Horror logo

STEPHEN KING’S HOUSE

HAUNTED IMAGES

By GARY MAZINPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
STEPHEN KING’S HOUSE (IN BANGOR MAINE)

VOCAL DOCUMENT 10-19-2020

HAUNTED IMAGES: STEPHEN KING’S HOUSE

Ok, technically this isn’t a haunted image at first glance. However, don’t let that deter you from assuming it is any less creepy. Low and behold fright fanatics, this is home of renowned Horror writer, Stephen King; in Bangor, ME. I truly am a fan of Horror, just ask anybody. Well, anybody close to me. Particularly in this case I have a long lasting infatuation with author Stephen King since I was in High School. For me, he is definitely an inspiration. After I finished High School I wanted to be a writer (still do).

Unfortunately, I hit some tribulations that prevented me from pursuing said occupation, but I won’t go too off topic. After all, who hasn’t had their share of problems?

Back on point, during the course of my years after giving college that old college try I decided to do what most people when they can’t figure out what to do. I decided to take a road trip…across North America.

At first I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go, however while I was unemployed even after graduating from NYFA with a degree in screenwriting, while the accolades were always nice it didn’t exactly land me a job.

I had been bouncing around from college to jobs and vice versa, finally I decided “Maybe I’ll take a break.” I still wanted to write, but I was clearly lacking motivation. So, I decided “Well, if I’m going to take a road trip, and want to aspire to be a writer, there’s only one place to go.”

Then and there I packed up my car, said good-bye to my Mom (Who was gracious enough to fund my excursion.) , and decided to head north to see my idol Stephen King, in his hometown of Bangor, ME.

So I drove, from my home town of Ventnor just outside of Atlantic City, NJ to see “The King”. Suffice it to say I stopped see the cities and states in the New England vicinities – Boston, Salem, Vermont, etc. Eventually, I reached my final destination; Bangor, ME. Once there, I finally got a chance to see firsthand what was perhaps considered by most to be Shang-Ri-La. I stood just outside the home of Stephen King. It was everything I had hoped and dreamt.

Naturally being one of the most prestigious Horror Novel writers ever known, his home would prove to be opulent and a reflection of his vivid imagination.

The house was imposing, and I unfortunately decided to view it from a distance, as I did not want to come off as some lunatic stalker.

However, all was not lost. To see the house up close and personal was frightening. It had a monstrous gate, which was wide open. Inviting as it may be, I chose not to go in.

On top of the gates were statues of iron gargoyles. Although they lay dormant as I viewed them during the day, to look at them you would probably think, “At night they may come alive, eager to snatch up unsuspecting victims.”

There wasa long winding parking lot adjacent to the lawn leading up to the house, for those who dare to venture past the gates.

It should come as no surprise that the house was red; the color of blood.

In various interviews they say the interior of the house is even more opulent, with all sorts of fabulous amenities.

While I did not go as far as the gates I can only imagine what lies inside. Stephen King is known for being The Master of Horror and Suspense.

All in the entire house came off as something straight out of one of his books, or a horror movie. What it must be like inside? Is it haunted? Well, this is Stephen King’s house and while it’s doubtful that the interior is covered with dust, cobwebs, sheets, creaking floorboards, rusty pipes that cough and hack when you turn on the sink only to see an unsavory brownish color and all sorts of creepy, crawly things. Odds are there’s a few….Skeletons in his closet. Maybe not just skeletons, but a Boogey Man as well.

travel
Like

About the Creator

GARY MAZIN

I'm into Comic Books, Karate, Movies and Travel graduated from NYFA with a Degree in SCREENWRITING.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.