Horror logo

Spector on Route 460 East

When natural and supernatural meet

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 5 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Figure walking in darkness

In the spring of 2005, my oldest son was in his final year at Radford University. He had his own apartment, but often came home on the weekends. He always left to return to school at about 4 or 5 PM to make sure he got enough rest for Monday. On this one Sunday however, "Jr." was running late and I asked him to stay overnight. He said if he did, he might not wake up the next morning in time to make it to his first class. It was rainy and cool and I had that mother's intuition that something bad was going to happen, but I accepted my son's decision and prayed for him.

Jr. left about 11:30 PM and I was on the living room couch, where I decided to remain until he called to say he was alright. I fell asleep and began dreaming that my son was driving on a two-lane highway with rain pouring and trees bending on the side of the road. I woke up startled and then I remembered that he always took the Interstate to and from school. When I looked at the clock and saw it was 12:30 AM on the dot, I became worried. Jr. was always back in his apartment and had called me within about 50-55 minutes. A feeling of terror came over me and I knew my son was in some type of trouble, so I began praying.

A few moments later, my phone rang and it was my son calling with an amazing story. He had not taken the Interstate as usual but was driving down route 460 East into Radford. He was about a mile from his apartment and his vehicle had stopped. So here he was, on the two lane road in the rain just like my dream. Jr. said he was trying to restart the car when he noticed what looked like a man walking towards him on the left side of the road. He told me that whatever it was, gave him a feeling of dread, and he did not believe it to be human. I can hear my son turning the key in the ignition without success as he says that this thing is dressed in all white and limping like something out of a horror movie.

My son said the thing was getting closer and he did not know what to do. I'm envisioning my adult child's car engine not turning over as something otherworldly is heading towards him, so I suggested that we pray, and we did. In a few seconds, after we both said, "Amen," I heard his vehicle start up and Jr. told me that at the same moment the apparition disappeared.

They say truth is stranger than fiction, and my son and I know for a fact it is. To have something take place that sounds exactly like a scene in a movie is surreal. My son made it to his apartment and gave me a call and he has had no other incidents like this since. We don't know for certain what he saw, or why his vehicle stalled, but we do know that if a human was walking towards him, it would not have simply vanished. I searched the Internet and never found any details of an accident on that stretch of road or of anyone saying it was haunted. My son never heard anyone at the University or his neighborhood in Radford tell any tales about that particular area. All I do know is that this is a true story and my firstborn and I both bear witness to its authenticity.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.