Horror logo

Shadows Across the Room

Dark Shadow figure

By Saad BIN MALIKPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Strange Shadow Figure

I woke up in the middle of the night, my heart racing in my chest. The sheets were tangled around me, and I was drenched in sweat. I couldn't remember the details of the dream that had jolted me awake, but I knew that it had been enough to leave me shaken.

I sat up in bed and looked around my room, trying to shake off the feeling of unease that had settled in my stomach. Everything seemed normal - my dresser, my bookshelf, my desk - but there was something off about the way the shadows fell across the room.

As I stood up and walked to the window, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was watching me. The moon was high in the sky, casting an eerie glow over everything outside. I looked out into the street and saw a figure standing under the streetlamp across from my house.

It was too dark to make out any details, but there was something about the way the figure was standing that made me feel uneasy. It was like he was waiting for something, watching me. I tried to convince myself that it was just my imagination, that I was being paranoid, but the feeling persisted.

I walked back to my bed and sat down, my heart pounding in my chest. I tried to calm myself down by focusing on my breathing, but the sense of unease only grew stronger. That's when I heard it - a soft scratching sound, coming from the direction of my door.

I froze, listening intently. The sound was faint, but it was unmistakable. Someone was trying to pick the lock on my door. I stood up and walked towards the door, my heart racing faster than ever. I could feel the hairs on the back of my neck standing up.

As I reached for the doorknob, I realized that it was already unlocked. Had I forgotten to lock it before I went to bed? The thought made me feel even more vulnerable, more exposed.

I turned the doorknob and slowly pushed the door open. At first, I saw nothing but darkness. But as my eyes adjusted to the dim light, I saw a figure standing in the shadows of the hallway.

He was dressed all in black, his face hidden in the shadows of his hood. He didn't move or say anything. He just stood there, watching me with an intensity that sent shivers down my spine.

I tried to scream, but no sound came out. My body was frozen in terror. It was like my mind was screaming to run, to get away, but my body refused to obey.

Suddenly, the figure started moving towards me. His steps were slow and deliberate, but each one felt like a hammer blow to my chest. I stumbled backwards, tripping over something on the floor.

As I hit the ground, I heard the figure start running towards me. I scrambled backwards, trying to get away. I could feel his breath on my neck, his hands closing in around me.

And then, just as suddenly as it had started, it was over. The figure disappeared into the shadows, leaving me alone in the darkness.

I sat there, trembling, trying to make sense of what had just happened. I didn't know who the figure was, or why he had come to my house. All I knew was that I was never going to forget that feeling of terror and helplessness, and that I was never going to be able to shake the feeling that he was still out there, waiting for me to let my guard down.

vintageurban legendsupernaturalmonster
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.