Horror logo

Real-life horror stories, part 1

horror

By carleen crabtreePublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
Real-life horror stories, part 1
Photo by Nong on Unsplash

when i was in middle school my parents let me walk home from school because we lived really close by they would of course give me a ride if it was raining or freezing out but for the majority of the year i would follow the same short path home each day without incident one fall day i was walking out of school and passing the rows of buses waiting to pick up kids then i passed the carpool line with parents waiting for the kids to come out to the car most kids either walked to school or rode the bus so the carpool line was always pretty short in fact i knew which cars belonged to which families and would always wave to the parents as i walked by it was a small town and everyone tended to know everyone else that day i remember seeing a car i didn't recognize in the carpool line it was black with windows that were so tinted i couldn't tell who was driving i couldn't even tell if it was a man or a woman i shrugged it off assuming maybe it was just a family member from out of town that was picking someone up i continued walking and eventually made it off school property and onto the paved path that led to my neighborhood there weren't many cars around that day and things were pretty quiet i looked ahead and noticed that there was a black car parked a short distance ahead of me right along the path it looked a lot like the car i had seen in the carpool line but i couldn't be sure i remember thinking it was weird because it would be blocking traffic if a car came down the street for some reason i felt a little bit uncomfortable and even considered crossing to the other side of the street but the path i was on was the most efficient and i wanted to get home as fast as possible when i approached the car i looked straight ahead and pretended not to notice it quickening my pace but just as i was passing the vehicle i could hear the window roll down and a man's voice call out to me i turned to look and it was an older man who i didn't recognize he had a black hat on and a black trench coat something about him made me feel even more uneasy he told me that his name was phil and that something had happened to my dad he said that my mom had asked him to go pick me up from school and take me to the hospital and that's why he was waiting in the carpool line i immediately knew that something was off if anything had happened to my dad i knew my mom would never send someone i had never met to pick me up i had plenty of other family members that they would call first i told the man that i thought he had the wrong person and began to walk away but he persisted telling me that he was sure i was the girl he was looking for at this point i was really creeped out so i just began to walk away heading towards my house at a quick pace After hearing a door open behind me, I turned to see that the man was chasing after me. I started running as fast as I could in the hopes that the trees would hide me from him, but he was catching up quickly, so I had to throw him off. When I got to my house, I looked around but couldn't see him, so I locked the doors behind me. I told my parents about him and they filed a police report, but it has been years and they haven't found him.

slasher
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.