Horror logo

The Abandoned Cabin of Death

By : Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Abandoned Cabin of Death
Photo by Scott Jackson on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. You could see the darkened windows blackened by dust. Imaginations of the locals began swirling whether it was a ghost, paranormal activity, occult worship or squatters. You could hear the whispers saying that the candle would only come on at night to welcome one soul to the cabin. But then that person was never heard from again. Imaginations, loneliness or desperation wanting to allow them to be free from their miserable existence.

As I wandered past the lake and looked across the water at the cabin later that night I had hoped to see the candle flickering in the window. Like a beacon to my depression calling me in. As I glanced across the water I saw a dim light in the window confirming my feelings. Do I dare explore the lucid imaginations of others and go see what lay inside the abandoned cabin. Risk my existence just to never possibly be ever seen again ?

So late one night I had decided that I would walk across the lake and check out the cabin. What did I have to lose ? My miserable life in a junk small town. Curiosity had gotten to me, as I walked across the lake and gazed at the cabin the light in the cabin window became brighter with each step I took. As I moved through the branches that had begun to feel like hands scratching at my hair, body and legs. Almost as if they were begging me not to go into the cabin to turn around before it was too late.

I shook it off as my imagination and laughed but as it kept getting darker and the tree limbs, bushes scratched against me I felt my body and soul becoming darker. I didn’t have a good feeling and a voice inside my head kept saying “Run away!!! Stop going about to face your fears and die” I shook my head and laughed, how could a cabin do that to me? Impossible.

Each step in took now was in complete and utter darkness with only a flickered of light in the cabin to find my way forward. I could see the outline of the cabin now as I had made my way around the lake, this side of the dark lake which looked black near the cabin smelt like swamp water. Like literally something had crawled in and died and it was rotting. It made me feel sick as I smelt, I began to breathe through my mouth instead of nose as I walked through the dark forest with every step I took I smelt death, felt death approaching but still I decided to keep moving and avoid my thoughts.

The dark windows that reminded me of hell's gate loomed close towards me. As I neared the cabin I felt a darkness over me. I felt scared, anxious and afraid. Because the feelings overcame my body it literally stopped walking. I shook my head and forced my body and each step forward. My brain said to my body “You crazy girl you are about to die” “Or even worse”. Again, I ignored it and walked up the broken stairs which I felt dropped me straight to hell and pushed in the door.

Inside the cabin door slowly creaked. A man turned around to look at me. His face covered in what seemed to be sweat, blood and dirt. His eyes widened, not looking like he had slept for the past twenty days. He smiled a crooked grin “Congratulations on losing your soul”. Then he walked towards the backdoor as if controlled by something. As he walked out the front door I had left opened behind me slammed shut hard. I gasped and felt fear. Fear of my life, fear of pain…and more.

Now that I was alone in the cabin I walked towards the candle lit on the table . As I began to approach it the flame flickered higher and then lower until it went completely out leaving me in the dark. I sat and all of a sudden felt like crying as memories of my traumas flooded back into my head. Childhood abuse, negligence, malnourishment, pain and suffering. It swirled around inside my body, mind and soul like a relentless hurricane. I felt like I was on a roller coaster I wanted to puke but not because of the vertigo but because of the amount of pain swirling through my body. I closed my eyes to see if that would help to make it stop but it swirled harder and faster. Increasing tears that I didn’t even know were streaming down my face.

I fell to my knees in agony, 25 years of abuse, trauma and pain brought up in a moment. At that moment I silently wished I could die. I saw a dark figure swirl across the wall. A voice whispered “that’s very possible”. I gasped in my heart. I knew what it was. Again the voice whispered “Guess who I am '' In my head I thought “Demon” as the pain kept sweeping through my body, I was on my knees in tears. “Yes that’s me” the voice replied back.

As the pain swirled and intensified I could feel my body slowly adjusting from my knees to a fetal position on the floor. The tears burning my cheeks as they ran down, I could feel my body wanting to vomit soon. I knew I needed to gather what strength I could to try to get ahold of my spirit. Somehow and anyway, but how ? I took a deep breath and cleared my mind as I could feel the vomit coming up my throat quickly.

The spinning, pain and swirling began to end. My eyes opened wide and I could feel the vomit going back down my throat. I could then see not one but three black shadows swirling the walls fastly. I could feel pressure on my face, ears and forehead. Some kind of liquid began to run down my nose. I put my hand up to touch it. Red blood stained my fingers, I could feel my heart racing. Was I having a stroke ?

The black shadows slowed a bit down as if to say not yet. Tears of frustration began to run down my cheeks again. I began to see points in my life flashing before my eyes like a movie of trauma and pain that I had endured. I couldn’t stop it as I lay on the floor. Angry at myself for making it to this cabin.

I began to feel that anger rise up inside of me. This pain & trauma I was seeing. I've lived this a million times and looked at it. I stood up, images flashing quicker before my eyes. I decided to not let it control me. The dark images on the walls were flickering faster, almost screaming. Was I winning ? Or Crazy ?

They swirled harder and I felt my will kick in. Yeah let’s call it will. I felt them circle around my body and legs now as if it held me. I walked forward towards the back door. I don’t know what came over me. Blood coming out of my nose and my sight blurry from the pain. My spirit told me to fight it. I slowly saw the blackness engulf me and I could barely see. I walked forward and reached towards the doorknob. I could barely see it, because of the black shadows around me.

I heard a voice say “You can’t leave until I let you” I told it to shut the fuck up in my head. Taking a deep breath to push through this situation. I felt my sight completely leave and I focused on breathing and not feeling fear. I felt like my fear and anxiety fueled it to be stronger. I stayed calm, unfazed by what they threw at me.

In the darkness I kept walking towards the doorknob two feet in front of me. I felt my hand touch a metal object, round. I was excited. I think I made it. My head at this point was spinning in circles out of control, I was sweating and breathing heavily. Taking a deep breath, I calmed myself down. Had I done it ? I twisted the knob easily and felt a breeze enter.

I took a huge step even though my head was spinning, I felt faint and like I was dying. The air hit me and my head cleared instantly. I felt the steps beneath my feet leading me out the back of the cabin. I could feel my senses coming back. I quickly lept into a sprint, as fast as my body would take me away……just far away. From what had just happened.

Once I had gotten a good 3 miles away I had looked back to make sure nothing followed me. The cabin was nowhere in sight….I was alone in the darkness behind the cabin. Grateful to be alive but scared someone else would stumble upon the Cabin of Death.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.