Horror logo

A Girl's nightmare

What a nightmare!

By Peggy Sue Danielle RushPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
A Girl's nightmare
Photo by m wrona on Unsplash

“It’s time for bed Sarah” my mom said as she walked back into the living room. She picked up the TV controller so I leaned in to give her a kiss goodnight.

“I love you” she said as she returned my kiss and off to bed I went.

As I lay in my bed watching TV, my mind wondered about what tomorrow would be like and I replayed parts of my day today. I am 7 years old and I live a normal life. We are not rich but my parents have been able to get me whatever I asked for. I am the only child, so my parents have been able to spoil me.

I normally spend my days at school and playing with friends. We enjoy playing outside or riding bikes around the neighborhood. As I was thinking about the day I had, I remembered my life lesson I learned. I was riding bikes with friends and got a tough lesson on watching where you are going. I had looked back at my friends and ran right into one of the neighbor's mailbox and fell off my bike.

Luckily, I was fine just a nice bruise on my forehead and a little fear to ride the bike again. I laughed at myself thinking about it now but I was done riding bikes for the day. After that I just watched some movies at home for the rest of the day.

My daily recap must have bored me because I had fallen asleep and woke to a commotion in my living room. I got up to see what was going on. When I got to the living room, I realized other family members where at our house.

“what's going on” I asked my mother as I walked over to her. She looked worried and dad was on the phone.

“Just stay in the house sweetie, it's not safe outside right now.

What does she mean it is not safe outside? All the adults are standing in the living room talking while a few of them were on the phone in the dining room. I walked over to Pete's cage and got him out. Pete is our bird, and he is a pretty cockatiel. He lets me get him out and pet his beak and wings. So, I usually watch a little tv when I get up on weekends and I play with the bird.

Just as I was about to sit down, I here yelling outside and the adults rush to the door and windows. Just as my aunt opens the front door and yells, “hurry in here” as four people and a child run in, and she slams and locks the door behind them.

As I look at these people, I notice one is Ben from school and his mother. The adults start talking as I wave ben over to sit.

“What’s going on out there” I asked Ben as he takes a seat beside me.

He has a terrified look on his face as he begins to tell me. “I really don’t know,” he says and then pauses for a moment. “This morning my dad let the dogs out and they didn't come back when he called. He walked out in the back yard to get them but something snatched him up. He was just gone.

This took me a moment to consider, because I had so many questions, but I did not know if I should ask. Before I could say anything else, he began to speak again. “The cops said to get somewhere safe with other people, but none of our family members have been home. I guess when my mom seen several cars here, this is where she decided to stop.”

This time I could not control my curiosity, “what do you mean the cops wouldn’t come to your house to figure out what happened?”

“They said hundreds of people have come up missing just like my dad, and until they have an idea of what they are dealing with they don’t know how to fight it.”

Fight it? I thought, what does he mean fight it? Then before I could say anything else, we heard yelling outside and this time I jumped up to the window to see what was going on with the adults.

One of our neighbor ladies was running down the street. My aunt and my dad walked out on the porch to tell the lady to come here.

“Get back in the house.” my mom yells at them with tears running down her face.

She must know what happened to Bens dad after speaking with his mother and she knows more that I have not heard yet. Just as I look away from mom to look back out the window a big black blur comes out of the sky and scoops up the lady right out of our front yard.

“Hurry, hurry, hurry!” mom says as she waves my father and aunt back into the house.

“what in the hell was that?” dad says as he slams and locks the door behind him.

“She almost made it.’ my aunt cries as she comes and sits in the living room.

“I'm scared,” I cried as I ran to my mom and dad. They held me for a moment. Then sat me down and said, “just stay in the house and don’t unlock the doors.”

Ben seemed to still be in shock he had not moved from the couch since he got here. I had calmed down some so I sat and begin to watch cartoons in the living room. I kept checking to see what the adults were doing as they were gathered in the dining room talking about what we were going to do. I kept trying to listen, but I could not make out what they were saying, and I could not read lips.

I glanced at Ben who was now petting the bird that I forgot to put up in all the commotion. I went back to watching cartoons and glancing at the adults every now and then. I noticed my dad get up and walk to the front door and he looked at me, "Its ok my coworkers are coming.” Feeling better I begin watching cartoons again. I hear the door open and some guys start talking so I watched them all head to the dining room. I looked over at Ben who had started watching cartoons and I noticed he no longer had Pete.

“where did Pete go?” I asked Ben.

“I don’t know” he said as he got up and started looking with me.

I checked the kitchen and the bathroom as Ben was checking around the furniture in the living room. He was nowhere to be found. So, I head to the dining room to ask the adults.

“Have any of you seen Pete?” I asked as they start to look around for him.

“Why is the front door open” one of dad's coworkers said as they jumped up to go close the door I ran to the window.

“Bens out there!” I screamed as they begin to shut the door.

“NOOOO!” his mom yells as she runs for the door her and my dad starts to run for Ben just as something swoops down and grabs him.

My dad stops and grabs his mother and must pick her up and carry her back in the house to safety because she just fell. She just would not move anymore.

They bring her in the house, and she is crying frantically. They all seem really shook up and so am I. I can not believe Ben went out there after Pete. I noticed that is what he was after because once that thing took ben, I could see Pete in the yard. I just sat on the couch staring at the tv because I am so scared and confused now.

Then my dad jumps up from the dining room table talking about not being able to sit here and do nothing. He comes into the living room and moves a book on the bookshelf. The bookshelf begins to move and reveal a stairway to the basement. Then I see a door leading outside and I never knew about any of this. It was like our house had completely changed.

Dad goes down the stairs where there is a big glass door leading outside. To the right of the door must have been a room or something because he turned right at the end of the steps. A few moments later he comes back with some guns. I sit and watch as the men and my dad talk. They create a plan to attract this thing outside and kill it.

From what I was getting some of them are going to use the front door and some how attract this thing outside. It sounded like my dad was going to go down the stairs and wait till the thing was in his sights and kill it.

Three or four men went to the front door as all the women were looking out the window to see. I noticed my dad head down the stairs, so I stood at the top of the stairs watching him. He stood by the big glass doors which were right at the end of the stairs. I heard them talking behind me about the creature being out there. My dad begins to slide open the door and point his gun out the window. He takes a few steps outside to get a better shot. As he takes aim and shoots another thing picked him up and took off.

“They got dad” I screamed as I ran down the stairs towards the door.

“Don't go out there” mom screams as I can hear her running towards the stairs after me.

I must shut the door, so I continue down the stairs. Just as I reach the door, I hear wings flapping in the wind. They sound so close that it causes me look down as the air hit my face and heard a loud thud. I had closed my eyes but from the sound I knew one of those creatures were right in front of me.

Just as I begin to look up and I am about to see what has been terrorizing us...… I wake up.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.