Horror logo

The 'Us' Official Trailer Review: We Are Our Own Worst Enemy

My Thoughts on the Official Trailer of 'Us'

By Michael ReynosoPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image Credit to Universal Pictures

Happy New Year!!!

I hope you all celebrated 2019 with your loved ones!

The official trailer for Us was released on Christmas Day by Universal Pictures and it looks phenomenal.

This film is directed by Jordan Peele. Also, Peele's "Monkey Paw Productions" will be producing the Us movie. He directed Get Out, which came out a few years ago, and it was fantastic.

In addition, Peele directed the BlacKkKlansman, which came out early last year. I’m excited for this trailer, just because it's Jordan Peele directing it.

Before I saw this trailer, both my mother and sister actually watched it. They were like, “Michael, you have to write about this trailer.” I had to see the trailer for myself.

So for them to go out of their way and tell me to write about this trailer means a lot.

This trailer was worth all the hype.

The Uninvited Visitors

The Us trailer reminded me of Get Out, but in a scary way, you know what I mean?

The Us film will be released on March 15, 2019.

The synopsis for Us is about a mother and father who take the kids to the beach house, expecting to enjoy times with friends. However, this serenity turns to tension and chaos when some visitors arrive uninvited.

The crazy thing about this synopsis is I doubt there’s another group of people out there that looks exactly like them. These invited visitors will basically mimic the family’s movements.

We know that one individual can mimic anyone’s move, but a whole family doing this terrifying act is unreal.

Is the whole family going through a psychotic episode when they fight themselves?

That’s crazy!!

Lupita & Winston teaming up in 'Us'

Is Jordan Peele making a strong case to win another Oscar for this film?

If that's the case, he's definitely on his way.

This trailer definitely got me excited!!

We got my boy Winston Duke, who starred in Black Panther as M’Baku.

We've also got the lovely Lupita Nyong’o, who did an outstanding job in this trailer. You guys may know her from Black Panther as Nakia. We've got two Black Panther cast teaming up in this trailer. So far, both Lupita and Winston have great chemistry.

Overall, this trailer was very suspenseful and entertaining.

Did you like or hate the Us trailer?

Personally, I like it.

I enjoy watching suspenseful movies, which always win for me.

What I like about this trailer is it has a sentimental moment with the whole family enjoying listening to music.

“I Got 5 On It” by LUNIZ is a classic.

Even though the lyrics are about drugs, this is a type of song that can get you high, if you love drugs.

For those who are still doing drugs, it's never too late to quit.

There is nothing to hate on this trailer.

You are not safe.

The uninvited visitors, who looked exactly like the family, caught me off guard. I would say that this is a type of movie where you have to kill your evil self.

What a great metaphor!!

What’s scary is the uninvited visitors know where the family is at all times, which is very creepy.

Jordan Peele, this is a great concept.

Also, my favorite funny moment in this trailer was when the father walked outside to see the uninvited visitors and said, “If you want to get crazy, we can get crazy.”

In the end, my best guess is the good family will find a way to survive and kill the uninvited visitors.

It’s a fight for survival.

We are our own worst enemy.

This is us.

So, there you have it folks!

That is my trailer review of Us.

I’m so hyped for the release of this movie!!

Happy New Year!

I hope you guys enjoyed reading this post!

Thank you all for reading!

If you enjoyed reading this post, you might like "Aquaman Movie Review: King Arthur Has Arrived!!"

Like what you read, send me a gift and share my work on social media to help contribute to my next adventure!

Any support is greatly appreciated! ^_^

Social Media:

Twitter: @RealMikesReview

Facebook Page: I Am Anime

LinkedIn Profile: Michael Reynoso

Check out my store by clicking the link here.

Until next time, my friends! ^_^

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Michael Reynoso

The Slam Dunk Effect is a place where I write about trailer and movie reviews, along with entertainment where readers come to read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.