Horror logo

Persistence

Unlikely Friends

By Angela NolanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Persistence
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The boy’s hand shook as he lit the candles surrounding him. As he read from the book he tried to project an air of confidence in his voice although a small tremble betrayed him. He was mostly successful in his attempts to suppress his whimper as he pierced his palm with the scalpel he’d pocketed from Biology class and let a few drops of blood fall on the symbols he’d carved into the floorboards of his bedroom. After a few seconds, the room began to fill with a yellowish smoke and the boy pulled his jumper up over his nose and mouth in a futile attempt not to inhale the stench of rotten eggs. Soon a booming voice pierced his ears and a gargantuan shape began to form in the mist.

“Which puny mortal has dared to summon Amdusias? It could be your-.” The demon, who had chosen to manifest in the form of a man of impossible height and mass with a terrifyingly large cobra curled round the right arm, broke off and waved its left arm to clear the mist it had brought.

“Toby? We’re seriously doing this again? We’ve talked about this.” It sighed in exasperation and squeezed the bridge of its nose.

“I know you told me not to do this any more but I just, um, I just really need some like, um guidance. Please? I don’t really have anyone else to talk to.” Toby’s words raced and fell into each other as his nerves got the better of him.

Amdusias smiled despite itself and sat down in front of Toby, the floorboards creaking in protest at its massive frame. Toby reached into the bag beside him and pulled out a plastic container filled with red liquid and thrust it towards Amdusias.

“I heard what you said last time about my offerings not being right so I went to the butchers and got you this, it’s pig’s blood. I hope there’s enough, I didn’t really know how much to ask for.”

Amdusias kept a stern face as it took the container but Toby was pleased to see the smallest, briefest smile tug at the corners of its lips as it lifted the lid and sniffed. The pair sat and stared at each other for a while until Toby began to fidget and sweat under the intense gaze of the demon. Once Amdusias saw it was having the desired effect it took pity on the boy and broke the silence.

“This is a much better offering than the last few times, and I have always believed that persistence and hard work should be respected. So I will do one small task for you for free, just one, so pick carefully. There is always still the offer of my full services but I know you were unhappy with the cost for them.”

Toby scrunched up his face as he thought hard about what to ask for, opening and closing his mouth a few times with ideas he discarded. When he finally spoke his voice came out as a timid squeak.

“Would you be able to ask my Dad to go easy on me? Maybe threaten him a tiny bit? Does that count as small? I think he’s my biggest problem. He’s always putting me down and he’s scary when he’s had a few drinks…”

Amdusias scowled as it noticed Toby subconsciously held his side and winced as he said this. It heaved itself up off the floor.

“Say no more, wait here.”

Toby couldn’t hear all of the ensuing confrontation but he did hear Amdusias’ heavy stomping footsteps, and his father’s whimpers which pleased him more than he cared to admit. When the demon came back into the room it cracked its knuckles and neck before it sat back down in front of Toby and chugged down all the offered pig’s blood greedily. It sighed deeply, and Toby wasn’t sure it had enjoyed its snack or it was angry so he flinched a little when it began to speak.

“Toby before I say what I’m about to say you must understand that I have spent an amount of time that you couldn’t even comprehend cultivating a certain reputation. If anything ever got out about the deal I’m about to propose it could jeopardise that, and I would have to assume that you had told someone and I would collect my full payment whether you like it or not. Do you understand?”

Toby couldn’t find the words to answer so he just nodded.

“OK good. So, I will confess that even after all this time I find humanity fascinating. Occasionally I take a special interest in one human, and you have worn me down with all your persistence. So you can consider me your personal genie, you may have three tasks for free. Your Dad won’t be bothering you again so you have two more to consider, you don’t have to decide now if you don’t want, I will let you summon me again as we’ve come to this agreement. I would appreciate the same offering again though, you did well there.”

* * *

The man quickly lit the flames of the candles surrounding him. He opened the book but he didn’t need the words, reciting confidently from memory. He barely winced making a small cut on his palm and letting a few drops of blood fall on the symbols he’d carved on the floor, he was a little worried about removing them but it would be worth it. He tied a scarf tightly around his mouth and nose to protect a little against the stench of sulphur as a yellowish mist began to fill the room, and a humungous figure formed within it.

“Which puny mortal has dared to summon Amdusias? It could be your-.” The demon broke off and waved the mist away with its hand.

“Toby? Is that you? You’re all grown!”

The demon clapped the man on the back and scooped him into a hug and squeezed until the man slapped at his arm as he struggled to breathe beneath the demon’s strength.

“I must admit I’ve kept some tabs on you over the years, but how have things been? How’s life panned out?” The demon didn’t try and contain its grin as Toby replied.

“Things haven’t been completely perfect but life has turned out better than I ever expected. In fact, I’ve brought you here because I have an unconventional request. I’m getting married this year, and that’s only possible because you listened to me when no one else did. From what I’ve read you can change the form you manifest in, so assuming you can blend in a bit more would you come to my wedding?”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Angela Nolan

I'm Angela, I have found a passion for writing so I'm creating here. You can expect horror stories from me, but I'll throw in the odd curveball too. Any queries (I also love to proofread) please email me at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.