Horror logo

Raj: An Unrested Soul In White Wedding Suit

How Noises Of The Cemetery Were Silenced

By Eman MariumPublished 24 days ago 4 min read
1

Two years ago, my whole family decided to take a trip to our village. We left in the evening, and by the time we arrived, it was already dark. The village had no street lights, which made it feel very old-fashioned and a bit isolated.

We were there to visit my grandfather's grave, something my mom and dad had been wanting to do for a while. We also had an aunt who lived in the village, so we planned to visit her too.

When we got to the village, we didn’t go straight to the cemetery. Instead, we went to my aunt's house. We settled in, chatted, and caught up on family news. Time flew by faster than we realized. It was a warm and cozy gathering, and we enjoyed every moment of it.

Before we knew it, it was already 11 p.m. We remembered why we had come in the first place and decided it was time to go to the cemetery. At that hour, the village was pitch black because everyone goes to bed early and there are no streetlights. We had to use our phone flashlights to see where we were going.

We made our way to the cemetery. My parents started to offer prayers at my grandfather’s grave, and I stood nearby, looking around. That's when I saw it. About 20 to 30 meters away, next to a tree, I noticed a person. They were wearing a bright white suit that stood out against the darkness.

At first, I thought it might be a villager watching us. But then, the person slowly moved behind the tree and disappeared. I kept waiting for them to come back out, but they never did. A shiver ran down my spine. I didn’t want to believe it was a ghost, but I couldn’t shake the uneasy feeling.

The next day, when we got home, my mom talked to our aunt. My aunt told us that some villagers had been complaining about strange noises coming from the cemetery at night. They had heard doors shaking and other weird sounds. That made me think maybe, just maybe, what I saw was a ghost.

That night in the village kept playing over and over in my mind. I couldn’t stop thinking about the figure in the white suit. I had never believed in ghosts, but what else could explain what I saw?

A few weeks later, I talked to my aunt again. She told me more about the strange things happening in the village. People had seen shadows moving at night and heard whispers when no one was around. The cemetery seemed to be the center of these eerie events.

One story stood out. My aunt said there was a legend in the village about a man who had died in a tragic accident many years ago. He was buried in the cemetery, and some people believed his spirit couldn’t rest. They said he wore a white suit on the day he died. Hearing that sent chills down my spine.

I started to do some research about the village and its history. I found old newspaper articles about the accident. A man named Raj had died on his wedding day, wearing a white suit. His car had crashed on the way to the ceremony. The details matched the legend my aunt had told me.

The more I read, the more I felt a connection to the ghost. It was as if he was trying to communicate something. Maybe he wanted someone to know his story. I felt a strange urge to go back to the village, to see if I could find out more.

When I told my parents about my plan, they were worried. They didn’t want me to get too involved in something that could be dangerous. But I couldn’t let it go. I had to know if the ghost I saw was really Raj.

I convinced my parents to take another trip to the village. We arrived during the day this time, and I went straight to the cemetery. I found Raj’s grave. It was old and covered in weeds. I cleaned it up and placed some flowers on it.

That night, I stayed near the cemetery, waiting. I was scared but determined. Around midnight, I saw him again. The man in the white suit. He stood by the tree, looking at me. This time, I didn’t feel scared. I felt a strange sense of peace.

I don’t know if it was my imagination, but I thought I saw him smile. Then he slowly faded away. I felt like he was finally at rest.

After that night, the villagers said the strange noises stopped. The cemetery was quiet again. I don’t know if anyone will ever believe my story, but I know what I saw. And I know that sometimes, the past needs to be remembered so that it can find peace.

psychologicalsupernatural
1

About the Creator

Eman Marium

Hello, I am Eman. Writing fictional stories is my passion; however, I am a professional blogger and article writer. I've worked with prestigious tech hubs. I have 3 years of writing experience during which I've secured decent clients.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.