Horror logo

The Doldrums

Part 1

By Alder StraussPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

For many decades Harbor Masters, seafarers and fishermen alike have handed down a legend that is as chilling as it is compelling. It is that of the strange, eerie sightings of a ship that many have thought to be that of the Stella Del Mattino, a ship rumored to have sailed over the horizon and off the face of earth altogether. Now I, a retired Captain in a small fishing town on the West Coast of Italy, have inherited the legend. But in a most unusual way.

I had recently moved from the town I once intended to grow old in, but having reached the age of retirement I felt an obligation to let my bones rest in another nearby village. Having but foot as means of travel I had my things sent for and received them not a week later; with an unexpected surprise found amongst them. Upon shelving my library, which encompassed all things nautical, both in method and lore, I discovered a book foreign to my collection. It was the log of a ship’s captain, not of which documented my career, but that of one I had never heard of before today. It was that of one Captain Jacques Gallo.

June the 5th, 1792

Eight o’clock

We set off from Port Cirra, Sicily. Our destination is the Azores. Our task is delivering a shipment of alcohol, tobacco, blankets, clothing, and grain. The crew is thirty in all, including myself, my wife, and our daughter. The weather is pleasant and the wind is fair, allowing us plenty of time to make the two-week journey should it maintain. Our path is set for us to cross the Mediterranean and arrive at the Azores in just time.

~ Captain Jacques Gallo

June the 6th, 1792

Nine o’clock.

The weather is still cooperative as well is the wind. If the wind stays as it is, we shall maintain our speed of twelve knots and reach the Strait of Gibraltar by week’s end. As we have ample supply of both food and water, I am sure that we brought more than we needed for the journey. Spirits are high among my crew and, as I see them work, I can tell they’re thankful to be on such a vessel as this. I must report that I am truly blessed with such fine seafarers as these, whom I have been assigned. And by the Almighty’s good graces, I should have but little concern among them and the fulfillment of their duties.

~ Captain Jacques Gallo

June the 9th , 1792

Eleven o’clock

We are in process of passing through the Strait of Gibraltar. The weather has changed but little as the wind has died down. In the distance, Morocco is seen portside, as Spain is on starboard. Upon examining both through my telescope, there is a great many fish being hoisted up by Spaniard fishermen in their nets. Morocco, however, seems to be out of my telescopes reach beyond a dark spit of bay whose activities I cannot see. It’s enough to ease the curiosity of my wife Felicia, and even my daughter Elise, who is now taking her first steps. You have to watch her, for at times members of my crew bring her back to me when she eludes my eye for even a second and wanders out of my quarters. Still, I can say that she seems to be enjoying the open sea even more than I.

~ Captain Jacques Gallo

June the 11th , 1792

Ten o’clock

We are a couple of days past the Strait of Gibraltar and land has passed our sight. It should be but ten days more until we reach our destination. The wind has once again picked up, ensuring our timely arrival. The skies are clear, save for scattered wisps of white cirrus clouds by day and the nights are blanketed in stars with the north so big and full I’ve almost confused it for the moon. It is certainly a true seafarer’s fortune from the makings of our Lord.

~Captain Jacques Gallo

June the 13th , 1792

Fourteen o’clock

We are now more than halfway to our destination and the wind as died down from a strong, sail worthy gust to little more than a breath. It seemed to have happened so suddenly, too. The sea, as well, has changed. It was gone from steady, rhythmic waves to but ripples that run out from the center of the ship, just as they would a pebble that’s dropped into a pond. My crew has expressed startling concern for such a strange occurrence as is this, but in my faith, my superstitions are waned. I am doing my best to bestow upon them the same serenity our Lord has bestowed upon me.

~ Captain Jacques Gallo

June the 14th , 1792

Twelve o’clock

The state of the sky and sea has not changed and, though I keep my faith and our Lord by my side, I am too starting to join them in sharing in the superstition of what surrounds us. Before today it has always been known in my mind and, by my experience, as something of an old sailor’s myth. Something that would make others fear that a curse had been placed upon the sea and sky itself. My crew had been formulating many remedies to this perceived blight upon our vessel. Many have sought my council already, pleading with me to pray with them and for them so that the Lord in all his grace and mercy could deliver us from what they called the Doldrums.

Therefore, I prayed with and for them. And in this entry I pray that the Lord above send us wind and waves.

~ Captain Jacques Gallo

June the 15th , 1792

Hour Unknown

Still no wind. Still no waves.

I cannot determine the time or day of this entry or for any other activity upon this vessel. All watches have stopped working. I can only assume it sometime in the early night, as it is dark now. Though I cannot provide an exact time based on the sky, it would not matter if I could. There are no stars visible on this clear night. Not even the moon or the North Star are visible. The compass is without direction as it seems possessed in its spinning, unable to isolate any location.

Though there is food, as well as hope, in great supply, there is also the dread that our state is perpetual and without end. Despite a slight fear of this also, I do my best to keep my crew and my family in hopes that the Lord above will see us through.

~ Captain Jacques Gallo

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.