Horror logo

Queen Mary is Haunted

Call the Ghostbusters

By Mae McCreeryPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Queen Mary is Haunted
Photo by Bradley Pisney on Unsplash

The Queen Mary in Long Beach CA is haunted and you cannot change my mind.

I'm not a paranormal person, I'm not religious or anything like that. But I now believe in ghosts, because of this damned boat.

I came here about ten years ago with my dad and we went on the ghost tour through the boiler room. Lots of Freddy Kruger vibes but honestly, it didn't really scare me. It was a lot of fun though, but my dad always loved to find the flaws in things and we spent the tour pointing out cameras and projectors and wires.

A couple years ago, I had a girls weekend at the Queen Mary with a couple friends. We went to the Halloween Event they have every year, that walk around Fright Night thing they do? That's some scary sh*t let me tell you.

There were four of us, and while we had fun at the fright night event, we probably will not do that ever again.

I don't like it when a zombie clown comes up and grabs me, but that's a whole different issue. But I maintain that he kicked himself in the balls.

I digress,

Later that night, I was exploring the ship. We were at the art deco bar having a few drinks and I went into the model room, which is on the old covered promenade deck right in front of a restaurant. I was alone and that portion of the deck was closed off, there was only one exit and entrance. There were no guards or visitors or any one else.

When I say I was alone, I was utterly alone.

I was looking at a model of an aircraft carrier when I heard footsteps behind me. I turned around, assuming it was a friend but no one was there.

I shrugged it off but once I turned back to the case, I heard them again.

I whipped around and still, no one was there. I looked outside and into the closed restaurant next to the exhibit but there was no one around.

I sighed and chuckled at myself for being so jumpy. I blamed the zombie clown for affecting my senses.

I started wandering around the cases again. I inspected the Titanic model when I heard one, single, loud footstep directly behind me. I once again whipped around but no one was there.

And then, I could not make this up, I felt one cold breath on my cheek even though there was no one in front of me.

I f*cking RAN out of there. I ran out of that room and ran straight into a stewardess monitoring the floor.

“Ma’am are you okay?” He asked and I grasped his arms for balance.

“Yeah yeah oh yeah yeah yeah.” I stuttered out.

“You sure?” He peered into the exhibit room behind me.

“Might be insane but that’s been up for debate for years.” I laughed out loud, maybe a little too loud.

“Don’t worry,” He winked. “That ghost just likes to cause a ruckus.”

I must’ve turned white as, well, as a ghost.

“S-sorry?” I muttered.

“That room is well, what we call an ‘active space’. One of many on the ship.” He smiled and helped point me to an elevator so I could go back to my room.

Yeah, we had also booked a room for the night.

Glutton for punishment I guess.

We all were getting settled for bed, it was like a movie. We all had face masks on and twisting our hair up in buns with soft headbands and putting on moisturizer.

Around midnight, just before it actually, one of my friends yanked up her giant suitcase she insisted on packing and opened it.

“You guys ready?” She asked, grinning with her face covered in green clay. We’ll call her Maggie.

“For what?” Another friend asked, whom we’ll call Heather.

Maggie reached in her bag and ripped out a ouija board.

“For the love of all that’s ghostly.” My other friend, Sarah, said as she rolled her eyes.

“So the zombie clowns chasing you into a fog with a Jack the Ripper jump scare scene wasn’t enough horror for you tonight?” I asked. “You wanna invite ghosts into our suite?”

“Yeah, I’m not comfortable with that. What if they stay and peep on us in the shower?” Sarah asked and then started roaring with laughter.

“Don’t be such a baby.” Maggie said as she playfully pushed me aside on the bed. We all crowded on my bed in a circle and we set up the board in the middle.

Maggie downloaded a ghost recorder app and activated it.

“I feel like a Ghost Chaser.” Heather giggled.

We all put our hands on the planchette and I’m not gonna lie, after my ghostly encounter in the exhibit room, I was actually nervous.

“Is there anyone here with us?” Maggie asked the room.

I shivered as the planchette geared toward ‘YES’.

“F*ck.” Sarah whispered next to me.

“Did you die here?” Maggie asked.

And the planchette pulled back for a moment before it was thrusted back to ‘YES’.

“Please tell me you didn’t die in this room.” I asked.

We all chuckled a bit before the planchetter skidded to ‘NO’.

“Oh thank the lord.” I sighed and let go of the planchette and shook my hands out and grabbed my glass of wine. “I was gonna go sleep in the car if the answer was yes.”

My friends laughed and we went back and forth with a couple of questions but the spelling wasn’t really working out. So Maggie decided to lift the phone with the running EVP app.

“Can you tell us your name?” She asked the room.

We all sat silently for about a minute.

“Can you tell us when you died?” She asked.

She brought her phone down and rewound the footage.

“Time for the reveal.” She whispered as she adjusted the volume and hit play.

We went through the first few minutes of us playing with the ouija board, giggling at ourselves.

Then we got to the part where she asked for a name.

Very faintly, but very cleary, we heard -

“..........Jimmy………..” was whispered, but almost like someone had talked directly into the phone.

We screeched and Maggie threw her phone and we all jumped up and started running around the room.

Maggie started shushing us, as it was almost one in the morning.

“We need you to go rest now, Jimmy.” Maggie loudly whispered to the rom as the four of us stood back to backs.

“Yeah, go chill in the barracks or the bar.” Sarah suggested.

“Are suggesting a ghost go socialize?” I whispered to her. “This isn’t the Haunted Mansion at Disneyland!”

“You always have a reference in your pocket, don’t you?” She threw back at me.

“Shut it!” Heather said to us. “Alright, Jimmy. We’re gonna go to sleep now, so we kind of politely need you to go visit someone else.”

“Yeah, that guy from the elevator that grabbed my ass needs a good scare.” Maggie suggested.

We all stood in silence for a moment and then we all bursted out laughing.

We all joked around with each other for a minute before exhaustion actually settled in. Soon we all crawled into our beds and went to sleep.

There were four of us and only two beds, so two in one and two in the other.

I have long hair but I always braid it before I go to bed. All through the night, I thought she was laying on my hair. It felt like she kept tugging at my braid. Even when I’d tuck it into my shirt, it would flip up and get tugged.

Soon, too soon, I opened my eyes at six am with Maggie less than a foot from my face, staring at me.

“Good, you're up. I’m gonna order room service coffee. Want some?” I felt like she was staring into my soul.

“Yeah, I definitely need coffee.” She scurried off to call it in and I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth.

When I got back to the room Heather was awake and talking with Sarah while Maggie raced behind me to get to the bathroom.

“Hey, you hit me in the face last night!” Heather said as she pointed at me. “Did you challenge me to a duel?” SHe joked and they laughed.

“What are you talking about?” I asked, still trying to wake up.

“Last night, I’m not mad hun but you did smack my face and neck a couple times.” She said as she brushed her hair.

“I faced away from you all night. YOU kept pulling my hair!” I threw back at her.

“What? No I didn’t.”

“You didn’t mean too but I think you kept laying on top of my braid.”

“No, I was on my own pillow all night. Plus your hair is still running from that dye. See?” SHe picked up my pillow which did have a few light purple smudges on it, and hers was completely clean.

“........if you didn’t pull my hair…..and I didn’t slap you in the face…..” I said slowly.

Heather and Sarah stared wide eyed at me.

We all stared at each other in complete silence.

The knock on the door almost made me piss myself.

“Room service.” Came a man's voice from the other side.

“God dammit.” I muttered as I walked toward the door. I went to it and accepted the coffee tray.

“Well, we gotta get the f*ck outta here!!” Sarah said as she started throwing her things into a bag.

“Second that!” Heather said as she started doing the same.

We drank the coffee and left the room in under 20 minutes.

I don’t have to tell you that for four completely different women to be ready to leave at the exact same time, that in itself was a miracle.

So, if you go to the Queen Mary, don’t stay the night.

Like

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.