Horror logo

Rosco Higgins Paranormal Detective

Case File #2: Eleanor is Missing

By ChronoPastaPublished 2 years ago 19 min read
Like

Rosco here again, This case happened about a week after the Oni incident. A little explanation I think is needed before I get into my part in this case. Human trafficking was taking its toll on this community. Many children had been going missing from 16 to as young as 6 year olds. The local authorities had been working these cases, even setting up traffic control points across the town. Hell you couldn’t get in or out of town without going through one of em.

My point is, is that they had security everywhere to ensure someone would be caught. Ive even been brought into the station a few times. Apparently being covered in blood is suspicious. Every endeavor ended roughly the same way. My superiors calls the station and gives them what for. Oh! I never mentioned who I worked for. Technically I cant talk about it as I had signed an N.D.A. However I can tell you that The X-Files isn't the only game out there. Okay back on track now, Where was I? Oh yeah! After my superiors contacted them one of the local officers had asked me if there was a potential of the supernatch happening to these kids. I couldn’t say for certain but if something were to come up to give me a call. I handed the young fella my business card and continued with my day.

I set up in this community as kind of an over-watch for the missing kid cases. These have been seen all over the country and this town per capita had the most cases. 17 kids in less than a month. That's abnormal for a single community, even in the case of human trafficking. This has a Fang-er Nest written all over it, but normally they’re sloppy and leave something behind. I couldn’t make sense of any of it. Even a stakeout at the local elementary didn’t pickup anything.

That's when I got the call. It wasn't H.Q like I had expected. No. it was Sheryl Rooker. Loving mother of Eleanor Rooker. She got my number, thanks to that dip shit deputy, thinking I might be able to help. Now as a grieving parent myself I understand the wanting to cover all possibilities no matter how crazy they may seem. I, being the gentleman of sorts that I am told her I would take the case pro-bono. Not that the agency had me out here anyways. But now that I have a direct line into the shit I might as well take the opportunity.

I made my way over to the Rooker residence. I was greeted by Sheryl and she had informed me that Eleanor was taken from her room upstairs in the middle of the night a few days past. She allowed me to go up there and search for anything that could possibly lead to finding her. It was obvious the police were already here. They left this place a mess. DNA and fingerprints all over the place. I had to dig deep in the room and of course asking permission before I did what I needed to do. Now before you guys start name calling and calling me an asshole for doing this. One thing you should know about Vamps. When they hunt and not for food. They leave a marking in the victims area or persons. Either a carving. Maybe a pheromone. Something to signal a group to come pick this one up. If that's the case then this is bigger than I hoped. I began tearing into the closet, checking every nook and cranny throwing everything out into the hall that didn’t belong in there. When I finished with the closet I tore into the dresser. Maybe a set of clothes had something on it. Or even something etched into the drawers. Nothing! Then. I ripped apart the bed. That's when I found it. Right under the bed was a carving of what I’m going to assume is the nests family crest. A symbol to pick this child up to make her their own.

The symbol was a shield with intricate dragons and a flag with stripes on the right and a crescent moon and star on the left. This is the family crest of Vlad Tepes, Ya know Dracula. Yeah he’s real.

We’ve been after that sumbitch for eons. About damn time we catch up to a nest of his. He fled what is now Romania back in the 1800’s and took up shop here in the states. He's been bouncing through communities ever since. This isn't a history lesson. That can be another time. That crest was the symbol I was afraid of. She had been taken, but not for food. To be turned.

I had to tell Sheryl her daughter didn’t have long. If any time at all. Of course any parent in distress doesn’t take the news lightly. Being the gentleman of sorts that I am I had to console her and give her the ole’ “Ill find your daughter if its the last thing I do” shtick. Yeah. If I could find her. This ain't no normal Fang clan I’m up against. They are keen on turning masses instead of just eating like smaller nests. They have also been known to kill their own. Hunting them down wouldn't be easy.

Informing HQ did no good. All I got was a “good luck” speech and maybe reinforcements will show up. I knew that all I could do was try to find and save Eleanor. If I was her only savior, I was going to need to get creative. When I got back to the room I was staying in I started putting together some of my “extra” components that I lifted from HQ during my last visit. Thanks for that by the way. I managed to hookup bait to trail cams and spent the good portion of the night placing them throughout town with the help of Deputy Fuckface of course. I then proceeded to have him sit with me through the night parked at the Town Hall just in case I needed to perform some less desirable acts.

As much as he didn’t want to, with the constant bitching and complaining I finally had to have a come to Jesus meeting with him. He already knew enough of whats out there. He's now accountable to help stop it. If it can be stopped. Whatever “it” is.

We spent a good portion of the night monitoring the cameras. Making sure not to disrupt the bait. Oh yeah the bait...it was just raw meat. Regardless of their cause, a Fang still gotta eat. Half of the hung bait was injected with a neutralizer. One of my own concoctions. I will not disclose the recipe. If we were going to find little Eleanor we needed to hijack one of the Fangs and get them to talk. Knowing that its the Tepes clan I’m sure my threats are nothing in compared to Vlad’s. I have to think on my feet with them, cant let them get comfortable. It will need to be an on the spot interrogation.

I had spent most of the time preparing Deputy Dumbass for what he will encounter. And if he gets his ass bit, I’ll have no choice but to put his ass down. I’d expect the same for me. Preferably painless.

Something you guys need to know about what kind of shit show we are getting ourselves into. Fangs in general are a nuisance, too damn strong and too damn fast, but the Tepes clan is that on steroids. These are an elite family and they don’t just turn anyone. Some of the most sadistic figures of history have been members of this clan. I'll let you guess. If you guessed Jack The Ripper, Ed Gein, or H. H. Holmes. Congratulations, you get a cookie. These are some of the most crafty and strategic fangs around. Our only hopes is that we catch a fresh turned and hope they talk.

We caught some video feed but it was apparent that they knew those were setups. Shit. Now they knew someone was on their ass. Good thing lady luck shined on me that night, we managed to inoculate one of them with one of our drugged bait cams. It was six blocks away so we had to act fast. No doubt there would be a search party for all the members soon. I had the deputy drive while I hoofed it. Not that he needed to know why at the time but if there were already a gang of them there by the time I made it he could drive off and lead them away. Well good thing that didn’t need to happen. Deputy Whatshisname was parked across the street when I made it to the downed vamp. We loaded him into the trunk and drove off to public pool.

Now if you ever need to get information from a fang for any reason. Using baptism as a threat is a great way to get the info you need. We hung the fang upside down over an Olympic sized pool that I had blessed with a wooden cross with the blood of the Pope. Yeah he donates blood. Great guy.

Once the Fang awoke he started spouting absurdities, as most would do in his situation. I wasn’t fazed though. The look on his face when he realized the amount of godly OH FUCK he was hovering over...man if anything were a Kodak moment. This was it. Not gonna lie, I’m pretty proud of that one. Of course he gave me all the information I wanted. He had no choice. I even made him a deal. If he could make it to the side of the pool he was free to go. I cut the sumbitches rope and watched him boil. Needless to say, he did not make it.

So now we knew the location of the girl and apparently Vlad himself asked for her. He was supposed to be on his way to town. The Fang also said that she wasn’t to be turned until his arrival. She was being saved for him. He’s not due in town for another day. That bought us some time. She was located at the Port, locked in a shipping container. Rolling patrols are day and night both Fang and human combined. The tricky sumbitches were blending in with the workers. Great way to remain unnoticed. This is where Deputy Dickhead may actually be of some use.

I had him go get a warrant due to a suspicion of illegal drugs coming in to port. That was actually true but, not my jurisdiction. While he was off doing that I was back preparing our advance on the port. Checking maps on avenues of approach and possible diversions required for such an extraction. Shock and awe wasn't going to cut it this time. We know Fangs will be there by nightfall for shift so daylight would be the best chance to infiltrate. We wont be able to extract during the daytime due to the cause of the warrant and the lack of knowing who is with who. We don’t need any loose ends.

I prepare the oh shit bag with all the standard Fang essentials. Hollow point holy water bullets for a standard issue 9mm that way we’re both covered and nothing is visually suspicious, chain-mail under shirts for bite prevention, and some tasers. Silver blades and UV flashlights. We were going for an in and out, clean operation. Non lethal to prevent the risk of next day media freak out. HQ wont be sending a clean up crew for this one.

Deputy Whatever picked me up in his squad car and we were on our way.

Once we arrived to the port and flashed the warrant we were allowed to investigate the containers and grounds, with supervision of the Port Master of course. Unaware to myself that we were being led away from the container. Then, out of the absolute blue. Deputy Dingleberry surprised me. He went off about obstruction of justice and that he needed to have all containers opened for inspection. That got the Port Master on the radio fast as hell. While he was getting them all opened for us to see I noticed in the distance that one container was being hoisted by the crane. Once I clocked the number on the side of it and we inspected a handful for show, we went on our marry way. Container number 1477.

We prepared for our advancement for nightfall and staged out a few blocks back watching to see who's coming and going from the port. I must have counted at least two dozen heads clocking in. No clue on which ones are Fang. This is going to be a bigger pain in the ass than I thought.

Once shift change was over, Deputy Whats his nuts and I sprung into action. Hugging the wall leading to the gate waiting for our opportunity to slide in. Now I know some of you still believe that Fang have some super sense of smell and hearing that they could have been alerted to us. First of all. You are correct. Second of all, I didn’t account for that. Not that I wasn't aware of the shit show. We were just out of time. We needed to be as silent as possible. So the UV lights were our way in. We fried the faces of a few Fang while entering the gate. They screamed until I plunged the silver blade into their hearts.

Minimal casualties went right out the window right then. We still utilized the silence. Making our way through several groups of Fang as we made our way to container 1477. It was placed all they way in the back, near the crane. We could see it opening as we approached. Little Eleanor ran out of there as fast as she could strait towards us. She looked fine. A little dirty but over all safe. Man, was I wrong. She ran so damn fast and latched right onto Detective Recently Deceased. Tearing through his throat like she had been starved for weeks. Right then I knew this had to have been her first meal. Completely sloppy.

Once she had him on the ground and he quit squirming she jumped up in a gaze of Oh Fuck!. Wrong one. Apparently I was the target. Just then I got knocked over the head and I blacked out.

When I come to, I was expecting Vlad to be here. NOPE! Just some Edward looking Fang that was way into those tween novels. Apparently Vlad wasn’t suppose to be there at all and she was just bait for me. These sumbitches wanted information on the organization, and according to twinkle fuck, I’ve been on their radar since I came strolling into town. Now doesn’t this beat all. All this time and all I needed to do was get busted. It does break my heart about poor Eleanor though.

Of course they attempted to beat the information out of me. Even threatening to turn me. Hell I’d be all for it. There’s a half Vamp fella that works for the organization that buts skulls left and right. Id go for the leg up any day. Well needless to say all their abuse and threats were for nothing. Except one. Eleanor. She couldn’t have been over a day turned and her blood thirst was increasing by the second. They were going to make that little girl feast on me. I couldn’t have that. Those bastards had her come into wherever the fuck we were. God! She still looked like a sweet little girl. Blonde curly hair and blue bows, the works. The worst part about it, there was nothing I could do about it.

She gave me that sweet childish smile. Like she was just given a pony for her birthday. Just before she went in for the first bite, she shot me a wink. Then she dug in. First she went for my chest. That hurt like a motherfucker. After a few seconds of her chomping she clenched onto my throat. I didn’t feel it at first, but after a few seconds a wave of extreme pain overwhelmed me and I passed out.

Obviously, I woke up from that. I was in a shallow grave. Hungry. SON OF A BITCH! She turned me. That's gotta be why she shot me that wink. I was intended to be a meal. As I crawled out of what would have been my final resting place I headed to the port. Apparently now they can smell me.

As I approached the gate I noticed the calendar on the wall of the guard shack. Its been two fucking days! I need to see if Eleanor is still here.

As I make my way back to where the deputy and I first encountered Eleanor, I was stopped by some lone Fang. He just started welcoming me to the family, saying I need to feed before the night ends to make sure it sticks. Make sure what sticks? Well apparently Vampirism is temporary unless you feed.

I had no clue. I don’t know when it will wear off, all I know is I’m growing hungrier and hungrier by the second. I had asked where everyone was. Apparently they are over at the crane. Makes sense why they were moving it away from our inspection.

I need to get to Eleanor, I made my way to the crane. I still approached with caution, most of these assholes think I’m dead. My only hope is to just waltz in and prepare for a shit show. The difference is, I’m stronger and faster this time around. I gauge my surroundings looking for anything to use as a weapon. All I managed to find was some scrap metal. Shit, as long as it has a sharp edge I don’t give a shit. I head into the base level of the crane.

There were only a handful of them. They didn’t seem threatening. I tucked the weapon into my pants and had asked where Eleanor was. All I got was a finger pointed to the top of the crane. I thanked the fang and made my way to the ladder. I was abruptly stopped. Apparently this was going to become a Game of Death situation. For those of you who catch that reference, thank you. I whipped out the piece of shit I found on the ground and went to town on these worthless fangs. The amount of power I felt at that time was terrifying.

I’m not gonna go into detail on how those poor bastards were ended. Lets just say it looked like the prom scene from Carrie. I went my marry way up the ladder. The main control room was empty, except for Eleanor. I started in on my profanities as to why the fuck was I turned and how she was dead meat. She hushed me pretty quickly with the tears in her eyes. She pleaded to me that she hates this feeling and only turned me because I was already there to help her. She needed me alive to help her. But she already fed there's no going back. All she wanted was to see her mother again. She was gonna let me do her in, no questions asked. She only wanted to see her mom one last time. I cant tell her no, last request and all.

I didn’t have to really sneak her out of there. No-one really knew what happened in the crane that night.

Before I took Eleanor to see her mother one last time I had to call Sheryl and tell her the news. Her daughter was on death row and I was her executioner. I had to give a pep talk to Eleanor, she had to fight back her hunger if I was going to allow her to see her mother. She nodded in agreement tears growing in her baby blues. Luckily my car was still parked at the spot I was staying. And I grabbed a few necessities.

During out drive she had mentioned that she knew she was meant for Vlad, didn’t know why but she didn’t like the sound of it. I kind of shrugged it off, kinda my way of saying its not her problem anymore. I shot her a smile and told her to keep her chin up. Now I’m gonna be honest here I’m having second thoughts on killing this little girl.

We pulled up the drive and asked little miss if she was ready. Before we reached the door she had asked me if I had to put her down. I teared up a little bit. She was just too damn special. Ya know. How can this little girls get to me like this. OH YEAH! She turned me! I at least had a way out. I couldn’t say anything. We reached the threshold of the doorway and Sheryl swept the door open before I could even knock. Of course tears began. Incoherent apologies between the both of them so loud I couldn’t think straight.

I kept my cool, I stifled my hunger the best I could. But Eleanor had other plans. All she said was please don’t hurt us Mr. Higgins just before she bore down onto her mothers neck. Not gonna lie. I didn’t see this coming, I panicked and tried to pry Eleanor off of her mother. Ya know for a six year old she has a pretty damn good grip. Finally she released and just looked at me while her mother was drained on the floor. She said now she doesn’t have to be apart from her mother.

GOD DAMMIT! This was too much for me. Especially after Rosco Jr. I had to get Eleanor and her mother out of there. I loaded her mothers soon to be undead corpse into my trunk and had Eleanor ride shotgun. I had to call this in to H.Q. I had managed to get them into a witness protection system under the agency under the condition that they help them get to Vlad.

The last time I saw that little girl she just smiled at me and shot me a wink.

It’s been quite a while now and I’m still feeling some side effects of being turned. I only hope that when the time comes and the agency catches up to Vlad that they don’t run out of a use for Eleanor and her mother.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

ChronoPasta

I am a horror author as well as narrator for these stories on my YouTube channel www.youtube.com/Chronopassta.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.