Horror logo

Penny Dreadful Chapter 3

Penny Intro To Madness

By Christopher ShaversPublished 8 months ago 9 min read
Like

Prologue

Dear Diary,

Someone has taken my picture…

I must destroy it at all costs. I can’t afford to be found. They can’t find me. She can’t ever find me again. But the person that took the picture… might be with the police. Maybe asking nicely is my only chance. I really hope that I can get to it before it's used for anything. The people are starting to leave. Wish me luck.

-P

Act 1

Shell was trying to convince Reese that there was something off about the girl he was flirting with. Reese started up the van telling Shell that she was just jealous. Shell argued that she could never get jealous of a random girl liking a loser like him. Reese ignored her as he daydreamed. She went on to say that the picture she took was blurry only on her. Commenting that she was so fast that she moved just as the picture was taken or she was some kind of ghost. Reese mocked her by claiming that he must be a medium for an adorable ghost.

They eventually drove off. But Shell would not drop the topic. She went on and on about how strange the girl was. Reese went from defending the undeniable attraction of the girl to eventually ignoring Shell. Shell began to comment on Reese’s poor taste in women. Reese laughed it off awkwardly. Shell began to comment on how every woman Reese has ever been with has been garbage. Reese gripped the steering wheel tighter. Shell made a comment about how hopeless Reese is and would most likely end up alone after “Some bimbo bleeds you dry.”

Reese yells at Shell, “Then what does that say about you?! Since I really like and admire you but can never get you to acknowledge me, what does that say about you?!” Shell got quiet and looked at Reese. Reese was looking ahead with a tearful but angry expression. They both looked forward and stayed quiet.

Reese pulled over at a gas station. Shell appeared to want to say something but couldn’t bring herself to do it. Reese took a deep breath and got out of the vehicle. Shell called out to him. He stopped, facing away from her. She struggled to form words but settled for telling him that she’ll pump the gas. Reese slammed the door and walked into the gas station. Shell cursed and insulted herself before exiting. As she slammed the door, she did not notice Penny skipping towards her.

Shell continued to argue with herself as Penny got closer. Shell began to pump as she considered apologizing. A chill crawled up her spine. Shell looked around frantically. It felt as if no matter where she looked danger was just out of view. Shell put her back against the gas pump and began to panic. She could hear her heart in her ears. Her skin felt like it was running cold. Penny peeked from behind the gas pump with a crazed look on her face. Hearing Shell’s cries of regret for hurting Reeze and wishes to make things right, Penny sighs. Feeling the air at the back of her neck, Shell whipped her neck around. Seeing no one there, she started to think she was crazy. That was until she felt a tap on her shoulder.

Shell turned around, screaming.

“You’re going to lose your voice screaming that loud.”

“Oh god… Uh. Sorry. I didn’t… notice you there.”

“I saw you freaking out and came to make sure that you were okay.”

“... I don’t know… Yeah. Yeah. I’m okay.”

“That’s good.” Penny smiled, rocking back and forth cutely on her heels and toes.

“Hey… you’re the girl from earlier.”

“Earlier? Sorry, my memory isn’t the best.” she continued rocking.

“Yeah, my fri… Coworker. My coworker saw you and thought you were really cute.”

“Really? Is he around?” she rocked back and forth.

“He’s inside actually. Hey, if you came to ask him out… Could you… He’s a really nice guy. I don’t want him hurt more.”

“I’m not here to hurt him.” she rocked back and forth.

“That’s what they all say.”

“No really, I’m actually here for you.” she rocked back and forth.

Act 2

“Me?” Shell questioned.

“Yeah.” Penny smiled as she rocked back and forth.

Reese had grabbed a lot of snacks and got in line.

“What would you want from me?” She asked as she put the pump in the car.

“You took a picture of me. I need it deleted.” Penny rocked back and forth.

Reese paid for the gas and snacks but started to feel bad for yelling at Shell. So he turned around to look for food that she would like.

“Oh, sorry but I can’t just go in the camera and start deleting stuff right now. There’s pictures of a crime scene on the sd card. I shouldn’t have taken the picture but I have to get it back to the lab soon. I promise to delete it as soon as we get in.” Shell turned her back to Penny to watch the numbers rapidly increase.

Penny stopped rocking back and forth, “That’s a shame.” Penny remembered the last time she saw her mother. The last time she saw her mother, she promised that she would return and they could have the best life with her father out of the picture. “A real shame. I thought you could be trusted for a moment.” Penny looked at Shell with a cold stare.

Reese settled on getting Shell a bag of mixed chocolate, beef jerky, and a Mega Gulp filled with every flavor of slushed ice drink available. He smiled remembering the first time they met. How she was in a spinning chair at the police station during a briefing drinking her mega gulp. He whispered to Richardson asking who she was. Younger Shell stopped spinning and told him who she was and reminded him that he should be listening to the chief. When the chief told her to play nice since they were going to be partners starting that day, younger Reese blushed. Younger Shell sighed as she declared that he better not hold her back and live up to her high expectations. Present Reese laughed to himself as he questioned how she could survive off of just sweets. He even imagined them going on a date somewhere and her not understanding what a burger was. He was soon knocked to the ground.

Regaining his sight shortly after, Reese stood up holding his head. He recognized that his hearing was gone. Looking at the mess of food, he tried to make sense of what just happened. It wasn’t until he saw people running outside and felt immense heat at the back of his neck did it click in. He turned around to see the gas pumps on fire. He ran towards them screaming for Shell repeatedly with tears in his eyes. A security guard tried to stop him but another explosion went off knocking them back. Reese was sent so far back that he hit his head on the Gulp machine.

Act 3

Detective Soung walked up to the remains of the gas station. He walked past the firefighters as they left the scene. He took off his hat and placed it over his chest. He stood before the still crying Reese on the sidewalk. Detective Soung tried to bring himself to say something but couldn’t find the words. He simply patted Reese’s shoulder and walked over to the scene.

“Officer Richardson.” Detective Soung announced, pulling himself together.

“Soung.” Officer Richardson didn’t bother to turn towards the detective.

“What do we have here?”

“Gas explosion. Likely caused by someone smoking while they pumped gas like a jackass.”

“No forensic team?”

Only then did Detective Soung see that Officer Richardson was standing in front of charred remains.

“I don’t think my team will be working today.”

“Oh… Is that?... I’m so…”

“You should look around for clues.”

Detective Soung just nodded, put his hat on, and began to look around. Officer Richardson silently sobbed.

After some time, the detective walked past Reese. Officer Richardson sat with Reese.

“How are you holding up?”

“I’m sorry I wasn’t there.”

“You know you’re going to end up dehydrated from all the crying.”

“It should have been me.”

“Shell would be saying the same if the roles were reversed.”

“No she wouldn’t.”

“No, she wouldn’t but she wouldn’t want you to die.”

“I finally told her that I liked her…”

“Did she reject you?”

“... No.”

“Then I owe you dinner.”

“... I’m not hungry.”

“Not even if we go to her favorite restaurant?”

“...”

“Come on. Everything is on me.”

“Can you share some of her embarrassing stories?”

“Only if you take the next month off to process.”

“I’d rather work…”

“I’d rather you not. I’ll even visit you with a special home-made lunch from my wife every day.”

“... Can it come with the little weenies cut like octopus?”

“Hot dogs. They’re called hot dogs. But sure.”

“Okay…”

“I’ll handle all her affairs and telling her family.”

“Can we go together?”

“No.”

“But you suck at giving bad news.”

Officer Richardson looked at Reese confused but stood up, “Fine but if you start ugly crying, I will leave you there.”

“That’s fine. Her sister has a really soft couch.”

As Reese started to cry again, Officer Richardson helped him up. They walked off together. “You’re not as mean as people think you are Dan.” Officer Richardson stopped as Reese kept walking, laughing to himself. “Wait, people think I’m mean?”

Act 4

Penny was sitting in her room, staring at her hands when she heard a voice.

“Penny. Penny. Penny. You did a bad thing.”

“I know…”

“But it felt really good didn’t it?”

“Maybe? But…”

“No but. You never felt so alive.”

“The pounding in my ears. The racing of my heart. The world slowing down.”

“The light in her eyes being snuffed by the eruption of the fire. The tingling of the inferno just outside of reach.”

“It was just soo much.”

“It was just so much fun. Let’s do it again.”

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Shavers

Start writing...I am the Author of Circus by Christopher Shavers and the Author in Faceless Entertainment. I love to write and perform. Be it me bringing nightmares to life in stories or my journey through poetry. Enjoy the Show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.