Horror logo

Rosco Higgins Paranormal Detective

Case File #3 : The Circus Comes To Town

By ChronoPastaPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
Like

Hello everyone, Rosco here again. So The Therapist said I should stay with the course of action of jotting down here in my journal. Or in my case telling all you lovely folks about my life. Apparently I have made some big improvements. I’m glad to continue the stories for you all but on one condition. Stop leaving your panties on my doorstep. I don’t know how you got my address and no you can’t have them back.

This case was worked on by accident. I was on vacation, or paid suspension if that’s what you would like to call it. Apparently HQ wasn’t very happy when Deputy Rest In Piece had been devoured by Eleanor. According to them, my tactics are less than desirable. First of all you ass hats, I called for back up. You were the ones that dropped the ball on that one. Second. The “perishables” that I swiped from the labs were a gift. Only saving grace I had from that case was that I was able to convince HQ that Eleanor and her mother could be of some assistance chasing down Vlad.

Honestly, this case of wrong place right time might have prevented my termination from the agency.

It was only a few days into my vacation when I heard the circus was coming into town. I haven't been to one since I was a kid. I decided to go indulge for once in my damn life. Get some popcorn and some candy and check out the trapeze and clowns. Whats not to love. Well...you’ll find out soon enough.

The days recently have been kind of a blur as I still had vampire venom flowing through me. It’s like having a hangover while going through withdrawals at the same time. To be both sick and starving at the same time is terrible. Luckily it generally wears off by late morning. No, I haven’t fed yet. The urge to had died off a day or two after the incident.

When I first stepped into the big tent, the smell of popcorn and cotton candy punched me in the face like I was in a prize fight with Mike Tyson and I was losing. It was immediately strong. Of course my fat ass went and got some before the show started. Of course the vendor was a goofy looking clown with blue and white face paint with the expression of pure happiness across its face. Never made a sound just mimed everything with smooth gestures. It was a bit unsettling.

I took my treats up to the top of the bleachers and waited for the show to begin. The lights cut out and then BAM! Instant music and clowns racing into the center of the ring leaders circle. They danced and played, running around wildly getting everyone excited for the show. Music rang out like it was an orchestra. The trapeze artists flew across the sky on wires. Then smoke filled the tent. And the lights cut out again.

A single spot light shined into the center on a chunky man with a coat and top hat. He looked like Danny Devito from that Big Fish movie. I honestly thought it was him for a second. The show started with a monologue from the ring leader. Apparently this is a story based circus. The narrative was that a little boy ran away from home to join the circus. As he was speaking, a group of clowns came in acting out the story. They had to pick a child from the audience to play the kid. The child that was picked was some scruffy looking boy resembling Linus from Peanuts. He couldn’t have be more than 9 years old.

They introduced the kid through what I assumed is interpretive dance. Elegant clowns danced around the kid as the ring leader continued the story. I wasn’t paying too much attention to the story. I kept my eyes peeled on the kid. He didn’t seem right, he seemed scared. As the clowns danced around him he would wince and flinch like he was going to get attacked. If I didn’t know any better id say those were signs of distress. Detective instincts kicked in but before I could leap down for the rescue a boom of smoke came out of nowhere and the child vanished. Some fuckery is happening here I just know it. I’m supposed to be on vacation. I don’t have any of my equipment with me besides my knuckle duster, I take it everywhere. I decide to continue watching the show. I notice on the bottom row that the clowns secretly took the parents with them. Perhaps to find their kid.

The Trapeze artists moved about fluently and almost in a hypnotizing way. One swayed like a pendulum while the others, one on each side twirled almost in place. It was beautifully done but I know hypnotism when I see it and these bastards are doing it on a large scale. The ringmaster is still down below doing his show narrating thing. I’m kinda glad I haven’t been paying him much attention. I looked over the crowed and see everyone just foaming out of the mouth and their eyes are glassed over.

I beat feet to the back of the bleachers to remain unseen. Something is going on and to top it all off there’s a child missing along with his parents now. Fuck me, suspension or not I need to figure this out. I stayed under the bleachers until the show was over. Everyone seemed to file out of the big top systematically. Nothing alike a big crowed after a long event. It was perfectly synced how they would file. Almost like a zipper closing. All of them had their children though. So are they targeting the kids? Fuck!

The lights clicked off, it was my chance to move. I moved carefully to the back side of the tent. There was a commotion, a few of the clowns were arguing. It wasn’t in English, or any other human language. Fuck, is this going to be a Killer Clowns From Outer Space type of thing. I use my car keys to poke a hole in the tent to get a look. I see a red and yellow faced clown seeming to strip its skin. Shedding almost. It took form of the little kid. GOD DAMN-IT! Changelings, these bastards must be integrating with the entire town. Who knows how many kids are taken. That just means there is a nest nearby.

I don’t have any help on this one. I cant trust anyone and calling into HQ will only cause more of an uproar as I’m not supposed to be conducting any official business. I am insanely under equipped, and my lil knuckle duster isn't gonna do a damn thing against a nest. I cant do anything without knowing where the nest is anyways. I might as well pull recon and get Intel on these chameleon fucks.

The Clown boy thing took off. Assumption is that he is joining his new family. I might as well do my best to tale him and get Intel. Fucking up one is much easier than attempting to die against hundreds. Luck would have it that I still have vamp blood flowing through me so I can still move fast and have sub-par strength. Its a considerable leg up than being normal.

I head my way as quietly as possible to the parking lot. Gotta get to my car, if they see it at all they will know there’s a straggler and I’m not keen at getting caught at this point. I made my way to the bushes just outside the tent and lets just say my luck ran dry. My car was surrounded by a handful of the clowns. FUCK! Well I guess I’m on foot they may have my car right now but they sure as shit aint getting me. I book it to the woods. Its my only shot to GTFO as you kids would say.

As I clear the wood line I hear a few of them give chase. They cant catch up so I’m not worried but now they know someone knows so they will most likely have whoever in the town is one of them snooping around. My best bet will be to get this over quickly. No time to purchase supplies ill have to break into the hardware store and see what I can come up with. I don’t have time to get to the kid, these bastards are gonna be on their A game. The clowns are tailing me but haven’t kept pace. There’s no use in hiding. As I break through the other side of the woods I come across a main stretch of road. I can see faces of children peering at me through the windows. Not gonna lie, that spooked me a bit. Who knows how many of the towns kids have been changed? Is that the correct term? Fuck I cant remember. All I know is at that point in time I know that I’ve been spotted and it wont take long for them to know my location. I run as fast as this vamp blood will let me, all the way to the hardware store.

I waste no time on the door and just smash straight through it. The Agency can pay for the damages. I gather anything flammable and cloth and packing peanuts. Some simple supplies for homemade napalm. Some fire proof blankets and some propane bottles, piping and an ignition. Home made flamethrower. If any of you all ever come in counter with some changelings or any other thing, fire is a great way to get rid of it. The amount needed may differ by species.

I hear them coming in zounds through the street like a mob. I was definitely an unwanted guest, but fuck it. This makes it easier to determine who is good and bad right. The ones chasing me are bad. I hope. I finish getting everything together and strap myself with as much explosives as possible. Looking back, this wasn’t a bright idea. What happened next was straight out of a fucking action movie! I made my way into the street to face the hoard. The ring leader lead the clan and everyone paused. Like an old western. The only thing I could think of at that moment was Tombstone when Doc Holiday says “Ill be your Huckleberry” as the words left my mouth, it began.

I launched several Molotov's to create a perimeter to prevent them from charging in. As the last bottle opened up and ignited I launched several spike bombs clusters their way. This will dwindle their numbers quite a bit and keep em distracted. I back up down the street. To give some space. I need to lead them back to the big top. Get as many of them inside as possible and torch it and use the stragglers as a lead back to the den. I’m sure that’s where ill find all the children. How can I do it without making it obvious. Breadcrumb it.

Breadcrumb it is a term we use when we utilize signals that the baddies can follow. For this instance I will use fuel and fire. I cant move too fast or else they will know I’m leading them. I throw another Molotov and move back. Let them feel like they are gaining ground. I do this little trick utilizing everything I got besides my flamethrower all the way to the big top.

As I enter the tent I move straight towards the back and I see them all flooding in. As they think they have me surrounded I slit a hole in the back and pop out while torching it up. I got burned pretty bad and one of those little bastards grabbed a hold of my leg and tried pulling me back in. I wasn’t having none of that so I fed the sumbitches arm with fuel and torched it off of me. The entire tent went up so damn quick. I honestly thought it would have taken a bit more. All of them were engulfed in flame and all the while the flames fed into the forest.

The trees started lighting and soon enough the whole forest was engulfed. I noticed a few stragglers run off into the woods. Assuming they are going for the nest, I gave chase. As I followed I had no choice but to phone in HQ and let them know of the shit show that happened. I couldn’t contain the fire myself and I needed to focus on saving the kids.

I followed them to a cave entrance. I grabbed a burning stick and used it as a makeshift torch. Even though I have vamp blood running through my veins their eyesight only works great if there’s moonlight, their wasn’t any of that shit in the cave. I saw them head deeper so at this point I don’t need to be too quiet. I rush forward and leap onto the one closest to me. He put up a fight, kinda. The super human sub-par strength I had was enough to rip that bastards head clean off his shoulders.

His friend on the other hand came out of nowhere and jump karate what the fuck kicked me square in the face. That shit hurt and my torch went flying so it comes down to fisticuffs. Thank god I had old glory and all her shining grace. I picked myself off and moved towards the torch so I could get a better look at this fuck. It was that same clown that gave out the popcorn only this time uglier. Its face was melting off and you could see the under portion of what changelings really looked like. Its fucking disgusting.

He charged me with a ferocity of a wild animal. I dawned old glory and rammed it through the sumbitches chest. Even with vampire strength it takes a lot to punch through someone. I pulled my arm out of the guy like he was a glove and tossed him to the ground. Just as he landed I hear cries and coughs coming from the back of the cave. I rush back and notice a room full of cages. I rushed through one by one and opened them. All of the kids plus myself were starting to succumb to the smoke from the fire. Our best bet is to go to the farthest depth of the cave and cover up with the fireproof blankets I grabbed.

I get all the kids hunkered down as I call into HQ but I cant get a damn signal. The cave is filling with smoke fast and I’m sure by now the entrance is completely engulfed. One by one the children start to pass out from lack of oxygen. As the last child drops I start to get the dizziness and the faded eyesight. Everything begins to lose focus and as I black out I notice a bright white light as I collapse.

When I came to, there were agency vehicles all around and emergency staff tending to the children. My Captain came to me to get my debrief. He handed me my credentials back and told me to get back to work. Fuck that guy. I was supposed to be on vacation. All the children made it out but who knows how many of those bastards got away. I got the majority I think but no-one can say for certain.

Well friends I do appreciate you guys listening in to these stories. Keep your head up and watch your six. Until next time. Ciao’

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

ChronoPasta

I am a horror author as well as narrator for these stories on my YouTube channel www.youtube.com/Chronopassta.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.