Horror logo

Review of 'Lovecraft Country' 1.2

Malleable Dreams

By Paul LevinsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I decided to watch Lovecraft Country 1.2 last night instead of the first night of the Republican National Convention because, come on, you know which one was the greater horror.

But Lovecraft Country nonetheless had horror a plenty, which I'll talk about in a minute or two, after I go over two of my favorite ingredients.

The music in this series is brilliantly chosen. I have to give a shout-out to "The End," because the one and only Jimmy Krondes wrote the music all those decades ago. And, I actually wrote some songs with Jimmy, too, a few years after he wrote "The End". Here's a YouTube video of one of them -- Snow Flurries (#s 38, 59, 86 on this list were also written by Jimmy Krondes and me.)

The other stand-out ingredient is the acting. I mentioned Jonathan Majors as Atticus, and Jurnee Smollett and Courtney B. Vance in other lead roles in my review of the first episode last week. The second episode gives us a good couple of scenes with Michael Kenneth Williams as Montrose, who is Atticus's father. I've never seen an actor (includes actress) from The Wire in another role who wasn't memorably excellent -- I often think that series was the best ever on television -- and it was great to see Williams aka Omar Little doing what he does again in Lovecraft Country. My only regret is that I hope Vance's character (Atticus's Uncle) didn't die.

I don't know the story (haven't read the novel), so I don't know that he did. But (and here we get to the plot) there's apparently a pretty good chance that anyone who is killed in Lovecraft Country can be brought back to life, if they were even dead in the first place, as long Atticus does what the powers that be want of him. It worked with Leti (Jurnee Smollett) in this episode. I'm still not clear exactly what's going on, but apparently a lot of what happens to people are dreams, illusion, or being under spells, which are more amenable to alteration and improvement than recalcitrant real life.

See you back here, I hope, next week.

tv review
Like

About the Creator

Paul Levinson

Novels The Silk Code & The Plot To Save Socrates; LPs Twice Upon A Rhyme & Welcome Up; nonfiction The Soft Edge & Digital McLuhan, translated into 15 languages. Best-known short story: The Chronology Protection Case; Prof, Fordham Univ.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.