Horror logo

Shattered Reflection

"The dark secrets behind the shattered glass"

By Theen BathushaPublished about a year ago 4 min read

First sentence: "The reflection in the mirror was not her own, and it sent a shiver down her spine."

Reflections of Deception

Mirrors have always been considered to be windows into the soul, a way to glimpse into the deepest parts of ourselves. But what if what we see is not the truth? What if the reflection we see is nothing but a distorted version of ourselves, hiding the secrets that we desperately try to keep hidden? This is the story of a woman who thought she knew herself, until one day, she looked into a mirror and saw something that shattered her perception of reality. What she discovered behind the glass would haunt her for the rest of her life. This is the story of the mirror's deception.

Emily had always been afraid of mirrors. As a child, she believed that there was another world trapped within their reflective surface. She was scared to look into them for too long, lest something might come out of the glass and take her away. But as she grew older, her fears faded away, and mirrors became nothing more than a mundane part of her everyday life. That was until one day, when she looked into a mirror and saw a reflection that was not her own. It was the beginning of a nightmare that would shatter her reality and reveal the dark secrets hidden behind the shattered glass.

  • As a child, I would spend hours exploring my grandmother's attic, sifting through the old trunks and dusty relics of a bygone era. It was a place of wonder and imagination, where every object held a story waiting to be told. But there was one thing in that attic that always gave me pause: a large, ornate mirror with a dark, foreboding presence. I never liked looking at it for too long, as if its reflection might somehow trap me in its malevolent gaze.
  • Years went by, and my visits to my grandmother's house became less frequent. But something drew me back to that mirror, like a moth to a flame. It was as if it was calling to me, beckoning me to uncover its secrets. One summer evening, I found myself back in that attic, staring once again at the mirror. But this time, something was different. The mirror seemed to pulse with an otherworldly energy, and I could feel a palpable sense of dread creeping over me.
  • I tried to turn away, but it was like I was frozen in place. And then, the mirror began to warp and contort, like a living thing. The glass seemed to liquefy and swirl, forming twisted shapes that made my skin crawl. As I watched in horror, the mirror began to speak to me, in a voice that was at once seductive and terrifying. It told me things about myself that I had never known, secrets that I had kept hidden even from myself.
  • And then, just as suddenly as it had begun, the mirror was still once more. I stumbled backwards, gasping for breath, my heart racing with fear and confusion. In the years that followed, I tried to forget about the mirror and the horrors it had shown me. But I could never quite shake the feeling that it was still out there, waiting for me, ready to ensnare me once again in its malevolent grip.
  • As I sit here now, writing this story, I can feel the mirror's presence all around me. I know that it will never truly let me go, and that its curse will follow me for the rest of my days. But perhaps, in sharing my story, I can warn others of the dangers that lurk in the shadows, waiting to ensnare the unwary in their malevolent embrace.

Inspiration sources:

"The Mirror of Matsuyama" by Lafcadio Hearn

"The Boogeyman" by Stephen King

Note:

The story is a work of fiction, but draws inspiration from various horror stories involving cursed or haunted mirrors.

The concept of a mirror as a portal to another realm or a source of malevolent power is a common trope in horror and fantasy genres.

The story aims to evoke a sense of unease and dread in the reader, warning of the dangers that lurk in the shadows.

SUMMARIZING some arising thoughts....

  • As a child, the protagonist would spend hours exploring their grandmother's attic, where they found a large, ornate mirror with a dark and foreboding presence. As time passed, they felt drawn back to the mirror, and one summer evening, while staring at it, they felt a palpable sense of dread. The mirror began to warp and contort, taking on a life of its own, and spoke to the protagonist in a seductive and terrifying voice, revealing secrets they had kept hidden even from themselves.
  • Years later, the protagonist still feels the mirror's presence and the curse it has placed on them. In sharing their story, they hope to warn others of the dangers that lurk in the shadows, waiting to ensnare the unwary in their malevolent embrace.

book reviewssupernaturalpsychologicalfiction

About the Creator

Theen Bathusha

Engineering postgraduate with a passion for exploring technology & innovation. Join me on a journey of knowledge-sharing and storytelling as we uncover the limitless possibilities of human mind. Let's embark on this wondrous voyage together

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TBWritten by Theen Bathusha

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.