Horror logo

Retracing the Vaults

A Horror Short Story

By Atlas K RidgelyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s the dead of night dark clouds covering all light from the fireflies of the sky. The branches sticking out like the crippled dead fingers of witches all pointed in different directions. The Hospital long abandoned the screaming of the dead still echoing through the halls. From the outside, it looked busy lights flickering every few seconds, and as he stopped the windows filled with shadows almost staring at him. Jon knew the only way to help his family was in this abandoned hospital in the middle of the wood. As he stared, the shadows seemed to stop moving and stare at him. He shrugged it off as a trick of the light and kept moving. Jon hears a static echo through the hospital he made sure to study the open waiting area around him looking at the reception desk abandoned with labeled notes and papers spread across the desks around him in the lobby. As he progressed through the entrance he noticed the smell change, it was no longer sickly clean, instead, an uncomfortable stingy smell closed around him with mold and that of the undead.

He walks through the abandoned hospital studying the room numbers and the odd things they house. He slowly walked the dark halls on the lower flowers as he traveled up a few flights of stairs the lights started to be more lit now he couldn’t be past floor 3 but the numbers seemed to jump quickly. He could see the lights flicker every now and then. He climbed the next few floors skipping them knowing what he needed would have already been looted. He was there looking for the security chips. He finally makes it to the security bay the televisions were flickering to cameras one stuck on static. While he was sitting looking for the security chips the televisions went to static then faded to black. Loud screams throughout the room, as he listened he was beginning to grow scared.

“It’s here I wasn’t fast enough,” Jonathan growled as he heard it get close. He ran out of the room and quickly headed down the stairs. It was right behind him and he chose the wrong direction. He was running all the way up to the top floor. It trapped him and he was filled with shakes as he stared at it.

“You killed him!” Bellowed the thing, “You killed Ross.”

It was barely visible from his spot on the edge of the hospital. It started to sound like scratching metal on concrete as it crept closer. Jon shakily took steps further away bumping against the rail as tears came to his eyes. It pushed him closer to the edge and the last step he took ended with a fall.

I opened my eyes, I fell, I swear I fell but I’m here very much alive. I looked down at my chest, my shirt was ripped open and my skin had rough pink scars. I looked around noticing that I was in my bed and my room. I could still hear the screams and groans echo in my mind.

“I have to go back” I whispered to myself.

I got up and ran for the woods. I could only see red and hear the screams and groans. I just kept running past the barren trees to the entrance of the hospital again. I ran up the stairs on each floor racing to the top.

“I DID IT I KILLED HIM” He shouted looking for the death that fell upon him.

Finally, the creature attacked him pouncing him and when his eyes slowly shut he knew this was his end.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Atlas K Ridgely

A young Short Story author with strict on society and a need to change the way the world thinks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.