Horror logo

‘Pet Sematary’ Trailer #2 Review: Sometimes Dead Is Better

My thoughts on the second trailer of 'Pet Sematary.'

By Michael ReynosoPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Welcome, Horror fans!

The second trailer of Pet Sematary has just dropped and I’m really excited. I love horror movies. Obviously, Pet Sematary is one of the scariest movies of all-time. Personally, I can’t watch this movie alone and it just creeps me out (laughs).

I have to say, I’m really excited about this movie. When I first found out that Pet Sematary is going to be rebooted, I was a little nervous. We all know that there was absolutely nothing wrong with the original movie. So, I came to an idea of maybe this reboot would be good.

In this trailer, Gage didn’t die, which took me by surprise. I was pleasantly surprised that Gage survived the entire trailer. Remember in the original movie when Gage died. That was such so gut-wrenching.

We also saw Gage’s father grabbed him and crying out with so much emotion. He sees flashbacks of Gage’s baby photos and all of these good memories.

It was just so sad and I was like: “This is terrible.”

A Dead Ellie Walking Towards Her Father

Anyways, back to the second trailer of Pet Sematary.

The first trailer looked really creepy.

I love creepy, interesting stuff.

The cast is great.

The directors of the movie are both Kevin Kolsch and Dennis Widmyer. In this second trailer, it was very horrific and suspenseful from beginning to end. After watching this trailer, I got a lot of mix emotions. There were great suspense scenes in this trailer.

It was very creepy.

However, what didn’t make sense was when the daughter (Ellie Creed) died and was resurrected back instead of the son.

That is what confused me.

We know that the cat itself would be brought back, but I didn’t expect this at all. I guess the filmmakers didn't want Gage to die again and wanted the daughter to take his place.

That makes sense.

As somebody who didn’t read the book about the original Pet Sematary, I wanted to be surprised. Now we know that the daughter is going to die and comes back alive to terrorize anyone who stands in her way.

That's basically the entire plot.

I’m sure Stephen King had an opinion of his own about this movie. As a matter a fact, he did a tweet about this trailer and issued his commentary about it.

Here is Stephen King's comment:

“You might consider skipping this movie if you have heart trouble.”

This statement alone indicates that Stephen really like the suspense and creepiness of this trailer. You know when Stephen likes something, he will always comment about it.

We all know that Stephen King is a genius when it comes to incorporating his creepy personality and turn a film into a masterpiece. Mix creepy with horror and you will have a scary movie.

Sometimes, dead is better.

Overall, I’m very excited for this movie.

It looks creepy.

It looks scary.

Fans will come back alive when they watch this movie.

We see bones cracking and breaking.

The suspense kept my attention.

Jason Clarke (Dr. Louis Creed) did very well as the father. John Lithgow (Jud Crandall/Neighbor) did exceptionally well as the neighbor. This trailer gave us too much footage of a story for somebody who doesn’t know anything about Pet Sematary.

Even though trailers are known for spoiling us with too much footage, we will still see their movies.

At the end of the day, I’m going to see this film.

When this movie comes out on April 5th, it is going to be unbelievable. In April, we will see Pet Sematary, Avengers 4: Endgame, and Shazam to name a few.

April will be a big month for movies.

I still think the "Avengers 4: Endgame" will sell out more than Pet Sematary because of the fandom alone. Either way, I will see both of these fantastic movies and others to come.

I’m really looking forward to more new trailers!

Stay tuned for the latest movie trailers!

I hope you guys enjoyed reading this post!

Thank you all for reading!

If you enjoyed reading this post, you might like: "The 'Us' Official Trailer Review: We Are Our Own Worst Enemy."

Like what you read?

Send me a gift and share my work on social media to help contribute to my next adventure!

Any support is greatly appreciated! ^_^

Social Media:

Twitter: @RealMikesReview

LinkedIn Profile: Michael Reynoso

Facebook: I Am Anime

Check out my store by clicking the link here.

Until next time, my friends! ^_^

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Michael Reynoso

The Slam Dunk Effect is a place where I write about trailer and movie reviews, along with entertainment where readers come to read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.