Horror logo

"Reflections of Terror: The Haunted Mirror"

"When Reality and Nightmare Converge"

By Mike LundgreenPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was as if I was staring at a stranger. I was in my bedroom, getting ready for a night out with friends when I noticed the antique mirror hanging on the wall. It had been passed down through my family for generations, but I had never paid it much attention until now.

I leaned in for a closer look and realized that the person staring back at me had piercing blue eyes, jet-black hair, and a sinister smile. I took a step back, feeling a chill run down my spine. That wasn't me in the mirror. But who was it?

As I tried to make sense of what I was seeing, I noticed that the reflection wasn't stationary. It was moving, as if the person in the mirror was trying to communicate with me. I leaned in again, my heart racing with fear.

"Who are you?" I whispered.

The reflection didn't answer, but it seemed to be growing more animated, as if it was trying to break through the glass. Suddenly, the mirror started to glow with an eerie green light, and I stumbled backward, tripping over my own feet.

When I regained my footing, I realized that something was different. The room looked the same, but there was an unsettling feeling in the air. I turned back to the mirror and gasped in horror. The reflection was gone, and in its place was a portal to another world.

I hesitated for a moment, unsure of what to do, but curiosity got the better of me. I stepped closer to the mirror and peered inside. At first, all I saw was darkness, but then shapes started to materialize. Trees, buildings, and people. But they were distorted, like a funhouse mirror.

I watched, transfixed, as the scene before me started to shift and change. The sky turned red, and the trees began to writhe and twist like living things. The people in the mirror started to scream, and their faces were contorted in agony.

I should have looked away, should have closed my eyes and pretended that I hadn't seen anything, but I couldn't tear my gaze away. It was like watching a car crash in slow motion. Horrifying, but impossible to look away.

That was the beginning of the end. The mirror had unleashed something that should never have been allowed to cross over into our world. And now, it was starting to bleed into our reality. At first, it was small things. Shadows that moved on their own, whispers in the dark. But as time passed, it got worse.

I started seeing things that shouldn't have been possible. My reflection would change when I looked in the mirror, like it was trying to mimic the person on the other side. Objects would move on their own, and I could hear voices whispering in my ear, even when I was alone.

It wasn't just me, either. People in my life were changing, becoming more aggressive, more violent. It was like something was infecting them, turning them into monsters.

I tried to get rid of the mirror, but every time I tried to throw it away, it would appear back on my wall. I even tried breaking it, but the pieces would reform, like they were made of liquid.

In the end, there was only one option left. I had to go through the mirror and face whatever lay on the other side. It was a suicide mission, but I couldn't let this horror continue. I was ready to die if it meant stopping this evil.

I stepped forward, closing my eyes, and braced myself for whatever lay ahead. But when I opened my eyes, I found myself standing in a world that was familiar, yet different. The sky was gray, and the air was thick with a foul odor. The ground was covered in a layer of ash, and the buildings were in ruins.

As I looked around, I realized that I was standing in the middle of a deserted city. The buildings were empty, and there was no sign of life anywhere. It was as if the world had been destroyed.

But then I heard a sound. It was a soft whimper, coming from one of the buildings. I approached cautiously, not knowing what to expect. When I entered, I found a small child, no more than five years old, huddled in a corner.

"What happened here?" I asked.

The child looked up at me with tear-filled eyes. "They came from the mirror," she whispered. "They took everyone. And now, they're coming for me."

I knew then that I had to find a way to stop this, to close the portal and prevent any more harm from being done. I searched the city, looking for any clue as to how to close the portal.

After hours of searching, I found what I was looking for. An ancient book, written in a language I didn't understand. But it had a picture of the mirror on the cover, and I knew that this was the key.

I returned to the mirror and opened the book. As I read the incantation, the mirror started to shake and tremble. It was fighting back, trying to prevent me from closing the portal. But I persisted, reciting the words with all my might.

Finally, with a deafening roar, the mirror shattered, and the green light that had plagued me for so long faded away. I collapsed to the ground, exhausted but relieved. It was finally over.

In the days that followed, the world slowly started to return to normal. The people in my life returned to their former selves, and the shadows stopped moving on their own. But I knew that I would never forget what I had seen, and the terror that had come with it.

I still have the scars, both physical and mental, from that experience. But I also know that I am stronger for it. I faced my fears and came out the other side. And I know that I will never take anything for granted again.

psychologicalsupernatural
1

About the Creator

Mike Lundgreen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.