Horror logo

Okay, Horror Fans, Did You Know The Conjuring 3 Is Coming Out in September?

So, excited to see this movie!

By Anatonia GarciaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Olive Press

So, I am a horror fanatic. I love scary movies. I love to have the feeling of being spooked. It gives me an adrenaline rush. My favorite movie in todays time is The Conjuring. I've seen part 1, part 2, and currently waiting for part 3. Now, from what I have heard The Conjuring sequels are based on true stories. I mean real life events. I believe that is why I like it so much. The unimaginable being actually true. How awesome is that. Plus, lets not forget the actors Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are only some of my favorites. They play Ed and Lorraine Warren, the famous paranormal investigators and authors that are linked to the cases of the hauntings.

The Conjuring was made in 2013. Critics reviewed the movie as a treasure of typical hauntings and as refreshing. The director James Wan pulled string to create an atmosphere so tense that if evil spirits feed on your fear, so will the film. The film received a 4/5 on Common Sense Media, a 7.5/10 on IMDb, and a %85 on Rotten Tomatoes. So, with that being said, the sequels are definitely a hit. It's considered to be the most scary movie that I have seen in a long time. In fact, I have been waiting for a movie like for forever..

However, the Conjuring 2 that goes along with the sequel, I expected to be whack because in my opinion once movies start going into part 2 and more, the film gets worse. But boy was I deceived. It was way better than I thought it was going to be. I definitely recommend especially because they all tie into one another. The movie is rather long and has more of a poltergeist vibe that ponders the metaphysical. If anyone has seen the Poltergeist, you know what I mean. The 2016 film received a 4/5 on Common Sense Media, %80 on Rotten Tomatoes, and a 7.3/10 on IMDb. So, if you dare and haven't seen the movie yet, please do. Your mind will be blown and probably want to sleep with the lights on.

As we know the films are based on true stories. The Conjuring was based on January 1971 until the 1980s. The Perron Family moved into a 14-room farmhouse in Harrisville, Rhode Island. There Carolyn, Roger, and their five daughters began to notice strange things occurring immediately. Andrew Perron, the oldest of the five, says, " many of the spirits were harmless but one was like Bathsheba (on the movie), whoever the spirit was, she perceived herself to be mistress of the house and she resented the competition my mother posed for the position." The family claimed the spirit invaders, stunk of rotting flesh, and would arrive at 5:15 in the morning to lift beds.

The family tried to stay away from the cellar. It was considered to be the spirits hotspot. The only time anyone went down there was when the houses heating equipment would fail, forcing Roger to do repairs ( Alexander, 2013). While the second one was based in Enfield, England and known as the Enfield Haunting. This case was from 1977 and went until 1979. Peggy Hodgson had four children and she would respond to loud noises in her daughters bedroom. At that moment, her daughter Margaret (13) and her daughter Janet (11) told their mother that their dresser in their room moved towards the door by itself. Peggy mentions afterwards, she witnessed the same thing. The dresser was being moved by an invisible force. It was as though the furniture was trying to trap her daughters in the room. The hauntings would happen for 18 months.

Maurice Grosse, from the Society for Physical Research spent a great deal of time in the home. He claimed he witnessed over 2,000 incidents. Many come from furniture, fires starting for no reason, hearing voices, and water filling inside cups. Janet has even said that the curtain beside her bed wrapped around her neck, trying to choke her. She then goes on to say, the poltergeist started speaking through her which started to show possession (Serena, 2017). The stories are supposed to be scarier than movie. So, imagine!

So, me being the curious person that I am, I just had to see what The Conjuring 3 was going to be about. The other two were based on real stories and I wanted to know if the third one would be based on a true story too. And Guess what? It is!

The title is The Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It. Catchy right? This third installment will explore the infamous trial that is based in 1981. The phrase " the devil made me do it" came from this case. Its based on Arne Cheyenne Johnson. He went on trial for manslaughter and was convicted of first degree in 1981. The defense was and stated that the Devil made him commit murder. It would be the first case in the United States history where a defendant claimed demonic possession to deny responsibility . The case brought the testimony of an eleven year old boy, David Glatzel who was supposedly possessed by 43 demons. Not one, not two, but 43 demons! The Glatzel family would ask Ed and Lorraine Warren to assist. The Warrens accepted and brought in priest from the Catholic Church to assist them during the exorcism. However, during the exorcism, a demon had supposedly left Glatzel and went into Johnson who was the fiancé of Glatzels older sister (Wilhem, 2019). Did he do it or did the Devil? I don't know about y'all but this sounds like it is going to be pretty scary! I can't wait. If you want know more about the background, you can literally Google the case and it's on Youtube.

Of course, many believe these stories are a hoax. Whether it be true or not, it makes an interesting background for the movies. Plus, makes a great story. You decide what you want to believe when it comes to these movies. Already, its leaving a mystery.

After, reading please feel free to watch The Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It. It comes out on September 11th, 2020. Can't wait to see it and can't wait to hear about the reviews.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Anatonia Garcia

Hi, my name is Ana and I just graduated college. I have two beautiful kids, work a full time job and soon to be married. My biggest goal was to start doing things that were for me, specifically me! So, I decided to join in here and try it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.