Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Chase

My Teenage Nightmare

By Dana CrandellPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
The Chase
Photo by Zanyar Ibrahim on Unsplash

My chest heaves, lungs moving air that feels like shards of glass. My head spins wildly and my legs threaten to buckle, leaving me in a heap on the dark sidewalk to nowhere. I don't dare stop. I can't risk turning around. I know it's gaining on me.

I'm in the dream again; the same, unending chase that's plagued my nights for months. I don't know what I'm running from, nor can I tell where I'm going. I only know the path ahead of me goes on into darkness, and if whatever is behind me catches up, I'm doomed. I can't hear it. I can't smell it. I simply know it's there - and I can't outrun it.

It's more than shadow, less than real, and very, very dangerous.

I'm somehow bogged down. The emptiness around me moves by in slow motion, though there's nothing discernible for reference. The only thing visible is the dark section of sidewalk below my feet, continuously moving behind me and never ending.

The dream doesn't come every night, but when it does, there is never, ever any escape. No other route to take, no help available. The only choice is to continue to run into the blackness ahead.

It never ends. I simply wake up suddenly, bathed in sweat, heart pumping wildly. Still in darkness, wondering for the first few minutes if I'm still dreaming. There will be no further sleep on the nights I have the dream.

I try frantically to make my legs move faster. It's never worked before and it doesn't work now. This thing is going to catch me, sooner or later. When it does, I'll be gone, but I don't know how or why. I just know it won't be pretty.

I want to turn and see it, just once, but I know the consequences. The half-step I'll lose will be enough for it to overtake me. I don't have the energy to call out, and I know there's no one else in the void to hear me. So, I run.

There's something different about tonight, though. Tonight, I've pushed myself much too far, but the solace of wakefulness seems hopelessly out of reach. I'm locked in this nightmare with no way out.

For the first time, the godawful stench of my pursuer reaches my nostrils. Gagging, I'm losing more ground. I can feel the vibrations of its heavy footfalls and hear each thud. I can feel myself resigning to my inevitable end.

At least it will finally be over.

As that thought runs through my mind, a blast of hot, foul breath sears the nape of my neck. It's just enough to spur me into action. The kind of action that I can only take here, in the dream. In the environment I've created, where I make the rules!

I'm suddenly transformed, though into what, I can't say. I'm crouching. Running in a completely unnatural position, but not losing ground. Unfortunately, I'm not gaining, either, yet. My arms extend from my shoulders, forward and downward, fingers curling, digging into the sidewalk ahead. Muscles taut, my elbows bend and pull, propelling me forward. The surrounding darkness moves by faster.

Pulling again and again, I feel a breeze against my face. I can sense the thing chasing me falling behind. The footfalls fade and gradually disappear.

A light appears ahead. As I propel myself toward it, I wake, knowing that I'm leaving this dream behind forever.

***

Author's Note: This childish, recurring dream really did plague my nights for almost a year as a young teenager. What's more, it actually resolved itself one night, just as I've written. I have no explanations to offer, other than the mysterious workings of a growing boy's mind.

Thanks for reading! Please click the heart if you enjoyed the story, and hit "Subscribe" if you'd like to read more.

psychologicalsupernaturalmonster

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Caroline Craven4 days ago

    So real. Dreams like this are so terrifying and follow you throughout the day. Great writing.

  • Mark Gagnon14 days ago

    It's fascinating the things a mind can conjure up from nothing. Even more interesting because it's a true story.

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    It was all of the insecurities and doubts of teenage life. Once you found your niche the dreams resolve themselves. Just a birdseye view. Mine ended on a a long lonely road. Last dream telling me it would me a long lonely road indeed. Yet we overcome.

  • Perhaps it was the day you finally learned about deodorant? Kidding, kidding. (Every once teen boy should get this joke, though...) Well-wrought! I am certain that dreams are complex resolution machines, from my own experience. So long as the complex is resolved, we needn't look too deep into the why... though, of course, we deep thinkers just want to know!

  • Katarzyna Popiel14 days ago

    Had similar dreams as a child, only the monster kept catching me in the end. Then I realised that I could imagine a ravine and jump into it to wake up. And when I grew up, I stopped and faced my monsters. Turned out they only wanted a hug.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Wow, you changed the dream!! Amazing, thanks for the note and sharing g❣️❣️

  • I'm just so glad it stopped. Recurring dreams are truly very exhausting. Loved your entry for this challenge!

  • Caroline Jane15 days ago

    A true story! Fascinating insight into your younger self brain. How odd that the dream went away like it did. Our minds are so strange. Very compelling read.

  • L.C. Schäfer15 days ago

    Intense! Love it. Got that real unreal dream feel.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)15 days ago

    Oh!! The twist that this is true is so intriguing!! But this does leave me to wonder what your young mind was trying to process!! 🤔 Very interesting!! Great work Dana!!

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    Love that this is true. I mean, there are some obvious interpretations about growth in the context of transition from childhood to adulthood, but I don't set too much store interpreting dreams personally.

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    Spectacular storytelling in the realm of dreamscapes! Like Cathy, I found it intriguing that it was an authentic experience of yours!

  • JBaz15 days ago

    'In the environment I've created, where I make the rules!' This is what I would tell my children. I would say you have the ability to control a dream. I like your explanation at the end, a real dream that suddenly stops plaguing you.

  • Where we can't run from what is coming is a true nightmare, but I am glad this had a resolution

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    That was fascinating, especially that it is a "real" and not just fiction for the story.

Dana CrandellWritten by Dana Crandell

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.