door, all except me. Everyone who tried gets electrocuted and dies. We ended up having to bury lots of our family and friends because everyone tried opening it. But these people are still greedy and curious about what’s behind this deadly door. They don’t care if I die, too. They just believe what wacko who appeared and said I’m the only one who can open this door.

Now here we are in the middle of the woods. I’m standing in front of the large black iron door with a strange carving on it. I can’t quite tell what the carving is, but it almost looks like some sort of creature. There are words in a strange language written on the top of the door, and my best guess is that it’s a warning. The doorknob is like a peculiar carving, but it’s harder to make out. The vibe this is giving me is literally creep ovoid vibes. I get chills just being near this door, and just thinking about opening this gives me even worse vibes. Usually, that means don’t do something and turn back.

I don’t want to do this. If I had a choice, I would go home and play kick the can with my friends. Well, what’s left of them anyway. But they threaten my family and I can’t let them kill my family all because I wouldn’t open this door. I took a deep breath as I hesitated, reached out to the doorknob, but froze, as I don’t want to do this. I placed my arm back down to my sides as I shivered from the cold and this creepy door. I don’t want to do this. But I have no choice.

“Will you hurry, girl? We don’t have all day!”

I glanced behind me and look at them as they held up torches as the sun has been setting. It would’ve been the perfect sunset if it weren’t for this situation right at this moment. I know they are getting impatient. Of course, they are. They are greedy pigs who are more interested in what’s behind this door than a sixteen-year-old girl’s life. In this situation, you would think they were part of some sort of cult with how they are acting. But they aren’t. They are just typical villagers who are, unfortunately, greedy and have more authority than me.

I turn back towards the door and took another deep breath. I can’t stall forever, as I know they will either kill my family or force me to open the door. I just wanted to go home and be with my family. I’ve never wanted to be here. This is my home for sixteen years and now I feel unsafe for the first time in those years. I feel like that’s rotten and cruel. These men and women shouldn’t make me feel that way. I should feel safe in my village, not fear for my life or my family’s life.

“Come on! Get a move on!”

I flinch from him, raising his voice at me. The guy who yelled at me just now. His name is Richard Stonefern. He’s the sheriff of our village, and he’s the one who found this door first when we found our third corpse. I honestly didn’t like him as he was always uptight, but now he’s completely changed because of this door. I know he will keep their promise of killing my family.

I swallowed as I walk closer to it as I reach out towards the doorknob once again. I felt so uneasy as I stood so close to this door. When my hand grasped the doorknob, coldness shot up my arm as I shivered instantly, and I felt pins and needles throughout my body. I squeezed my eyes as I took another deep breath as I repeatedly tell myself that I’m doing this for my family. I quickly turn the knob before opening the dreadful door, and instantly a cold wind swept out, pushing me back a little. When it stopped, we all looked up, and we all froze. My heart sped up in fear, as all there was inside was pure darkness. You can’t see anything that’s inside. There wasn’t even a sound to be heard inside, either. I don’t know if that’s good or even worse.

“What are you waiting for? Go inside and see what’s in there.”

I turned toward one guy as they shoved a torch in my arms, and I ended up burning my hands a little. I hissed from the pain but couldn’t think about it too much as I’m shoved towards the open door. I let out a gulp as I stood there frozen. I didn’t want to go into this pitch-black room. I want to just run home and hug my parents and tell them everything will be fine. But nothing will be. I don’t have a good feeling about this. I shook from the fear and the cold I’m getting from this door, but I still walked through this door.

The moment I stepped past the threshold, the door slammed shut with a loud bang. I spun around before banging on the door, screaming for them to let me out. I thought for a split second that maybe this was all a joke, but I knew better. They didn’t close the door on me. Something else did. Something that I don’t want to find out at all. I suddenly jump when I heard something behind me. I felt more cold sweeping by me, but when I slowly turned around, there was only darkness. The torch was the only light I had that flickered in the darkness.

I lick my lips as fear just kept creeping up my spine as I heard scuffling in a corner. I backed up as much as I can but there was not much that I could do or go. I let out a yelp as another wind swept by me, but this one almost knocked me over, and it made me drop my torch. Leaving me in complete and utter darkness. My heart pounded against my chest as I felt even more alone than before, but I know something is in here with me. Something that more likely wants to kill me.

I stood with my back against the cold iron door as I stare out into the dark abyss, I honestly didn’t know what else to do. There is no use in banging on the door. They won’t be able to reopen it, anyway. My breath hitched and my body tensed as I suddenly felt a presence next to me, and I was too afraid to look to see who it was. The bad feeling I’ve been feeling since I even looked at the door intensified ten folds before my heart sped up even more. It almost felt like it was about to burst from my chest as goosebumps appeared over my skin as the temperature seems to have dropped.

I felt whoever or whatever was next to me breathe into my ear, making me shake from their cold breath, and in that instant, I knew. I’m not getting out of here alive. I’m going to die. I’m never going to see my family and friends ever again, and it’s all because they forced me to open this damn door. I wished I had a choice. If I had a choice, then I would never be here.

“You’ve opened the door.”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

S. M. Williams

I love to read and write. I can always have an idea for a story as my imagiation runs wild. My favorite books to write are mostly fantasy and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.