Horror logo

The Damned Ones

It's hard to live a life that's never safe...

By SnowlafPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

The Damned Ones-

The moon was brightly lit. It beamed down on the woods, draping it in a blueish-white light. It was calming to be out again. I missed the cold air brushing against my cheeks. The calming sound of trees shaking together, exchanging untold secrets, always made a smile bloom on my lips.

My head rolled back, taking in the world around me. Here, I don't have to act like my life is on the line. Most of the time, at least. Near the river, I can sit back and let nature consume me. Steady breaths left my lips. The danger that lived deeper in the woods was far from my mind. I let my body rest, letting my muscles uncoil.

Everything felt peaceful. People weren't panicking. Nobody was crying over a dead body. I wasn't flinching at every noise that crept into my ear. Bloodcraved eyes weren't stalking my every move. Stubborn idiots weren't hovering over my shoulder.

I was alone.

In other circumstances, I would be in danger. Cosmos Woods were crawling with starved vampires. Sure, there were a lot of humans that could be spared, but that wasn't fair. Just because the mortals lacked any special abilities, they were aimed as easy prey. But soon, they followed us wolves and hid in packs near Flame River.

When the uprising of vampires began, my kind hid near Flame River. Oddly, vampire skin scorched at the contact of the flowing water. It seemed to work like the sun: burning their flesh until they darted away. But, somehow, they ended up finding a hack to dodge daylight and roam during the day.

My lips curled into a frown as I thought about it. There was no reasonable explanation. Many creatures have tried finding out the answer, but a conclusion never came before their death. It was frustrating, to say the least.

The snapping of a twig released me from my thoughts. My head spun. Butterflies bombarded my stomach, choking my lungs. Breathing seemed impossible. The rapid beating of my heart pulsated in my ears. My eyes swarmed the scene in front of me, searching for the imposter amongst the mist.

I slowly sat up, my back climbing the tree behind me. The hair on the back of my neck stood up. Goosebumps prickled my bare arms. My head was blaring alarms. I mentally cursed at myself, pissed that I dared to leave the pack on my own.

I eased a breath from my lips. I needed to stop my heart from racing. Nothing good was going to happen if I attracted more attention with my lurching pulse.

Of course, I didn't dare close my eyes. Instead, I whispered reassuring words under my breath. My mind narrowed on the wind. It howled through the night, pressing its cold breath on my face. The sweet notes from nearby crickets performed a beautiful harmony, lifting my spirits. Lastly, I focused on the glowing moon. It was on the brisk of being full. Its rays shined through the trees, inching its way towards my feet.

The feeling of determination overcame me. There was no way that I was gonna shift in front of whatever hid in the dark. Me revealing that I was a werewolf was a huge no-no. Werewolves were rare to find. Our species were more endangered than the human race. Plus, our venom can be used as an advantage against other mythical creatures, including vampires.

My eyes darted towards the rushing waters. If it was a vampire hiding behind the thick trunks of the trees, then they knew my first move would be the waters. It was the most obvious choice.

I also had to avoid letting my emotions overcrowd me. If I slipped for a second, I could risk the chance of exposing my wolf. And then, it would be game over.

No matter what, I had to stay calm. That was my goal. Stay calm, move towards the river, avoid any contact with the bloodsucker. I would also have to avoid the moonlight. One step in it, and I could reveal the markings of a werewolf, and I'd transition into a halfling.

BUT, by the time I got in the water, it wouldn't really matter, would it? No, I thought. I just knew that I wouldn't be able to show my face in this part of the woods ever again.

I frowned. It was a risk I would have to take. There was no other option I could take.

My body still rested against the tree. I allowed my eyes to dance around the forest one last time. I took in the dewy air, prepared to take off into the waters. My body positioned itself, angling it towards the woods. The firm edges of the bark tickled the tips of my fingers for the last time. A small sigh released itself from my lungs. I savored my secret spot for the last time. My heavy eyes fixated on the dark woods. Shivers crawled up my spine, spreading adrenaline through my veins.

I said my quiet goodbyes and tracked towards the woods. My legs sprinted, running as fast as they could. The sound of footsteps approaching me caused my heart to skip a beat. I faltered a bit, tipping more to my left than I should have. My feet scrambled to get it together as they shifted a sharp right. I slid against the grass, almost losing balance (once again).

An amused chuckle erupted. It was dark and low with a husky tone laced in its voice. I ignored it, focusing on reaching the river. I was no more than a few feet away from safety. But everything spun out of control when someone stood in front of me. They came out of nowhere.

It stood right in front of the moon rays, blocking me from the river. It was too late for me to stop, turn back, and rethink a quick plan. I watched as time seemed to move in slow motion. Its foot stuck out in my path, colliding with my feet. A yelp flourished from my mouth. My heart was pounding, and fright took over.

I felt the moon wash over me. The prints of my wolf twirled around my arm, marking the truth on my skin. The human ears vanished and were replaced with wolf ears. My vision blurred as my eyes morphed into an entirely different pupil slit. I could feel my hair become more matted as it extended farther down my back until it reached my wolf tail.

I let out a groan. My head throbbed as sharp pains stabbed my body. Transitions were never easy. They never felt great. It was always excruciatingly painful. Non-stop chills shot down my spine. Goosebumps imprinted themselves along my skin.

"Look what we have here," the voice boomed. "A little were-pup."

I snarled, trying to get up. Sadly, it was of no use. I wasn't able to move. There was no way I could get up after that.

My brows pinched together. Terror engulfed me. Realization slapped me in the face.

I've been caught. I've been caught, and I will never be free again...

fiction
1

About the Creator

Snowlaf

Hey, lovelies!

Stay SAFE, be YOU, and live your BEST life<33

Stop Asian hate<33

Never stop believing in yourself<33

YOU are strong, beautiful, and brave<33

Never forget your selfworth<33

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.