Horror logo

Return To Me

"I exist only to find him once more."

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2

It was a calm, cool October night when I distinguished his obscured shadow loitering amongst the moonless, somber trees. I hesitated for a brief moment but something was calling me, luring me in. I had no resistance to the enigma encircling and rimming the eerie, reclusive proximity of his presence. I gasped, taking in a long, deep involuntary sigh. It was if the crisp autumn breeze had infiltrated by body without sanction or warrant. I shuddered as the scent of dying leaves and decomposing plant matter gained access to the most infinite depths of my soul.

Although I could not behold his face, his gaze incontestably watched and followed my every movement, exposing me like a naked secret within the nirvana of night. I was unexpectedly aroused by his mysterious fixation. I ached and burned to touch his contour and to taste his silhouette, festering with an explainable desire and yearning for the unknown.

I had heard the stories of his kind, generous creatures of the night, hiding confidentially within the umbra, silently waiting for the clueless and ignorant. Provoking an uncontrollable carnality and ungovernable pleasure of flesh to saturate their emptiness and ravishment.

I was ensnared, bound and enslaved by his very contiguity. A willing prey, offering my vitality and essence to satisfy the hunger of an immortal devourer of life, taker of souls, serpent of the dark....a vampire.

I felt no guilt or shame as I bared myself before him eagerly accepting his scrutiny. Once he was certain that I was enmeshed he stepped out from the darkness revealing his flawless radiance. I had never seen such a beautiful creature. His long raven hair danced sensually in the cool night breeze. His washed-out complexion illuminated beautifully beneath the moon. His crestfallen and dejected eyes met my understanding stare; as if he felt penitence and regret for what he was about to do.

I emboldened and encouraged him, comforting him with my warmth. His strong body was cool and steady beneath my touch. I had never wanted anything so badly, yet I knew the risk. I would never be the same, life as I knew it would cease to exist. I would change, I would become as him.

I closed my eyes as he disappeared, I felt the warm tears trickle down my blushed cheeks. Suddenly he reappeared behind me, the entire proximity around us fell silent, not even a bird dared to flutter. I trembled desperately and feverishly as he pressed his body into me. I felt his sharp teeth graze across my neck, searching for the throbbing, palpitating veins that I freely volunteered to him.

I braced myself for the pain yet there was not. I was filled with pure euphoria and exhilaration. My body fell faint and wasted, yet I implored and begged him not to stop, I conjured death by his touch. He faltered and staggered back, he disallowed my fatal request.

His crimson lips, still warm with my blood softly met mine. The scent on his breath, metallic and vinegary yet salacious and lecherous, I needed more, I needed him and the peril that was affixed. The wind blew, and he was gone, leaving me in the gloaming of night, inhabiting the eternal sorrow of what might have been.

As I leered over my shoulder I knew that I could never go back, what was is no more. I wandered in the cold, unforgiving darkness searching. Searching for resolution, for hope, for an ending. I could not have known that he would leave me like this, alone to spend infinity solitary, and unaccompanied.

I find no pleasure nor satisfaction in what I must do to survive. Concealing myself within the darkness, seeking the innocent and the weak, the unknowing and the confiding. I have watched so many alluring faces turn cold beneath my touch, without compassion and without condolence.

I exist only to find him once more, somewhere in the darkness. Though I don't even know his name, I shall spend eternity in search of my mysterious lover who stole much more than my soul on that perfect autumn night so long ago.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.