Horror logo

Skulls in the Hollow

They were without their crowns in the snow.

By Nicholas EfstathiouPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Skulls in the Hollow
Photo by Yann Schaub on Unsplash

We trudged through the snow toward an outpost Isaiah had established on the western edge of the village. It was from there, I learned that most trouble arrived and was thus the most dangerous position. There were always three villagers stationed at the outpost. If need be, I was informed, two could fight, and the third would either call or go for help.

As we advanced on the position, the sound of a fight reached our ears, and we hurried forward only to have a wall of snow blind us.

Even as I dropped into a crouch, I drew my pistols and waited, listening for a break in the storm.

But the snow stopped as quickly as it had started, and when I opened my eyes, I was surprised to discover that we were no longer in the grips of winter. How long we had been there, or how far forward the weather had thrown us, I do not know.

I do know that the sounds of fighting were no longer audible.

Isaiah sent Bram back to the village to check on the rest of the residents while he and I hurried on to the men I was to meet.

Little of those men remained.

We came upon three skulls, each stripped completely bare of flesh, the crowns of each cut perfectly around. As Bram came running back, I knelt down beside the remains and opened lifted one of the crowns. Within, I could see the telltale marks of a knife. Someone had scraped out the brains of the men and eaten them.

There was no way to tell how long the skulls had been sitting there, or where the killer or killers might have gotten to.

“Does it happen often?” I asked.

“Often enough,” Isaiah replied.

“Always here?”

He nodded. “What would you suggest?”

“Time to pick up stakes,” I said, getting to my feet. “Trouble comes from the west. My home is to the east. It’s time to leave.”

“Tomorrow,” Isaiah said. “We have a great deal to pack.”

“Today, if you want to live.”

Eighty-seven people were packed and ready to leave in three hours. It seems they wanted to live.

End Jan. 3, 1890

Begin Jan. 4, 1890

We came upon a trench around noon. A glance down the narrow stairs showed the length of the corridor and the cells which ran along either side. There was a foul odor to the entire structure, and I forbade anyone from following me as I descended the steps.

The first few cells were empty, but the fifth held a rifle I had not seen previously in my life. It was a curious breech loader, with brass-shells and metal jacketed rounds instead of lead. The weapon came with an olive-drab strap and perhaps a hundred bullets in a matching pouch that bore the stamp, USMC.

I slung the rifle over one shoulder and the pouch over the other and continued on my way, inspecting as I went. In some of the cells, I found the remains of animals and men, tattered clothes and broken weapons, some of which I was familiar, others which – like the rifle – were unknown to me.

Finally, I came to the iron crossbars, and I listened.

There was a snuffling sound, as of some great beast moving towards me. Yet try as I might, I couldn’t see it. Then, as I drew my pistols and cocked the hammers of the Colts, I saw a flicker of shadow. As my eyes locked onto it, the unseen creature understood that I knew it was there, and it charged.

I did not believe the iron would hold it in place. In fact, I believed it would collapse, and my fate would be the same as the others I had passed by.

Instead of retreating, I raised both pistols and fired, emptying them both. Blood exploded from the unseen beast, splattering across the walls and shooting into the air as it came down in a massive heap, invisible even in death.

I reloaded my weapons, waited for signs of any others, and then returned to Isaiah and his people.

I had loitered enough.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas Efstathiou

Hello!

Thanks for stopping by! Here's a quick bio: I live in NH, I work with Special Needs children, and I'm terrified of everything. That's why I write horror.

My wife and I have three children. Surprisingly, they all still like me.

Nick E.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.