Horror logo

The Dollhouse

Barbie

By Peggy Sue Danielle RushPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
The Dollhouse
Photo by Stephen Radford on Unsplash

It was late evening and it started raining. I went inside to play so I wasn't getting wet. When I got to the living room I noticed a doll house. It was a beautiful two story house with an elevator that worked with batteries. It also had a doorbell that worked. I was so excited! I ran to my room and grabbed a few of my Barbie's and went to playing. I kept using the elevator and the doorbell because it made things more real.

Mom and Dad came into the living room to check on me. They told me they would be back soon, they were going to the store. That was fine I planned to continue to play with my dolls. I was an only child so I was use to playing with toys on my own.

My name is Sarah and I am 7. I have many friends in the neighborhood but when I am home I am alone. I spend a lot of time coloring or playing video games . I do like to spend time playing with Barbie's as well.

I was pretending this was my house and I had several guest for dinner. I wanted another guest to walk through the front door after ringing the bell. So I was laying on the floor looking at the front of the doll house. I made the Barbie reach for the doorknob on the front door but it wasn't working. So I touched the doorknob to open the door and all the sudden, I had shrunk to the the size of my Barbie.

I was so confused. I was now standing on the porch of the doll house and it was huge.

As I was trying to figure out what had happened I see the Barbie, I was just holding, start walking toward me.

"Are you going in" she asked and she pointed to the front door of the doll house.

"what is going on", I asked her.

" We are here for a family dinner silly". she replied.

" But why am I the same size as you now" I said with a confused look.

"I'm sure I don't know what your talking about, you have always been this size." she replied.

I realize that I am not going to get any answers from her so I follow her inside. The inside of the house looks completely different now. The house no longer has the open back side, the house has all the walls like a real house. I keep looking around in amazement. I don't even notice at first that all the Barbie's I had been playing with are now walking around the house preparing a dinner.

Before I could think of what to do next, I was ushered to the table to have a seat.

All the dolls have a seat and begin to make their plates. I noticed all the food is real. "This is all real? " I blurt out.

"Well of course sweety." says the doll I walked in with.

"Don't be that nice to her carol". says the doll standing at the end of the table. " we need to get down to business."

"What business?" I asked.

She looks highly irritated as she has a seat. " we called this meeting to discuss the issues you created". she says.

"Me!" Now im super nervous as I try and think of how I could have caused any issues when I don't even know how I got here.

" You have brought us to this house claiming it as your own and the owners don't appreciate it." she snaps at me.

" I don't understand there was no one in the house or no other dolls when I started playing."

" There are two sisters that own this house and have been haunting us since you brought us here." she says seeming more scared then mad now.

" What do you mean haunting you?" I asked

" They are ghost and they switch the lights and throw things. They made Carol dump boiling water on her self also."

" What am I supposed to do about ghost? I didn't know they were here and I don't know how to get rid of them."

I don't understand what's happening. I am talking to dolls that are claiming to be haunted by ghost. So many questions start to flood my mind. How am I going to get out of here? How will my parents know where I am? Then Im suddenly snapped back to reality by the lights starting to flash.

"They are doing it again, what are we going to do?" screamed Carol.

"Wait, How do you know that the ghost are two sisters"? I asked.

" Suzie saw them in her room" said carol.

"which one is Suzie" I asked?

"I am" and the doll that told me about the ghost spoke. " I am more of a mother figure around here." she said.

" Ok Suzie, so what happened in your room?" I asked.

" Well I was laying down trying to go to sleep and they showed up at the end of my bed. They told me that it was their home and I needed to get out. I was going to run but it was like I was being held down by my blanket. They begin to get closer like they were going to hurt me and then they were gone. I got up and ran to Diane's room cause she was right beside my room." she said as she pointed to a red head Barbie sitting at the table.

“ ok well lets go ahead and leave then.” I said as I began to walk to the front door.

“ we can’t the door wont open, they are mad and want to kill us now so we can’t leave.” said Diane.

“ well how can I help now that I am stuck also.” I said “ why would you bring me in the house to help if I was going to get stuck too.”

I was freaking out now and I wasn't sure what to do but I remembered that the doll house had a balcony on the second floor.

“ I know what to do, follow me!”

I ran up the stairs which was weird because the doll house didn't have stairs before. I am glad it did though because I'm not sure I want to get in the elevator now. When I get to the second floor I noticed the house now had a hallway with several rooms.

“ ok the house doesn't look the same to me so where is the balcony?” I asked the dolls.

“The balcony is outside of each bedroom but they have doors and you can’t open them.” Suzie said. “ Was that your plan?” she asked with a look of disappointment.

“ Well I didn't know!” I cried as I ran to check the balcony doors

They were all locked and I was so scared so I leaned on the wall and slide to the floor in shock. How will my parents know what happened to me? They are not going to know I am in the doll house. I begin to try and think of ways to let my parents know where I am when I get an idea.

“ what if the twins parents couldn't find them when they passed away?” I asked the dolls.

“what?” says carol in a sarcastic tone.

“ well I have watched some ghost shows and sometimes the ghost stay with their body.” I said. “If the girls bodies are here they may be stuck till they are buried properly.”

“ ok and where would these bodies be?” asked Suzie.

“well have all the rooms been checked?” I asked.

“ ok lets all check a room upstairs and make sure to look every where like closets and under beds.” Suzie instructed.

We all set off to a different room upstairs and checked everywhere. We even looked for an attic but it was just bedrooms and a bathroom. So we went to the first floor and begin checking the living room and kitchen. The last door we had we thought was to a closet and when we opened it we were surprised to find a basement.

“ I don't understand how this place has a basement, It was just a doll house.” I said in disbelief.

“ Does it really matter how lets go find these girls so this will be over.” said Suzie.

I flipped on the light and we began to walk down the stairs when the lights went off. We tried to turn them on but nothing happed.

“ We must be getting close.” I said. “ lets find a flashlight or something.

Carol found a flashlight and some candles so we headed back to the basement. We seen a crawl space behind the stairs of the basement and when I shined the flashlight in their we seen the two girls laying there. All the sudden their spirits appear and freak us all out and carol drops her candle. The candle landed on some clothes that caught fire. We all ran up the stairs as everything filled with smoke. In the kitchen we are all coughing when we notice the twins spirts are after us. We run to the front door but It still wont open. Cabinet doors are opening and shutting and dishes began to be flung everywhere.

“ What should we do?” They asked me with such terror on their faces.

Then books and statues started being flung towards us as the twins appear in the living room door way looking at us.

“ Run!” I screamed as we headed up the stairs to the second floor and into one of the bedrooms. I am think about what to do next when the twins burst through the door and this time they are on fire and burning everything in their path.

“ where gonna die!” screamed Carol as I reach for the balcony doors. This time they open and I am shocked.

“ Their bodies must actually be burning and they are getting weak, lets jump.” I tell the girls as I lead them to the edge. I let them jump first and just as I am about to jump the spirits rush toward me and I fall. I end up being normal size again and in my living room.

My parents are sitting there watching tv as I look around my dolls are just laying there still their normal size and not alive. Then I notice that the doll house is on fire though.

“ The doll house is on fire.” I said to my parents but they didn't respond to me. As I look back at the doll house that entire side of my house is on fire.

“ Common we will die” I screamed at my parents but they didn't budge.

“ You will pay for burning our house.” the spirts say as it leaves the doll house and proceeds to grow rapidly bigger then me.

I want to run but I can not move. The spirit gets closer and closer until I lean back so far I fall backwards and I wake up in a crying panic.

I had fallen asleep playing Barbie's. I woke up looking at the front of the doll house, which was back to normal.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.