Horror logo

The Black Phone

Scott Derrickson Does It Again

By Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Just the other week I went to see The Black Phone with a friend. I was very excited for the film, between the trailers and my love for Ethan Hawke I was sold and stoked. The twisted ending that was in fact a shocker, along with the reviews about it online were a nice addition to the reasons why I was very excited to see this film in theaters. I however, had anticipated way more of a horror film than what I experienced. It’s safe to say the concept alone was more terrifying than the movie. So, here’s why I think you need to see the Black Phone, even though I wouldn’t call the film horrifying.

I first wanted to start off by saying that the cast was great in this film. I totally believed everyone’s performance. I was also very engaged with everyone’s characters. Ethan Hawke as the Grabber was very creepy. The mask he wore throughout the film was chilling as well. Hawke being the menace he was portraying was very satisfying. You just never knew what he was going to do next. His acting helped the entertainment aspect of the film and ultimately kept me engaged.

The concept of the film is bone chilling… The details of the Grabber and his routine are impeccable. However, the actual movie I have to say wasn’t scary. There was not a lot of gore which is fine. There were a lot of loud jump scares which for me doesn’t compare to actual true terror. Now please correct me if I’m wrong, but the film wasn’t scary. I may be biased when it comes to that statement. My tolerance for horror is very high. However, there were screamers in the audience who fell for the typical jump scares. This made the viewing experience quite fun.

Now when it comes to the film tone wise, aesthetically, camera angles, music choice, and lighting I’m such a fan. Scott Derrickson has done it again. I have been a fan of Derrickson for years, which is why I have to praise him and the film. Once again you may find it biased but I am thrilled with his work. The tone of the film was very creepy it just never fully packed a punch when it came to the horror aspect. The writing was very good and I love that the reasoning and the why of the movie is never told or satisfied. The mysteriousness of the intentions behind the Grabber’s actions leaves you thinking. It simply became a statement piece of “just because”, with no motivation to the madness. That alone is another reason why the film was unsettling. The camera angles were neat in my opinion, I didn’t find myself leaning in or trying to see more of the film. I got to look and experience what I came for visually and camera wise. Like the camera direction and angles the lighting set the mood for the film. Also, like portrayed on the poster, the film is under the same worn, old, dark lighting and look which gives you the feel of eeriness.

Would I consider The Black Phone to others to watch in the theaters? Yes, I would just advise that the film is not as scary as the trailers make it out to seem. I would also advise to keep an open mind and really appreciate the cast and their acting along with the art of the film visually. In addition, I would love for everyone to keep supporting Scott Derrickson when it comes to his films. The Black Phone is still in theaters now. Go watch it and let me know what you think in the comments section down below.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"

After founding her production company ItsFearHerself, solely writing, producing, and directing horror films. She’s made a wave in reviewing horror films, books, and TV as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.